We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More cheap than excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lienfook Hostelry Hualien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lienfook Hostelry Hualien to your Saves list
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Alley 1, Lane 336, Zhongzheng Rd, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
“More cheap than excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I cannot conceive of who would rate this small budget hotel as Very Good or Excellent. Admittedly I only saw one room but unfortunately I saw it for three nights. Our room was small with a small tired bathroom. It had a plastic chair, mini fridge and flat screen television. It was a living-out-of-a-case place as there was nowhere to put any clothes. I booked three nights for A$127 total on Agoda. Breakfast was included and was served in a small, stark basement room. It was modest and not geared to westerners i.e. butter for the toast was by request and there were no knives, only spreaders in the jam and peanut butter dishes.

I had contacted the hotel directly by e-mail some weeks before arriving and arranged for two 5 hour tours with an English speaking driver and car for TWD2500 each tour. When we arrived we were told that it was TWD2800 for a 4 hour tour with no English speaking driver. It was not until I requested the English speaking gentleman in the office to read the e-mail, that he agreed that we had arranged 5 hours for TWD2500. There was however only the Mandarin speaking driver available so we still did not get what we had agreed to pay for. This was very disappointing. It actually did not matter with the Taroko Gorge tour. The driver just stopped and pointed us at where we were supposed to hike and we had a great day. The east rift valley tour however was a total waste of time and it was difficult being unable to communicate at all with the driver. The one thing we did learn is how different the interests of eastern and western tourists are. The warning here is to be very clear on what sites you wish to visit.

Apart from the tours however, the young English speaking gent in the office was very helpful in assisting us with our onward travel arrangements and even went to the local 7Eleven to purchase our train tickets.

In summery this small budget hotel is in a good central location, the one English speaker on staff can be very helpful and it is cheap. It is not however, in my opinion, a Very Good or Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a feedback regarding of the Taroko tour, we are sincerely apologize of those confusion and mistake,
we hope to see you again.

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in total in a twin room. Lienfook is a small hotel located at a very central part of the city, though the city is actually very small to start with. With just a three-minute walk we got to the start of the main Zhonghua and Zhongzheng roads.

The service was good - the staff were generally obliging and helped us with taxi bookings, advised on certain locations in the city, booked tours for us, etc. There was just one disappointment in our experience - we booked an East Coast Scenic Area tour in a cab on the second day and were so happy with the driver that we wanted to hire him for our Taroko Gorge tour on the fourth day. So much so we didn't even give any tip as we expected to see him again. Unfortunately the hotel staff said we can't have the same driver though we repeatedly reiterated our wish. Hence, we felt bad throughout the trip that we didn't express any concrete thanks to the taxi uncle who brought us on such an unforgettable trip...

As for the rooms, they were small, but clean and have the basic facilities. For such a low price, this is certainly value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, Manager at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you to stay with us , we hope to see you again to make your trip more enjoyable .

Linfook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lienfook is small hotel, in a very convenient location and excellent value for money. Despite being close to the main dining and shopping streets, its very quiet and we barely heard any noise from the street. They appear to be doing updating of the rooms so you might like to ask for a newer one. We were in an older, superior room which was absolutely fine too. Most of the staff speak some English and the assistant manager used to live in Australia and speaks excellent Englishish - he was extremely helpful when we found ourselves stuck without transportation. There are plans for a dining room but at the moment you choose breakfast from a menu the night before and it is delivered to your room the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a positive and warm review of your stay.

Thank you also for taking the time to share your feedback of your holiday with us at Lienfook Hostelry . I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, Belarus
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Small and cozy hotel. The staff at this hotel is very helpful and they speak english! The room was lovely and very clean and the bed was very comfortable . The hotel is also very well located, in the centre of town. The breakfast was very tasty. You choose it in advance and the time you want. And they bring breakfast in bed. We enjoyed everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a positive and warm review of your stay.

Thank you also for taking the time to share your feedback of your holiday with us at Lienfook Hostelry . I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

In the clean room of this hotel you can rest enough enjoy your time. Night staff does not know English but he will try to help you by Google translator and calling other colleagues.

Room Tip: do not worry. there are just few rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a positive and warm review of your stay.

Thank you also for taking the time to share your feedback of your holiday with us at Lienfook Hostelry . I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed for only one night. Very reasonable price with discount offer with train tickets to Haulien. Staff of different shifts are very nice and helpful. Free bicycles borrowed from them (although the bicycle was a bit old). 5-10 minutes walk to the city center with many restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, Manager at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a positive and warm review of your stay.


we hope to see you again.

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This was our last hotel we stayed during our 2 weeks in Taiwan. As none of us could drive on the right hand side (we’re from NZ where we drive on the left) so we needed a place central and not too expensive. Plus not a lot of public transports within Hualien (other than taxi) so mostly we have to walk.

The price was reasonable for 4 nights - roughly USD $25/night including breakfast. On the first night, we were in room 201. It has a Japanese feel and reasonably big for 3 adults. However, the moment we step in we didn't like the smell. It was a very disgusting "fishy" smell. We told the receptionist and they provided an air freshener fan to help reduce the smell. We have it turn on the whole night hoping the smell would go away. But it was still there the next morning which we couldn't stand it at the end. We told the receptionist and they told us they will change room for us! The next room was at room 301 which didn't have the smell. The owner even brought us two big packages of Taiwan sweets as an apology.

The great service did not end there. The staff were very helpful and when we ask them about train ticket heading back to Taipei, the owner when out of his way to take us to the train station to purchase our return tickets to Taipei. Furthermore, when we asked him about transport to Farglory Ocean Park he even offered to take us all the way there (roughly 20-30 mins ride). And he offers to take us back when we finish, but we felt bad and instead took a taxi back.

The breakfast is not provided within the hotel, instead you have $50 TWD to spend/person in this other shop (1-2 mins walk). There are a lot of selections and $50 can get be very filling. The owner even helps us to circle which foods are vegetarian.

The only downside is the cleanness. The walls, windows, corners are all dusty, even the floors. This would be a good hotel if they can clean the hotel! Otherwise 10/10 for the best service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliwu, Manager at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest
.
Thank you also for taking the time to share your feedback of your holiday with us at Lienfook Hostelry . I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lienfook Hostelry Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lienfook Hostelry Hualien

Address: No.1 Alley 1, Lane 336, Zhongzheng Rd, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 107 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lienfook Hostelry Hualien 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lienfook Hostelry is centrally located, with affordable price, scenic spots beside the main road, convenient for shopping or business trip, and to provide comprehensive services and family intimacy, so that the guests stay home away from home and family sense of belonging, let yourself to enjoy the unique traditional experience to create yourself additional memory to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lienfook Hostelry Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.