We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Delicious, Filling and Fast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dai's Dumpling

Dai's Dumpling
No.120 Chong Hua Road, Hualien, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 352 Restaurants in Hualien
Cuisines: Taiwanese
Restaurant details
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap, Delicious, Filling and Fast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm not sure what else to say other than the above.
One bamboo basket of 10 dumplings for only 50NT!!!
What more you want!? Stop reading and go take a bite! xD

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Simple & Pleasant Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The simple shop served only one type of dumpling in 2 sizes - big or small. The dumplings came in a clear soup base. It was quite tasty and made for a light meal if you don't want anything too heavy!

The shop had a long history with lots of media info on its owners and the famous people that came by to try the dumplings. But it won't be something I would come back again and again to eat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Awesome dumplings in Hualien”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I"m pretty sure this is the place that i went to... since i don't read Chinese I am guessing this is it since the place i went to was a famous dumpling house and this is a famous dumpling house. If you look at the attached picture it will have the information on it.... just show it to the cab driver.

as people mentioned it is only 60 .. approx $2USD to get a bowl which contains about 10 dumplings with some awesome soup. the service is really quick. there is only 1 item on the menu so they have this stream lined to a science.

it is 1/2 a block off the main shopping street.

enjoy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Little dumplings with an explosive taste. And cheap!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent & Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Don't be put off by appearances. This place looks shabby but the food is great. It also couldn't be easier to have an authentic local experience, as you simply tell them how many people, find a seat and in fairly shortly order they bring you that many bowls of wontons in soup. The two kids we had with us both cleaned out their bowls (as did all four adults), so it must have been good. And cheap - about NTD60 (approx USD$2) per person. Your hotel will be able to write out the name of this place for you to show a taxi driver if you don't speak Chinese - eating here is very quick (20-30 minutes for us) so we just asked our driver to wait for us and then went out to the local night markets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dai's Dumpling also viewed

 
Hualien, Taiwan
Hualien, Taiwan
 

Been to Dai's Dumpling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dai's Dumpling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.