We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest hotel in Taiwan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bayview

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bayview
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bayview to your Saves list
No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Hualien
Georgetown, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Greatest hotel in Taiwan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Value for money for its location, facilities and service. Perfect sunrise and quiet location. You get free use of bicycles and there are plenty of them for use and also varieties. We are a family of 6 - 2 adults and 4 young children. My kids love this hotel the most. They get to cycle themselves and my 2 smaller ones are with us in the child seat. We saw fighter jets flying around. I spent 2 nites in this hotel. The hotel breakfast is the best I have in Taiwan. A varieties of them. And there is a computer room with free snacks and drinks. The biscuits are really good. Simply put, this hotel is the best value for money. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    50
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We chose to stay at Bayview due to its top rating on Tripadvisor and we must concur that it was a very clean and well-run hotel. When a time appointment was made for example for taxi, start of breakfast or transfer to the train statiion, it was met on time. That's professionalism.

What impressed us most was the free bicycle service. Most important is we were given bicycles which run properly. My family of 4 cycled the entire 11km bicycle path lining the coastline within 2 hours and we took great pictures along the way.

Breakfast is a mix of Taiwanese (porridge and condiments, steamed meat loaves, stir fried vegies etc.) and Western (scrambled eggs, chicken nugget, sausage, egg flan etc) cuisines and that suited us as the point in travelling is to discover local taste and flavor.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "mountain view" room - only type left that day and cheaper too - but we sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had a very memorable stay here at Hualien. With a room facing the sea that joins the Pacific Ocean, it was quite magical. It's also a prefect base to explore the stunning East Coast of Taiwan. The room itself isn't fantastic. But for the price, it's an absolute steal. Most importantly, it's clean and all basic facilities are decent. Remember to request for a room facing the sea, and get the top floor for an awesome view. During your time here, you should also go dolphin/whale watching. Chances of whale sightings are slim, but dolphins are pretty much guaranteed. In my experience, I witnessed 3 different types of dolphins, at the thousands! The road trip here reminded me a little of the awesome road trip I did two years back from San Francisco down Highway 1 to LA via the coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel like some of the other hotels and cafes in the same area are themed (for some unknown reason) on Santorini in Greece. The room we booked for 3 people was large with an extra bed and all blue and white in keeping with the Santorini obsession.

The bathroom was enormous with a double shower. Plenty of toiletries provided too. Very generous with water provided. There was a small balcony with something of a sea view if you peer through the other hotels blocking the view. The rest of the view was not very impressive.

All the staff were very helpful and throughtful and helped arrange taxis into town. Pick up and drop off to Hualien train station were free. We also borrowed bikes for free and cycled the path along the beach for a few hours.

The breakfast wasn’t anything special but there was enough variety to find something to eat. Free tea and coffee were available all day in the café.

There are not a lot of options for restaurants in the area by the hotel so you need to head into the city to eat really. The Lighthouse hotel and café nearby (purplebuilding) has a decent menu for snacks, tea and lunch. There is a convenience store a 2 minute walk from the Bayview.

Room Tip: Only the smaller double rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

By far the most value for money hotel we've booked for our trip in Taiwan. Our room have great view facing Qixingtan, we can just view the sunrise right from our balcony! Hospitality is great, the owner purposely arrange a transport to send us to train station, their normal arrangement was at 8am but our train to Ruifang was at 7.40am, the boss make a special arrangement to sent us there earlier at 7.10am and also pre-arrange an earlier buffet breakfast for us too! As reviewed by everyone, the food at the buffet breakfast was simple but satisfying. All their staffs are friendly, helpful and always smiling! The 24 hours cafe with snacks and drinks plus free bike rental are definitely a plus point too. It is so nice to cycle along the coast with amazing sunrise view, we did it for both the days we are there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very very nice hotel with excellent customer service. Attention are all on us upon arrival to the hotel lobby. Love the rooms, nice deco, clean and tidy. Feels 100% like you are on vacation and makes you feel so relax! It's a must to book the seaview room cos you won't regret it! I ran along the coast early in the morning while watching the sun rises! You can also get free coffee and snacks off their cafe which is open 24/7. Think you canalso borrow their bikes for free. Two words: 超赞!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We paid approximately SGD$100 per night for a room with the sea view. It overlooks the beautiful ChiSingTan which is one of the main attractions in Hualien.

The rooms were clean and rather spacious! Breakfast was provided and it was simple yet delicious local food fare.

Bicycles were also provided to visitors for free if they want to hike or trek nearby.

The only downside is as the hotel is not near the city area, there are a lack of food options to try.You can get a cab easily though but that would be extra costs incurred.

Room Tip: As the sun rise earlier in TW compared to Sg, I would encourage visitors to wake at about 6am or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayview

Address: No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.