We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice shows but limited rides” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Farglory Ocean Park

Farglory Ocean Park
No.189 Fude, Yanliao Village, Suofeng Township, Hualien, Taiwan
03-8123123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 211 things to do in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice shows but limited rides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were at the park at 11am on a weekday in early october. There are 2 sessions for most shows. The dolphin and sea lion shows were amazing and worth watching. However, we find the rides rather limited and there aren't many people in the park, it's not so exciting for the rides. Eg. For the Viking or even roller coaster, there can be instances when we were the only ones doing the rides.

It has a wonderful view of the ocean and my children (4 and 6) enjoyed the park very much. However, for the adults, it can be rather boring, apart from the shows.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    43
    23
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited the park today. We arrived about 30 minutes after opening and easily found a car park in the parking building. It was busy but not crowded (especially considering it is the first week of school summer vacation). Queues for rides were short. The longest was for the gondola, which is pointless as there are escalators going all the way to the top of the park. Food of all types is available everywhere. Rides include a small swinging pirate ship, bumper boats, small roller coaster, etc. The highlight of the park and the most popular attraction was the dolphin show. I'm not a fan of wild animals in captivity, but the crowd seemed to be enjoying it. Overall it was nothing special but something different to do. We spent about 4 hours there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An attraction worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Spent a day at Farglory Ocean Park. It closes at 5 pm. It has exhibition, aquariums, rides for children a few shows.

The souvenir shops has some interesting things and food is easily available. There are local food, Asian food, fast food and pizza.

The dolphine and sealion shows were great and well choreographed. Comparable if not better than the one at underworld world sentosa and singapore zoo, each lasting from 20 to 30 min. They also have one indoor show which presents dance, acrobat and stuns which was interesting and fun.

The rides are not new and mostly are for children. There is one that is more exciting and prepared to get splashed.

The only cons about the park is that it is built on a mountain and escalator is available for the first few level. There are some lifts but im not too sure if they are available at all levels. The flights of steps could be as high as the one at hollywood universal studio.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So so ocean park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The place is quite remote and there were very few visitors during our time there. Most of the attractions are quite old.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply amazing, highly recommend for families with young kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a blast there with our kids 3 and 5. Even my parents enjoyed themselves. We were there from 930 til 5pm and time passed so quickly when you are having fun. It was entertaining and also eduacational. We watched the dolphin and sea lion performances, took some rides, attended a talk which told you everything you ever need to know about dolphins, and watched the feeding at the aquarium etc, none of which we required queuing!!! The best part of this theme park is the spectacular scenery which we did all these. Facing the ocean pacific in front, and backed by mountains in the backdrop, it was amazing...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farglory Ocean Park also viewed

 

Been to Farglory Ocean Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farglory Ocean Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.