We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little place to stay when visiting Hualien” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Is-Life B&B

Save Saved
You added Is-Life B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Is-Life B&B
No.8 Lane 2, Guoxing 4th Street, Hualien City, Hualien 00970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 86 Specialty lodging in Hualien
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming little place to stay when visiting Hualien”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a nice stay at this guesthouse, the room was spacious and had a four poster bed! The owner lent us bicycles and also gave us information on what to do and see. If you book this hostel though, you need to make sure you give the correct arrival time as she might not be in. This is what happened to us, but we managed to call her and she was back within half an hour. Hualien was an unmissable trip in Taiwan and we loved cycling to the coast and exploring the local food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lilian and Her Older sister tried their best to accommodate everyone from Taiwan or other countries.

The Minsu is only with 5 minutes walking distance from the Hualien Railway Station. It is very easy to found based on their direction on Internet. Or you could arrange the pick up before your arrival.

The room is very clean and tidy, Please take off your shoes before step in.

Local food shop or convenience store is also walking distance,.

Night market might takes longer time to reach but Hualien city is just a small area.

Please be aware, the train ticket is very hard to book during the summer season, if your schedule is from Taiwan to Hualien or Hualien to other place down south, do book your train ticket at least 4 days in advance.

For make everyone easy to find the property, their website shows below:
www.is-life.com.tw
Owner is Lilian Wang/Wang Guanlin(Chinese Pronunce)

During our stay, we booked two major activities:
One is the white water rafting, the total journey of 24 km and took 4 hours from the begining to the end. It made us really exciting when fighting with the waters.

The other one we booked with them is the culture tour, Mr Zhang Weixiang is is not just a driver, but also a professional guide could help with managing your trip near Hualien area.

He could speak very good Chinese, Hokian, and Local dialects, but no good English, if you are Chinese tourist, I think he is the best person. For book the trip, you could contact him:
E-Mail: ellen620911@yahoo.com.tw
Tel: +886-989544427/982763230

I hope I could help more independent travellers when they travelling to Hualien.

It is an amazing island!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My friends and I stayed 1 night at this minsu. As we set out from Cingjing to Hehuanshan then Taroko Gorge, dinner at Hualien City, by the time we reach the Minsu, it's already about 10pm.

The location of the minsu is pretty near Hualien train station. However, if we were to find it ourselves, I think we will have difficulty finding it because it's nested a few turns in a housing area. Luckily, we hired a driver for that day and he brought us right to the door step.

We stayed on 3rd floor. As there's no lift, we had to carry about big luggages up the stairs. Luckily, we are all strong girls. We fell in love with the room immediately when we stepped in. It's so spacious and nicely decorated. It's also very clean!

After unloading the stuff in our room, I went around the house to check out the whole minsu. It's so nicely decorated with handicraft pieces done by the minsu owner herself. There were also brochures and travel information readily available at the ground floor for travellers.

Though the stay was short and our interaction with the minsu owner was brief, we can still feel her helpfulness and sincerity. We checked out the next morning, pretty early at about 8am. She was already up, ready to send us off. She apologized for not able to play good host to us because of our brief stay, which is actually not her fault because we checked in so late and checked out so early!

Initially, we had wanted to walk to train station in the morning to catch our train to Taipei. But it's drizzling, so the minsu owner helped us call for a cab to send us there.

It's such a pity we only stayed here for such a brief while. Would love to spend more time at this pretty minsu if I come over to Hualien the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My friend and I stayed 1 night at this minsu at Hua-lien. Friendly and helpful owners who provided map for easy navigation around the estate. Room is cozy and very clean. Location is about 10 mins walk from Hualien train station. Follow the instructions given closely or you may miss the entrance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

we arrived in hualien in the morning and they let us check in early. the place was very homey and i loved the area at the base of the staircase where u put ur shoes--they placed wooden planks on top of pebbles so u felt like u were stepping into a spa/resort.

we got the room for 6 with 3 double beds on the floor. the so-called 'japanese' style with the low coffee table. there was also a common area just outside our room which had a dining table, fridge, water dispenser and sink. basically all u would need in a home, really.

the most unique thing about this place was that they had many beautifully decorated hand-written information booklets placed around the bookshelves (which were stocked with books, though we were enjoying ourselves too much outside to be in our rooms reading). there was also an autograph book of sorts on the dining table where you could leave parting messages for the owner. it was interesting to flip through all the past entries and we wrote one before we left as well.

the ppl at the reception were very helpful and patient, offering advice on where to go and what to do. they even provided transport to the train station, which was a godsend as it was raining heavily due to the typhoon.

all in all, the place was very comfortable, the staff friendly and the price very reasonable as well. i definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

Our pre-arranged cabby drove us from the railway station to check in to the minsu.As our train arrives around 10am, we emailed the minsu if we could check in earlier and there was no issues at all.As it is a homestay,there is no lift and we had to lug our luggage up 3floors.Room clean with a queen size bed which look a bit princessy as it is in pink. Bed and pillow was a bit too soft though.Tried to put down the bed curtain but maybe cos the aircon wasn't adjusted properly or was it not working v well...it felt v hot so in the end kept the curtain on the side facing the aircon opened.
Breakfast is included which is coupon for you to redeem at the nearby McDonalds.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

we had 2 rooms we my frds, a 4 beded room and a 2 pax room! Loves this min su a lot! feels like home whenever we stepped back from outside! and the owners of the place is SUPER helpful!!

will sure to be be back again!! =)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Is-Life B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Is-Life B&B

Address: No.8 Lane 2, Guoxing 4th Street, Hualien City, Hualien 00970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 Specialty lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Is-Life B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Is-Life B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.