We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Hualien” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byeyer Hotel

Save Saved
You added Byeyer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byeyer Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.361 Zhongshan Road, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value in Hualien”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed two nights in June 2013, and overall was satisfied with my stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the internet was fast, the bathroom was fine. The staff were friendly and helpful, but struggled a bit with english as is probably the case in a lot of places once you get far out of Taipei. I was in a non-smoking room and it smelled a little like someone had smoked in it, though the smell could have been coming from another room.

The breakfast was ok, about average for the hotels I have stayed at in Taiwan. The food was good, just not as much variety.

The hotel is in a good location for street vendor food and some other restaurants (find the Salt Lick for good VA/NC style bbq, believe it or not). The hotel is ~10 minute walk to the train station or a very short taxi ride. The night market is a long walk, so it is really a better idea to take a taxi, though from what I saw not many hotels are near the main night market. But there is plenty going on at night right on Zhongshan Rd, though probably not as late as the main night market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff allowed us to leave our bicycles that we rented from Giant at the lobby for the night. They told us to lock the bicycles and that they've will have night shift staff to watch out for the bicycles. I believe them because it's a small lobby and the bikes are right in front of them. Haha! Clean room with tatami style beds. Free wifi. Can't really complain except that the breakfast selection was very limited.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A rather shabby hotel but is probably one of the better hotels you can find in HuaLien. It has a tiny restaurant at the basement, which serves buffet style, nice and simple breakfast. Outdoor car-park at the back of the hotel. We were satisfied with the hotel but not delighted, alright for a one night stay.

We stayed the suite and it was still very basic. The overall room did not feel clean, especially the room carpets and black bath. Would most probably try another hotel is visiting HuaLien again. The noodles stall adjacent to the hotel is a great dinner option.

Room Tip: Even the suite did not give us a WOW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When it comes to Hualien many tourists would prefer minsu homestay or inns near Taroko Gorge. But I find this hotel a gem in Hualien town.
The staff are friendly, breakfast served is good albeit low in variety, easy access to the main streets in Hualien for shopping and eating.
The room is big enough for the two of us, and the price is reasonable too.
Definitely worth considering if you come to stay in Hualien.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Mar 10
Of the 7 hotels on this trip, Hotel Byeyer, was the worse. Its name evokes (more aptly), "Hotel Bye-bye." It was not the least expensive; it had the the most flaws.
It is a tourist-class hotel, ie, appeals to groups from China who want the best bargain. We sat among them at breakfast where some tend to slurp loudly, move about clumsily, and lack common etiquette and courtesy skills.
Our room 503 had a translucent door leading to the bedroom. Since I awake before sunrise, I dressed in the dark, occasional using the momentary light from my I-Touch deck. I managed not to awake my sleeping wife.
I complained to the front desk person that I couldn't turn off all the lights for sleeping. He arrived and resolved the problem by removing the bulb from the socket.
We were glad to move on after this experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This review is just a warning for those thinking about staying here. I reserved a room a month in advance of intended travel but had to cancel 3 weeks out due to a change in the itinerary.

I booked the hotel through the hotel's website at http://www.byeyer.com/. The initial response I got back from them after asking to cancel was to please contact Agoda. When I informed them that I didn't use Agoda and instead used their website, they asked me to then contact Travel King.

Also of note is that Travel King has already charged my credit card for the 2 nights I had originally intended to stay in Hualien.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel two nights.
The room was very spacious and clean and in the bathroom there was also 2 toothbrushes and one shaver.
Breakfast included international and oriental cuisines, but the international cuisine is very poor.
Position is good, because is near centre and Taroko way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byeyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byeyer Hotel

Address: No.361 Zhongshan Road, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Byeyer Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Byeyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byeyer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.