We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bayview

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bayview
Save
You added Hotel Bayview to your Saves list
No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Hualien
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a great getaway from Taipei at this cozy and relaxing hotel. Breakfast is decent; free bike rental with nearby ocean side bike trails; 15 minute drive from downtown/train station. Most importantly, it had a great ocean view!

Hotel also offered a great car rental deal which extended day rental to 30 hours and matched our scheduled perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    61
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
84
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were recommended to this hotel by a friend, who's been there many times. The view is simply amazing with the ocean right in front of us. We could roll out of bed a few minutes before the sunrise and watch it from the window. The hotel also provides free bicycle rental and breakfast. Service was amazing as well. Despite the hotel looking very ordinary on the outside, the rooms are clean, modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is located right next to the Pacific Ocean, cant get any better with such an affordable price. It looks simple and old from the outside, but the interiors are modern and very clean. There is a small coffee corner for guests 24hours, with coffee, tea, water and some biscuits. Simple but decent. Hotel staff picked us up from the Hua Lien trainstation so advance notice and time of arrival must be given to them. Staff are very warm and friendly, made us feel so at home. Breakfast range is not bad, ranging from Western like toasts and jams, to Chinese like porridge and fried eggs with other condiments. Though we didnt manage to get the room with a balcony, our room faces directly the ocean without any obstruction. Bathroom is also very spacious and clean. Going to town requires booking of cabs with the staff but despite waiting for 20min without any cab available, the owner Mr Lin took us to town with his own Lexus! And recommended some good eats. Bicycle rentals are free of charge and we had a good time cycling next to the coast.

The few downsides are:
Hotel should consider providing regular shuttle services to/fro town rather than booking and relying on cab availability.

Hotel can consider having ala carte meals at the dining area, instead of just breakfast.

Beds and pillows are too soft for us.

Room Tip: Get the ocean facing view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

very good service! very friendly and helpful staff! very clean rooms and toilets!
the hotel is right next to the beautiful pacific ocean and the hotel provides bicycle for you to cycle along the bike track. the bicycles were good quality too!

will defintely go back there again the next time I visit Hualien!


Room Tip: Rooms with sea view will offer gorgeous view of the beach, together with sunrise/sunset views right...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Bayview for 2 nights and i was very happy with the friendly staff. To begin, i had some problems booking the room online and i contacted the hotel via email. Juan replied to my emails promptly in English, which made things easier for me!

My room faces the Pacific Ocean and I have to say that waking up to a ocean view with the sound of waves is indeed a wonderful feeling. The room is very clean and nicely decorated as well.

I love the blue-white colour scheme that Hotel Bayview adopted which gives it a mediterranean feel. Many of the furniture and decorations of the hotel adds up to that mediterranean touch. Breakfast had a wide variety of food which are all very yummy and the decor of the breakfast area (the painting, plates and fireplace) just makes the experience of dining there even better. The 24h cafe provides free beverages and a wide selection of snacks for hungry guests.

The hotel also provided free bicycle rental which is very good for a half day cycling trip along Qixingtan. The hotel liaise with this cab driver who would give a discounted rate for cab rides. Value for money and definitely a memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We love the location because it is quiet, nearby the beach and it is an ideal starting point for a cycling trip from Hualien to Taidong. We started our cycling journey here to Changbin. The bed is good and comfortable, and hotel staffs are friendly.

Worth stay and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel has Greek/mediterranean-style decor. Interesting to look at, at least for the first time. Of course, you can pick on the details if you have actually been to Greece or Spain.

What makes this place special is the hotel staff. They are not only helpful; they truly care about you. They offer suggestions for tours and share their favorite photos. The tour guides that they recommended for us were outstanding. We went to Taroko on one day and Huadong on another with two guides/drivers. Both are very knowledgeable and really nice people.

The locale is beautiful. On our last day, we did some cycling along the seashore with the bicycles freely available from the hotel. It's a gorgeous view.

The minor inconvenience is the lack of food options in the locale. It would be great if the hotel can provide shuttle service to popular locations near the city center during the meal times. Going to the city by taxi is not really expensive. However, it is expensive compared with how much one would spend in the night markets for food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayview

Address: No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.