We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lienfook Hostelry Hualien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lienfook Hostelry Hualien to your Saves list
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Alley 1, Lane 336, Zhongzheng Rd, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 38 Reviews
Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located about 10 minute walk from the main part of Hualien with all the shops and food stalls. The hotel looks as if it has been renovated not long ago with all of the bedrooms having a chic budget look. Mattresses are firm but not too hard, plenty of warm water in the closed off shower, room was very clean and even some English channels on the TV. Staff speak English and are very helpful and willing. Taxi ride to train station costs around 140-150NT and takes 5 minutes.
Only downside is the somewhat poor breakfast which is a variety of Western and Asian options. But with a hotel in this range its actually a bonus to even have breakfast.

Room Tip: try and get a room that is furthest from the elevator because it makes a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a review of your stay. regarding of the breakfast we already spoken to the chef to change the selection of the breakfast to giving the guest have more selection, once again thank you to stay with us

we hope to see you again.

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is really a value of $$ hotel. It's near the town center, the staff were great and the rooms were clean. I really couldn't ask for more. It was one of the better places we stayed at during the trip. If you're into walking, you could walk to the sea-side in 20mins. The town center's about 10mins away.

I found the breakfast so-so though. It's a buffet but the selection was pretty blah. But then, it's a smallish hotel so I really could not expect more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Once again I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Lienfook Hostelry .

we hope to see you again.

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We paid 1400 TWD for one night and it was good value for the money. English-speaking staff. The room had windows, the room was clean and we got everything we needed, exept it was only cold water in the shower.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with your stay

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel proved almost everything you need and expect in a hotel. The location is not near to the town city of HuaLien, but was located near the main road. The night market was like 20 mins walking distance and few mins walking distance to nearest convenience store. So, if you looking for some hotel near the center part or night market, then this hotel is not your choice.

You can have a good sleep as the hotel was located in a quiet place off the main road and have their own car park space for the guest. The breakfast as for standard taiwan's hotels, porridge, bread/toast/ ham, fruit and tea and coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at LIenfook huealien and posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your recommendation .

Thanks again for your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit next time you come to Hualien.

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

About 10 minutes by Taxi to reach the hotel. Rooms were large with all the necessary stuff you need. Service was really good by all who spoke fairly good English overall. Breakfast was so so, but everything else was pleasant on our stay. Make sure you get a business card as when you go out you need to leave the key when you want room service.The hotel name is a little unusual and we forgot it so getting back was a bit of a pain. Overall, great value in a city that doesn't have much except for Toroko access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with your stay

we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I cannot conceive of who would rate this small budget hotel as Very Good or Excellent. Admittedly I only saw one room but unfortunately I saw it for three nights. Our room was small with a small tired bathroom. It had a plastic chair, mini fridge and flat screen television. It was a living-out-of-a-case place as there was nowhere to put any clothes. I booked three nights for A$127 total on Agoda. Breakfast was included and was served in a small, stark basement room. It was modest and not geared to westerners i.e. butter for the toast was by request and there were no knives, only spreaders in the jam and peanut butter dishes.

I had contacted the hotel directly by e-mail some weeks before arriving and arranged for two 5 hour tours with an English speaking driver and car for TWD2500 each tour. When we arrived we were told that it was TWD2800 for a 4 hour tour with no English speaking driver. It was not until I requested the English speaking gentleman in the office to read the e-mail, that he agreed that we had arranged 5 hours for TWD2500. There was however only the Mandarin speaking driver available so we still did not get what we had agreed to pay for. This was very disappointing. It actually did not matter with the Taroko Gorge tour. The driver just stopped and pointed us at where we were supposed to hike and we had a great day. The east rift valley tour however was a total waste of time and it was difficult being unable to communicate at all with the driver. The one thing we did learn is how different the interests of eastern and western tourists are. The warning here is to be very clear on what sites you wish to visit.

Apart from the tours however, the young English speaking gent in the office was very helpful in assisting us with our onward travel arrangements and even went to the local 7Eleven to purchase our train tickets.

In summery this small budget hotel is in a good central location, the one English speaker on staff can be very helpful and it is cheap. It is not however, in my opinion, a Very Good or Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a feedback regarding of the Taroko tour, we are sincerely apologize of those confusion and mistake,
we hope to see you again.

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in total in a twin room. Lienfook is a small hotel located at a very central part of the city, though the city is actually very small to start with. With just a three-minute walk we got to the start of the main Zhonghua and Zhongzheng roads.

The service was good - the staff were generally obliging and helped us with taxi bookings, advised on certain locations in the city, booked tours for us, etc. There was just one disappointment in our experience - we booked an East Coast Scenic Area tour in a cab on the second day and were so happy with the driver that we wanted to hire him for our Taroko Gorge tour on the fourth day. So much so we didn't even give any tip as we expected to see him again. Unfortunately the hotel staff said we can't have the same driver though we repeatedly reiterated our wish. Hence, we felt bad throughout the trip that we didn't express any concrete thanks to the taxi uncle who brought us on such an unforgettable trip...

As for the rooms, they were small, but clean and have the basic facilities. For such a low price, this is certainly value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, Manager at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you to stay with us , we hope to see you again to make your trip more enjoyable .

Linfook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lienfook Hostelry Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lienfook Hostelry Hualien

Address: No.1 Alley 1, Lane 336, Zhongzheng Rd, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lienfook Hostelry Hualien 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lienfook Hostelry is centrally located, with affordable price, scenic spots beside the main road, convenient for shopping or business trip, and to provide comprehensive services and family intimacy, so that the guests stay home away from home and family sense of belonging, let yourself to enjoy the unique traditional experience to create yourself additional memory to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lienfook Hostelry Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.