We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, clean, comfortable and great host!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hualien 11

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hualien 11 to your Saves list
Hualien 11
No.13 Guofu Street, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place, clean, comfortable and great host!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Lisa is a great host who replied to our emails promptly and was really nice even when we bungled the booking dates.
The hostel is located about 15-20mins walk from the Hualien train station and it's easy enough to locate with the help of Google Maps. It is quite a walk from the main streets but Hualien is a nice place to walk around.
Our room was clean and nicely decorated, with all the facilities one could need.

Lisa was also happy to provide us with directions and gave us recommendations on what to see and where to go. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hualien 11 is located along GuoFu 13th, one of the smaller lanes along Guofu 8th street.
Approximately a 15 -20 minute walk from the Hualien railway station.
With the help of the directions provided from the booking sites, it was quite easy to locate.
The lady-owner named Lisa was friendly and helpful. Check-in was only available after 2-3pm but we arrived early and she allowed us to leave our baggage in the living room area before the allowed time.

The place was clean and well-kept. The room for a group of 4 was spacious and well decorated. The shared bed was spacious with a good sitting area. Toothbrushes, hair dryer and soap was provided. However, a kettle and bath towels were not included. The hostel provided free drinking water. There were more than enough sockets to charge your electronic devices, but bring along your adaptors.

Meals aren't provided but food is available, most probably cooked by Lisa at a cost of NT50 - 100. You can get fruits from along the street of Guofu 8th street and food from the convenience stores along the same street. There was a good breakfast place [name of shop was in chinese - breakfast] selling sandwiches/buns with drinks at a cost of perhaps less than NT 50 per person.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here for two nights to visit the gorge on a day trip. The owner was very friendly and helped me arrange my visit.

Overall it was average and not the nicest place to stay but clean, easy with helpful owners. Not located near the main night markets but a short taxi ride away.

The room was backing onto a main road so fairly noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The lady-owner and her son were extremely helpful and convenient, the room was extremely comfortable (we were a group of 4).
They invited us to drink with other resident from the hostel, provided food and drinks.
Definitely recommend it, maybe the place is a bit hard to find from the outside but that's all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This minsu (眺望雲海) is not referred as Hualien 11 in Chinese. 眺望雲海has no signage as it is the owner's house in a housing area. Just look out for road name (GuoFu 13th street) and house number (no : 54). It is 10mins walk fr the Hualien's train station through the back exit. Pickup to/from train station is only from 8am-8pm and unfortunately, we could not enjoy this free service as we have to leave for 7.55am train to Taipei. The ZhiQiang night market is 15 mins away by foot.

There are 5 storeys, owner and little boss live on the 2nd floor and we got the room on 4th floor. No complaints with the stairs as we did not bring big luggages. Room was big, clean n nicely decorated.

Lisa had arranged Taroko 1-day tour for us and the driver picked us up from the visitor centre next to Hualien's train station. Driver had some problem in finding this minsu at first but later on, had googled the road name n finally sent us to the minsu after Taroko 1-day tour. We only stayed for a night and did not had much interaction with the owners. We left at 7.15am before they were up for the day, ie : 8.00am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

First for the pluses: the minsu hostess, Lisa and her son Little Boss (Xiao Lao Ban), are extremely approachable and hospitable hosts. Lisa replies to emails promptly and will assist you with any enquiries where necessary. Although she did not help us with the laundry personally, we could use her washing machine without any additional charges. The minsu is also located in the city centre, about 15-20min from Ziqiang Night Market, which has tons of good food without the long waiting times at other night markets e.g. Shihlin. Lisa also arranged a Taroko Gorge tour which was cheap and good (2200NT for 2). The driver, Leo, speaks good English and will address your requests readily. Last but not least, 1000NT for a big ensuite room per night is an absolute steal.

Downsides: there are no lifts in the minsu and you will have to carry the luggage up yourself (for us it was the 4th story). Lisa only provides transport to the train station and not the airport, so you would have to take a cab there. Fortunately, she can call a cab for you and it will pick you up when you are ready. There is also no breakfast provided, but there are good breakfast eateries around the corner.

All in all, the experience was great but perhaps not spectacular, but we are definitely not complaining for the great discounts we enjoy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the lower floors if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lisa Jie (Sister Lisa) came to pick my 2 cousins and myself up from a train station nearby. A friendly lady, she acted as our tour guide too, pointing and showing us where we should visit as she drove us to her place where we will be staying for the next 2 days. We stayed at this teddybear-themed room which was clean and comfortable. (my cousin even checked the aircon filter - it was clean!) Lisa Jie offered to wash our clothes and hung them dry for us. She offered us local fruits and chatted with us and gave guidances to make sure we enjoy our stay in Hualien. She really treated us well. Would definitely recommend her to whoever is visiting Hualien.

Room Tip: We had only 3 persons but had a 4 persons room. Lisa Jie gave us a special rate. Let her know if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hualien 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien 11

Address: No.13 Guofu Street, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hualien 11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualien 11, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.