We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple cozy room for short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cullinan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cullinan Hotel to your Saves list
Cullinan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.126 Lin Sen Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Los Angeles
1 review
“A simple cozy room for short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. They even helped to take our luggage in without us asking. That made us feel welcome right away. The room decor is very simple but quite spacious and clean. It was a comfy short stay. Location is quite convenient. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay while in Hualian.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Connie

once again thank you to stay with us, we hope to see you in the near future.

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    47
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
21
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Big rooms, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, wifi, safe, kettle, hairdryer, toiletries, all provided. 15minute walk to the Zhongzhen/Zhonghua/Zhongshan triangle. Free railway shuttle on request. Basic English at front desk. Breakfast too limited and too cold! Turn on the bain-maries, please!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Connie

once again thank you to stay with us, we hope to see you in the near future. regarding of the bain-maries, i did spoken to the kitchen staff to make sure the bain-maries need to turn on higher temperature

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

if you want to go to the night market u can only take the cab because you need to cross the bridge. cost is nt100. there is mall right around the corner and also many restaurants. not a very spacious room (i lived in a 2 single room) staffs are very friendly and helpful. when i called the front desk about the toilet is not flushing someone came up right away and fixed it. thumbs up!

a one night stay would be a great choice on budget. if this is a long term hotel choice (more than 2 nights) i would not choose it cuz of the size of the room. due to i still need to wash my clothes, i prefer some where has a balcony and more spacious. if room size is not a concern. it is still a very neat hotel.

one point i really appreciate about hotels in taiwan is that they provide cleasing products complimentarily. i have 2 packs of instant coffee beverages in the room. a hot water machine, tooth flawser, brushes, paste, cotton sticks, comb, 2 muds, 2 bottles of water, hair dryer, mini fridge, 2 pairs of disposable slippers and 1 pair for bathroom use. shampoo and body wash too. basically u jus need to throw your body in and they have everything ready for you. :)

hope this would help

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you to stay with us, every year during the summer time, our hotel start to offer a complimentary shuttle service to Night market, once again we hope to see you again in near future.

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Room is very comfortable, clean and spacious. Staff is very professional and keen to help.

We had a pick-up and drop-off free services from the train station

Wifi is available in the room, free of charge

Located at CBD area as this is not a big city so quite easy to get around to everywhere including the night market. It takes about 15 minutes walk to get there.

Food was great with lots of variety, considering the breakfast was including in the package.

However, thank you the Front office manager George and other amazing staff.

You cannot be disappointed if you chose the Cullinan Hotel.

Room Tip: Nice room and quiet with individual air-condition. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Cullinan Hotel Hualien on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the service provided by our colleagues..

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to see you again.

regards

Eli Wu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here in mid December last year. Booked through their website which bundled a room together with a tour of Taroko Gorge. The rooms are not bad, but the breakfast in my opinion was bad. That being said, however, it is right next to a huge shopping complex and a convenience store so it is close to such vital amenities. What made my stay here good was the general manager - he went above and beyond his line of work when he helped buy train tickets at the nearby store after booking them and even helped changed currency using his own money when they, on paper, do not provide such a service. This is commendable particularly as it happened late at night and it was something which he could have chose not to do. Would recommend staying here and doing the tour they offer - saves the hassle and the vendor they sourced conducted the tour very professionally.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cullinan Hotel !

Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stayed and service with us , We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

I appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Yours sincerely,


Eli Wu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Only managed to secure a reservation for 1 night as their triple room is too popular. This is one of the few hotels in Hualien that offers a triple room option. It's my 2nd visit to the hotel, and as usual, it did not disappoint. In the lobby itself is Internet access, the staff are always excellently polite and friendly. Our room wasn't ready yet at 2pm, so they let us deposit our luggage at the front desk first. The distance of the hotel to the shopping district is less than 3 mins walk. They even have a washing machine with dryers available at their upper floor. Although the rooms aren't that spacious, I do appreciate the cosy feeling and decor each room has. The bathroom is always immaculately clean and is a joy to shower in. A wonderful experience at this hotel. Thumbs up Cullinan! I will put this place as my first choice every time I go to Hualien!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cullinan Hotel Hualien l!

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Hualien in near future.

Sincerely,

Eli Wu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room and bathrooms were a bit dated. The bathroom was not properly cleaned and smelled musty. Breakfast was sufficient (in my opinion) but more suited to Asian palates. Reception staff was helpful and we really appreciated the free transfer to the train station. For the price we paid, we got 3 single beds and the room was quite big and fitted our family of three very well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Cullinan Hotel Hualien . We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Cullinan Hotel Hualien.

Sincerely,

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.8 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#9 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.7 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#3 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arsma Hotel
Arsma Hotel
#7 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
15.6 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#2 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels - Hualien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan Hotel

Address: No.126 Lin Sen Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullinan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cullinan hotel is well-positioned in Hualien City, Cullinan Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hualien City. With its location just 1km from the city center and 8km from the airport, hotel attracts numerous travelers each year. For those of you who want to venture out, Pine Garden, Hualien Train Station, Meiluen Shan Nature Park are just some of the attractions available to visitors.Cullinan Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy elevator, car park, airport transfer, tours, family room.48 rooms spread over 7 floors provide a warm and pleasant home away from home and modern comforts such as desk, complimentary bottled water, bathtub, mini bar, television. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Cullinan Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cullinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cullinan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.