We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with super accommodating hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monet Garden

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
Monet Garden
No.138, Section1, Chinan Road, Shoufengxiang, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay with super accommodating hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family stayed in Monet Garden for two nights in July 2013. Joe and his family really went out of his way to make our visit very special, particularly helping us get a permit to visit the Mugua River Gorge. Without him, we would have undoubtedly missed this highlight. Our room was very comfortable and the whole place has a very relaxing setting (it reminds me of Bali). I'll be recommending this place to my friends and would have no hesitation to recommending it to others. Despite my lack of language skills, I really felt a strong sense of friendship.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is beautifully presented. You must try their sweet potato leaf juice! The hotel has plenty of ambience. This would be a good getaway for anyone who wants to stay outside of downtown Hualien.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family stayed with Joe and his family for three nights in April 2013. We were picked up at the railway and brought straight back to the motel. We had been traveling direct from New Zealand and were treated to a traditional dinner the moment we arrived. This was our second trip to Monet Garden, and will be recommeding it to any friends who plan on making a trip to the area. We were given great advice as to local attractions, and in some instances, transported by Joe to make the most of the local attractions, first hand. No request semed too difficult, and we truely enjoyed the atmosphere the owner provided to his guests.
If you are a lover of great coffee, then you will definitely love this location, as Joe imports and roasts his own brand of excellent cooffee.
Peter and Sonya from NZ

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

住在莫內花園是一個美好的經驗,房間舒適、讓人可以放鬆。臨近鯉魚潭清晨可以散步或慢跑,享受清新的空氣及美好的湖光山色。若是4月中到5月初這段期間來訪,夜晚還可以看到螢火蟲!
民宿提供好喝的咖啡,而且,友善的主人能提供鄰近很多旅遊資訊,對初次甚至再次造訪者相信都會有意外的驚喜。
我非常推薦莫內花園咖啡農莊!
a great experience to spend a night at this B&B. The room is comfortable and easy. You can relax with a quiet and peace environment. There is a lake near this B&B, when I woke up in the morning, I jogged around the lake. I can saw the reflected image of mountains on the lake. I would suggest everyone must try to wake up early and see this. The air is so fresh and everyone was having a smile face to say hello! (So did I...). At night, the housekeeper led us to see a gather of fireflies. This is a seasonal activity if you can visit here from mid-April till early May.
The host is actually a coffee-lover. So you probably will not be disappointed about its coffee. And he can show you some "secret places" with superb scenery that you can not find on travel guides.
I would highly recommend foreigners to come here and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in Monet Homestay during our one night stopover in Hualien. They have a wonderful location nearby a lake and suitable for those who seeks a quiet evening away from town. Most shops nearby close around 18:30 and the restaurant closes at 20:30 so it is really quiet after dark. Breakfast was wonderful with nice coffee and they accommodated our preference to the meal without an eye blink. The service-oriented mindset was really appreciated in this part of Taiwan. :)

The hosts were super-friendly and drove us to the train station when they learned we didn't have our own vehicle. During the ride they shared lots of stories with previous guests and gave plenty of advises traveling in the region. Highly recommended.

Trip advisor 居然不讓我用英文po評論!? 這還蠻神奇的....那我現在是不是要來湊個50個中文字? :P 或許trip advisor 可以改變一下設定? 摘要一下上面英文: 鯉魚潭旁,老闆人超好甚至還會送我們去火車站,需要小心蚊子(鯉魚潭附近應該都有這問題),雖然老闆放了很多蚊香蛋坐在外面時還是要小心。早餐很棒,咖啡品質難得的好!

Room Tip: If you would like to sit outside the room do bring some cream against mosquitos. There are plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Four years ago I discovered Monet Garden, and every year including 2013, it have made a return visit. This is my second home in Taiwan.
Most so called Guest Houses are guest houses in name only .
But Monet Garden is a place where you feel comfortable. The hosts are delightfull, the employees very sweet. Food is perfect,original, delicious hand made and not 'chemical industrial factory'' cakes, very quiet ( walls are not the usual 5 millimeters thick) . Large and comfortable bedrooms.
And don t forget to sip coffee which is locally made by the owner, a coffee specialist who visits Guatemala coffee plantations and then imports for our pleasure.
Price are fair taking into account all they offer us
Lots of to see in the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our stay at Monet Garden wasn't what we expected.

The rooms are nice, all laid out in a Latin-American theme (because the hotel/cafe are known for its imported Guatemalan coffee) and some even with a roof terrace. Spacious and quaint enough to relax. The hotel (and the cafe) is nicely decorated and it's a nice play to sit down, relax and enjoy a coffee.

It's located in a nice area, near a quiet lake, good for a easy stroll but nothing more (better suited for families). There's a national park nearby, which is worth the visit. You can rent a bike up the street (ask the hotel owner for a discount, should be about TWD80 per bike per day) and bike to the park. It should take up about half a day to one day and is worthwhile.

However, the hotel is not that close to Hualien city centre so you're dependent on public transport (only 1 bus every 2hrs, takes about 1h and stops running around 6pm) or taxi (30 minutes, around TWD500 and not the TWD350 the hotel staff continues to say). If you're lucky, you can catch a ride along with the hotel staff, although punctuality is not one of their strengths (more than half an hour of delay). This wouldn't be a problem if the staff were attentive and knew what they were doing, but we were disappointed by their lack of (genuine) consideration and friendliness. The last day we told the hotel owner and another member of the staff that we needed to catch a train in the afternoon and asked them whether they could book a taxi for us. We went out and came back a few hours later to hear that they had neglected to call a taxi and that they wouldn't even drive us to the train station. What followed was a literal race against time to get to the train station in a taxi that was called last minute and we barely made it in time. This pretty ruined our stay there.

But besides this gross mistake, the staff never really seemed to know what they were doing. Asked about pretty much anything (check-in, check-out, public bus, taxi prices), they couldn't give us an answer. The only one who knew anything was the owner, who at first did come across as warm and welcoming. However, he would offer something and then forget about it, or ignore you to pay most of his attention to - better paying - business men who were keen on going to local jade factories, tasting his famous coffee etc. In the end, he didn't seem very genuine.

The hotel itself is quite quaint and the area is nice, but based on our experiences we wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
莫內花園咖啡農莊, 業者 at Monet Garden, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We have received many guests from different countries, and later became good friends. Andrew is the first from Belgium guests, while we have left a bad impression on him, so we are deeply sad and guilty.
We did a review on this matter immediately, although part of the reason is that very busy, with help from some of the staff were temporary, not familiar with the work, but, in any case, we must learn from this experience, to immediately improve.
Gardeners Monet-Joe care sincerely apologised to Andrew, hoping to have the opportunity to once again host Andrew and his friend, Andtrew rethinking old gardener Monet-Joe really are a hospitable people.

我們曾接待過許多來自不同國家的客人,後來都成了好朋友。Andrew是我們第一位來自比利時的貴賓,而我們卻讓他留下不好的印象,讓我們深感難過與愧疚。
我們立即對這件事做了檢討,雖然有一部份原因是那天很忙碌,有幾位工作人員是臨時來幫忙的,對工作不熟悉,但是,無論如何,我們必須記取這次的經驗,立即改善。
園丁老張誠摯地向Andrew道歉,更希望能有機會再度接待Andrew和他的朋友,讓Andtrew重新認識,園丁老張真的是一位熱情好客的人。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monet Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monet Garden

Address: No.138, Section1, Chinan Road, Shoufengxiang, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Specialty lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Monet Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monet Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monet Garden to your Saves list