We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hualien 11

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hualien 11 to your Saves list
Hualien 11
No.13 Guofu Street, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Home stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Recently stayed in this minsu for 2 nights. Big and beautiful decorated room. Paid TWD400 x 4 per night which is very reasonable.

This minsu is about 10 minutes walk from Hualien Station Rear exit. You can request the owner, Lisa, to fetch you from the station. We had great fun playing with her intelligent dog named Lucky.

She can also arrange the Taroko Gorge tour. I paid TWD800 per person for it. This tour will take you a whole day with a personalised driver/guide and 8-seater van.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thank you so much to the owner Lisa. She was available to assist us with anything and everything we needed. She picked us up at the train station, helped us to book our dinner reservations, booked a guided tour of Taroko Gorge for us, called taxies when we needed them, booked a white water rafting tour for us, suggested things to do nearby the hostel, and answered any general questions we had. She was also happy to sit and chat with us when we had down time. It was nice to have a friendly face to help us out.

The hostel was extremely clean and welcoming. The inside and outside look to be newly renovated. We live in Taiwan and have seen the inside of many Taiwanese hotels/apartments/hostels and this place is by far the nicest.

Each room is decorated differently in really interesting styles. We had 2 rooms- ours was really spacious, had a huge King sized four poster bed, a vanity, a table that seated 6 people, a huge flat screen TV, a fridge, a roof painted like clouds, an enclosed balcony, and a nice sized bathroom.

The other room was pink with a queen canopy bed, cute vanity, and many cute pink additions.

Some 3-4 star hotels in Taiwan do not have rooms this nice- you will love it! Great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms on the 4th floor- the blue room is much larger than the pink room - but they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Both of the hosts, Lisa and Little Boss, are wonderful people who'd gone lengths to make our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. As an example, Lisa actually drove to the station to personally pick us up, and even made wonderful recommendations on places we an dine at. The rooms we stayed at were fantastic - it was meticulously decorated, the shower's really cool, and the bed more comfortable than words can express, simply put it is hotel quality for hostel price. In addition, Lisa has also taken the trouble to help us organize trips to Taroko Gorge, Rafting and Ocean Park at very affordable prices. Furthermore, the lady tour guide Lisa recommended for Taroko Gorge was extremely professional, dependable and knowledgeable as well.
Definitely worth coming back to on my next trip. =)

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have a pretty great view of the mountain scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My stay at Hualien 11 was absolutely fantastic. The owner, Lisa, was lovely and very helpful, my room beautiful, spacious and clean and the hostel's location was very convenient. Lisa was so kind as to pick me up from the train station and to arrange a great day trip to Taroko Gorge for me. Hualien 11 really deserves a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This must be one of the best places I've ever stayed in, and I'm not exaggerating! Lisa, the owner, is amazing. She goes out of her way to make us feel comfortable. To start things off, she picked us up from the train station for free. Her place is amazing! We had a huge pink (sorry guys) room with two huge poster beds, a large TV, a sofa and even a bath tub in the bathroom! While we were busy ogling and enjoying our new room, Lisa went out to buy some steamed buns (local delights) for us! After we settled down, Lisa lent us her bikes (for free, again), and gave us directions to the local night market. She also arranged the Taroko Gorge tour for us (the cab driver/guide, by the way, was AMAZING too). The next day, knowing how we would be exhausted from a day at Taroko, Lisa cooked us an amazing meal!

Lisa's place definitely tops any hotel I've ever stayed in so far. The room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. And she has a super friendly dog, Lucky, too! But of course, the one thing that made this place shine so brightly is Lisa herself! We had a great time there, and definitely will be back again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hualien 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien 11

Address: No.13 Guofu Street, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hualien 11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualien 11, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.