We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hualien Sunrise Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hualien Sunrise Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hualien Sunrise Hostel
No.192, Sec. 3 Zhongyang Road, Ji-an Town, Hualien 973, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 923 Hualien B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good for short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The lady of this hostel is so nice and lovely, and they are really trying their hardest for making your stay very nice! They gave us a taste of a custardapple :) Only minus: no window in the room...
I don't really remember their being anything nice in the neighbourhood, as it is located on a big road, but the owner drove us around. Nice touch!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    43
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a terrible minsu, the worst I have stayed.
There are only two positives about this place: it's pretty and it's clean.
The following are the negatives:

First, THE RULES
Believe it or not, BB Sunrise has RULES
1) No shoes beyond ground level.  That's right, shoes cannot be worn upto the rooms.  They have to be changed to minsu shoes at the foot of the stairs
2) No toilet paper in the toilet bowl.  Soiled toilet tissue cannot be thrown into the toilet bowl, they have to be discarded into the bins next to the toilet bowl.  Imagine the odour!

Second, unhelpful staff
Angela picked us up from the train station.  She saw my eight-year-old struggling with his luggage but there was no offer of help.  When we asked her to recommend some local delicacies, she either couldn't or wouldn't tell us.  She told us to find out for ourselves!

Third, inhospitable atmosphere
We didn't feel welcomed when we first reached.  Maybe they were too worried abt the shoes or toilets.  We met the male owner later but he never smiled at us nor ask if everything was alright.  I felt we were intruding on their privacy.

Fourth, rooms
We were assigned rooms on the fourth floor.  When we forgot to take something, that was 53 steps to climb on the steep and narrow staircase. Some rooms were in the centre of the minsu, which meant they had windows that opened to the corridor, facing the stairs.  Essentially these rooms had no windows.

Fifth, empty reception area
A lot of times, there was no one at the reception.  This together with the facts that the front door locks automatically and they only gave one key per room meant if  I was not with the person holding the key, I might be locked out in the cold.  That would be terrible because there was nothing nearby.  All the shops around were car showrooms or auto related stores.

Sixth, no breakfast
This was not a surprise for us since their website said so but it was a surprise for our Hualien friends.  The location is not convenient to get food.

This is a terrible place to stay.  Obviously, we will never stay at this minsu again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have no complain with regard to Minsu, Rachel or even Angela the 管家。The price is very good and we stayed 2 nights there. My only complain is that we were not brought to the Shakadang hike as stated in the brochure for the Taroko Gorge Tour. I was a blur traveller having to take care of my child and only when (after we left) my Hualien friend asked me if I like the Shakadang hike that I realized that we didn't go there. And she said, "aye, that's the best part where the water is still green" (whilst the rest of the water in the gorge was muddy!"
In the morning where we werre supposed to go to Taroko Gorge, the tour guide Paul asked if we want to go to 清水断崖 (extra cost of NT200 each person) since it was a sunny day and I asked him if that would mean we would end our day later. He said yes. So I assume that none of our itinery would be compromised....only to realised after we left that we missed out a wonderful spot. Look like we have to go back there again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbsunrise, 業者 at Hualien Sunrise Hostel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback to us^^

About the Shakadang Trail, there is closed due to typhoon since last year, 1 Aug 2012. It reopens on 3 Jan 2013 from 9am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was our first visit to Hualien and the hosts made the stay memorable and comfortable. Just 10min car ride from the train station of Hualien, the place was accessible and the host offers to pick us up too! Nearby amenities include the popular Zhi Qiang night market, a Supermarket (open til 12 midnight), a Family Mart and many 古早味 (traditional taiwanese flavoured cuisine) foodstalls. If you are looking for a quaint, chill-out kind of holiday experience to feel the flow of the local Hualien life, this place is for you!

The place is run by a lovely couple Paul (who leads the local tours) and Rachel (who oversees our needs in the minsu). Their mother, Angela, also assists in the running of the minsu.

The hosts are very knowledgeable and friendly. They shared much useful information that helped us get around to nice eateries / shops in the vicinity, as well as offered fantastic solutions to our queries of touring other areas of Taiwan. We joined 2 of their day tour packages which are very well planned! We spent a fabulous 4 days (3 nights) in Hualien!

The room we took was Victoria Room (Room B1) and it had a homely and cosy setting with nice Victorian style decoration. It is maintained daily and basic toiletries were offered, though it is advisable to bring your own big towel. There is also hot/cold water supply outside the rooms.

A value-added service that Paul provided was to bring us to the local foodstuff factory to do some shopping. Optional choice of delivering our purchases to our next destination in Taiwan was also available upon request.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

i went with my girlfriend during May 2012!

It was a wonderful experience booking the minsu via email with the owner rachel. It was really easy and rachel was very efficient! (she writes well in english so for those struggling with chinese, no worries!)

The whole hostel was really beautifully decorated and our room was really nice!

The location wasn't that great but everything was within walking distance so we had no complaints!

Paul, the other owner was very friendly and was our tour guide to taroko gorge! He was very helpful in guiding us and helped us take alot of pictures!
The service provided by both paul and rachel was wonderful! They recommended us to many nice stores to eat so we had alot of good food while in hualien!

Overall, we loved it! For those who do not mind the location and wants good service, cosy rooms, i think this is a good option!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was our first stop with our taiwan trip. It's more like a "minsu" or B&B, slightly better than a hostel. We had a 2 queen beds room and it was kept clean. We reached really late (about 11.30pm) as our flight was delayed. Luckily we managed to contact the owner (B&Bs usually don't have 24 hr reception like hotels, so if your flight is delayed or you know you will reach very late, make sure to keep their number nearby) to open the door for us. Checked in and the owner very kindly explained to us about Taiwan WC (toilet) usage. Might as well say it here, any toilet / tissue paper has to be thrown into the garbage bin next to the WC, and NOT into the WC itself. We booked them for the Taroko Gorge tour as well the following day. The driver (Hao Ge) was really good and explained alot to us, and funny too. It's walking distance to Zi Qiang Night market. Wifi connection is good. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place to recharge ourselves with more than ample space for two adults per room. Owners went the extra mile to ensure our sightseeing activities went smoothly. Definitely a place to return to in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hualien Sunrise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien Sunrise Hostel

Address: No.192, Sec. 3 Zhongyang Road, Ji-an Town, Hualien 973, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 923 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hualien Sunrise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Sunrise Minsu Hotel Hualien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualien Sunrise Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.