We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monet Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monet Garden to your Saves list
Monet Garden
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   No.138, Section1, Chinan Road, Shoufeng Town, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place! Great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you want to relax in the countryside you will feel that Monet Garden is the perfect place to be. The rooms are spacious and decorated with a cosy personal touch. Each room has its own little terrace in front. Moreover you can relax and sit outside in garden. For breakfast you will find really good coffee, made from fresh coffee beans and you can choose between Chinese and European style. The congee is delicious.

We had a great time with our two kids and a remote and relaxed stay at Liu Lake. The owner, his wife and family are just great and very kind and helpful towards any question you may have. Thanks to them we were able to discover a lot about Taiwanese culture. As we arrived by train from Taipei we were picked up from the train station, helped to rent bikes and find our way to Taroko National Park and to Hualien. We had a very warm stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are all large, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeiLong2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Taipei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My girlfriend and me booked a weekend at Lyju lake. We checked the internet and the lonely planet for a decent but not to expensive b&b. We decided to stay at monet garden. After a phonecall with the owner (who speaks decent english) we bookend the latin romantic room. Upon arrival it became clear that the room was already full. They immediately upgraded us to a very nice room. Beautiful wooden accents and a nice spacey room. Most importantly the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and there was a little terrace in front of our room where we could drink a nice red wine. The owner and his family were very hospitable and was kind enough to bring us to Hualien city when this was needed.

All in alll we had a great stay and definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivier1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family stayed in Monet Garden for two nights in July 2013. Joe and his family really went out of his way to make our visit very special, particularly helping us get a permit to visit the Mugua River Gorge. Without him, we would have undoubtedly missed this highlight. Our room was very comfortable and the whole place has a very relaxing setting (it reminds me of Bali). I'll be recommending this place to my friends and would have no hesitation to recommending it to others. Despite my lack of language skills, I really felt a strong sense of friendship.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is beautifully presented. You must try their sweet potato leaf juice! The hotel has plenty of ambience. This would be a good getaway for anyone who wants to stay outside of downtown Hualien.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GElleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family stayed with Joe and his family for three nights in April 2013. We were picked up at the railway and brought straight back to the motel. We had been traveling direct from New Zealand and were treated to a traditional dinner the moment we arrived. This was our second trip to Monet Garden, and will be recommeding it to any friends who plan on making a trip to the area. We were given great advice as to local attractions, and in some instances, transported by Joe to make the most of the local attractions, first hand. No request semed too difficult, and we truely enjoyed the atmosphere the owner provided to his guests.
If you are a lover of great coffee, then you will definitely love this location, as Joe imports and roasts his own brand of excellent cooffee.
Peter and Sonya from NZ

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

住在莫內花園是一個美好的經驗,房間舒適、讓人可以放鬆。臨近鯉魚潭清晨可以散步或慢跑,享受清新的空氣及美好的湖光山色。若是4月中到5月初這段期間來訪,夜晚還可以看到螢火蟲!
民宿提供好喝的咖啡,而且,友善的主人能提供鄰近很多旅遊資訊,對初次甚至再次造訪者相信都會有意外的驚喜。
我非常推薦莫內花園咖啡農莊!
a great experience to spend a night at this B&B. The room is comfortable and easy. You can relax with a quiet and peace environment. There is a lake near this B&B, when I woke up in the morning, I jogged around the lake. I can saw the reflected image of mountains on the lake. I would suggest everyone must try to wake up early and see this. The air is so fresh and everyone was having a smile face to say hello! (So did I...). At night, the housekeeper led us to see a gather of fireflies. This is a seasonal activity if you can visit here from mid-April till early May.
The host is actually a coffee-lover. So you probably will not be disappointed about its coffee. And he can show you some "secret places" with superb scenery that you can not find on travel guides.
I would highly recommend foreigners to come here and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLKTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in Monet Homestay during our one night stopover in Hualien. They have a wonderful location nearby a lake and suitable for those who seeks a quiet evening away from town. Most shops nearby close around 18:30 and the restaurant closes at 20:30 so it is really quiet after dark. Breakfast was wonderful with nice coffee and they accommodated our preference to the meal without an eye blink. The service-oriented mindset was really appreciated in this part of Taiwan. :)

The hosts were super-friendly and drove us to the train station when they learned we didn't have our own vehicle. During the ride they shared lots of stories with previous guests and gave plenty of advises traveling in the region. Highly recommended.

Trip advisor 居然不讓我用英文po評論!? 這還蠻神奇的....那我現在是不是要來湊個50個中文字? :P 或許trip advisor 可以改變一下設定? 摘要一下上面英文: 鯉魚潭旁,老闆人超好甚至還會送我們去火車站,需要小心蚊子(鯉魚潭附近應該都有這問題),雖然老闆放了很多蚊香蛋坐在外面時還是要小心。早餐很棒,咖啡品質難得的好!

Room Tip: If you would like to sit outside the room do bring some cream against mosquitos. There are plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milkpowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
8.1 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#14 of 120 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
7.4 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
9.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 120 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,316 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mini Voyage Hostel
Mini Voyage Hostel
#2 of 111 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monet Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monet Garden

Address: No.138, Section1, Chinan Road, Shoufeng Town, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monet Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monet Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing