We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center to your Saves list
Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center
No.30 Tienhsiang Road, XiuLin Town, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The name "Youth Activity Center” make you feel like it is a hostel. But it is not. This is a pretty nice hotel located on a beautiful surrounding.
We booked two nights here and did some hiking in the Taroko National park during the day. The 4- person room has two single beds and one queen/king size bed. The room has a balcony facing the mountain and river. It was very quite at night. Room is spacious and clean. Every day bottled waters were provided .
The breakfast was included in the room rate. The buffet breakfast was mostly Chinese/Taiwanese style. Very basic but pretty good. You can eat dinner in the hotel with extra pay. The hotel prefer you make reservation for the dinner. But we were accepted without reservation. The food was simple and not that much selections. Comparing to average restaurant, the food in the hotel was pretty expensive but you do not have too many choices since there are not that many restaurants around in the mountain area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the surrounding beautiful scenery. The room is almost like 4-star hotel quality and the buffet style breakfast was great (although mainly Taiwanese style). The front desk ladies were helpful and our room was serviced on the second day. Even though it's a little pricey, it's worth the location and quality!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

So, yes it is a youth centre so you cannot except the luxury of the resort, the comfort of a big hotel and room service :)
Actually when you go on their website you might not find this place great...
BUT the thing is, this place is super clean, peaceful, very well located (only 3mns walk from the bus station and grocery store) with very friendly staff.

The room is comfortable, bright with everything you need. The bathroom is big enough.
At night you will fall asleep with the sound of the river...wonderful

So yes, it is quite expensive but the lodging in Taroko is SUPER expensive
Why? Because there are only few hotels in the gorge so the prices go up very much
Plus, this is destination is more and more selected by tourists as, nobody can deny it, the sceneries are breath taking!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on river side ... not parking side even if not all the room can view the gorge at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Well situated, but too expensive for the room and amenities/food. A Room with double and 2 singles: NTD3750 (with 10% discount because my daughter had her student card) , (with Chinese style breakfast) Dinner: NTD150/person (lunch box on a plate).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan_YAC, Guest Relations Manager at Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear need2divetw,
The Quad room of Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center have been renovation and furnishings upgraded. Tienhsiang center also update their Lunch and Dinner menus per half year. Sincerely hope this change will serve your needs better. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Yours faithfully
Coordinator of Youth Activity Center in Taiwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was my second stay at TIenhsiang (last visit in summer 2006). While the common area was a little run-down, my room was clean with all the bathroom necessities. It had a magnificent view overlooking the mountains and a little church nearby. It has, in my opinion, the best location amongst the establishments in Taroko. The meals were very decent, albeit simple, and breakfast was buffet-style. They also have a little convenience store and a cafe that only opens at certain hours. The staff were friendly and helpful - they also provide hassle-free temporary luggage storage. Definitely a great place to stay!

Room Tip: student prices available if you show your student pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I rented a scooter (NT500 for 24 hours) in Hualein and drove up the gorge. We loved the views and, although some would be afraid of the narrow road, we took it all in as an experience. It surely was one of my favorites drives.

Tienhsiang is very small. We saw three hotels and not many more options to eat. The other hotel nearby was clearly nicer, for example it has a rooftop pool, but is probably much more expensive. Perhaps it is worth it if your looking for a mountain retreat or where to rest after hiking trails for days on end.

My girlfriend and I preferred this hotel which, as its name implies, is probably a place where large groups of students come and get to know more about their country and history. Since it was weekday and not the holiday season there were barely any other guests in this large hotel. The western food was ok for what we have found in Taiwan and, again, there weren't many more options.

I strongly recommend the Taroko Gorge and trying to do it in a scooter to get the full experience, but would suggest this hotel and Tienhsiang in general just as a quick stop in this beautiful park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I love this hotel, simply because of its clean, good price and the view is a wow for me. I had a very good sleep here. Along the night, i could hear the sound of river; during the day, i could hear the birdsong. Also, the air is fresh and i could open the window for the whole night.
I stayed in a dorm room, it has 4 single beds, but i was so lucky because there was no other guests, so its just me.

The food in restaurant is okay, and huge; the price of each meal is 150NT. but the room comes with breakfast.

How to get here: take bus from hualien train station. The route is Tienshiang.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center

Address: No.30 Tienhsiang Road, XiuLin Town, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.