We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cullinan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cullinan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cullinan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.126 Lin Sen Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Hualien
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Easy and fast check-in by friendly staff. Not warm, but friendly enough.

The room was spacious and clean, great water pressure in the shower (which is a big thing for me). They offered a crib for the baby but we didn't need it, and it might have been a bit tight in the room if we did have it. Within the room, there were slippers (very thin), coffee (not black coffee), water and snacks provided. In the bathroom body wash, shampoo, toothbrushes, comb and q-tip. The hotel also has umbrellas that you can borrow if needed. The bed was very comfortable, though the pillows are a bit hard. My baby had fun playing with the light behind the headboard. Lots of English channels available. Be prepared for the influx of Chinese tourists in the evening, they can be a bit boisterous, friendly, but noisy and they don't really understand the first come first served concept.

It's not close to the train station so if you know when you are getting into Hualian, you can call at least a day ahead to book transport. It is about a 25-minute walk to a night market, and you have to walk onto a bridge with the traffic as there is no pedestrian sidewalk, which can be a bit scary, so we took the taxi. There is a mall just around the corner, and I think the old railway museum (or something, we didn't go) is not far as well.

Breakfast was fine, a mix of Western and Asian food. We asked for transport back to the train station before and they were prompt. Overall, it was a good stay and we would stay again next time.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if you can. I think they place the tour group on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Having flown into Hualien from Taipei, we took a taxi to the hotel ($250) and even though the room wasn't ready, we were allowed to leave our bags, which were subsequently taken to our room when we were out.
First impressions were of a tidy room, with a nice bathroom, drink making facilities plus 2 bags of crisps which was a nice touch. The room was modern and had a flat screen TV,although it only has CNN in English, would be better if there were other options, eg a Western music channel. The mattress was very comfortable too. Also of use was a safe which was used during day trips for keeping documents secure. Breakfast was OK, with scrambled egg and toast, with a hot drink about the best option for me.
The hotel is located about 15 minutes from the shopping area of town, and about 30 minutes from the railway station, however, a shuttle is provided to the station which I booked the night before. We took 2 day trips from Hualien, 1 to The Taroko Gorge (booked through an agency in town for $1,000 per person and were collected from the hotel), and 2, a day trip to Ruisui ($286 return by train), where we visited The Tropic of Cancer visitor centre and a hot spring($150 per person).
The hotel is a good base for exploring the city and Hualien County. I would've marked the hotel higher, but I left there with 17 bites on my arm leaving red itchy spots, so something else was clearly in the room with us and I was on the menu!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. They even helped to take our luggage in without us asking. That made us feel welcome right away. The room decor is very simple but quite spacious and clean. It was a comfy short stay. Location is quite convenient. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay while in Hualian.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Connie

once again thank you to stay with us, we hope to see you in the near future.

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Big rooms, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, wifi, safe, kettle, hairdryer, toiletries, all provided. 15minute walk to the Zhongzhen/Zhonghua/Zhongshan triangle. Free railway shuttle on request. Basic English at front desk. Breakfast too limited and too cold! Turn on the bain-maries, please!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Connie

once again thank you to stay with us, we hope to see you in the near future. regarding of the bain-maries, i did spoken to the kitchen staff to make sure the bain-maries need to turn on higher temperature

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

if you want to go to the night market u can only take the cab because you need to cross the bridge. cost is nt100. there is mall right around the corner and also many restaurants. not a very spacious room (i lived in a 2 single room) staffs are very friendly and helpful. when i called the front desk about the toilet is not flushing someone came up right away and fixed it. thumbs up!

a one night stay would be a great choice on budget. if this is a long term hotel choice (more than 2 nights) i would not choose it cuz of the size of the room. due to i still need to wash my clothes, i prefer some where has a balcony and more spacious. if room size is not a concern. it is still a very neat hotel.

one point i really appreciate about hotels in taiwan is that they provide cleasing products complimentarily. i have 2 packs of instant coffee beverages in the room. a hot water machine, tooth flawser, brushes, paste, cotton sticks, comb, 2 muds, 2 bottles of water, hair dryer, mini fridge, 2 pairs of disposable slippers and 1 pair for bathroom use. shampoo and body wash too. basically u jus need to throw your body in and they have everything ready for you. :)

hope this would help

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you to stay with us, every year during the summer time, our hotel start to offer a complimentary shuttle service to Night market, once again we hope to see you again in near future.

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Room is very comfortable, clean and spacious. Staff is very professional and keen to help.

We had a pick-up and drop-off free services from the train station

Wifi is available in the room, free of charge

Located at CBD area as this is not a big city so quite easy to get around to everywhere including the night market. It takes about 15 minutes walk to get there.

Food was great with lots of variety, considering the breakfast was including in the package.

However, thank you the Front office manager George and other amazing staff.

You cannot be disappointed if you chose the Cullinan Hotel.

Room Tip: Nice room and quiet with individual air-condition. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Cullinan Hotel Hualien on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the service provided by our colleagues..

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to see you again.

regards

Eli Wu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in mid December last year. Booked through their website which bundled a room together with a tour of Taroko Gorge. The rooms are not bad, but the breakfast in my opinion was bad. That being said, however, it is right next to a huge shopping complex and a convenience store so it is close to such vital amenities. What made my stay here good was the general manager - he went above and beyond his line of work when he helped buy train tickets at the nearby store after booking them and even helped changed currency using his own money when they, on paper, do not provide such a service. This is commendable particularly as it happened late at night and it was something which he could have chose not to do. Would recommend staying here and doing the tour they offer - saves the hassle and the vendor they sourced conducted the tour very professionally.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cullinan Hotel !

Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stayed and service with us , We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

I appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Yours sincerely,


Eli Wu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cullinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan Hotel

Address: No.126 Lin Sen Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullinan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cullinan hotel is well-positioned in Hualien City, Cullinan Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hualien City. With its location just 1km from the city center and 8km from the airport, hotel attracts numerous travelers each year. For those of you who want to venture out, Pine Garden, Hualien Train Station, Meiluen Shan Nature Park are just some of the attractions available to visitors.Cullinan Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy elevator, car park, airport transfer, tours, family room.48 rooms spread over 7 floors provide a warm and pleasant home away from home and modern comforts such as desk, complimentary bottled water, bathtub, mini bar, television. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Cullinan Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cullinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cullinan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.