We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for $$$, great hospitality & customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bayview

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bayview
No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for $$$, great hospitality & customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

By far the most value for money hotel we've booked for our trip in Taiwan. Our room have great view facing Qixingtan, we can just view the sunrise right from our balcony! Hospitality is great, the owner purposely arrange a transport to send us to train station, their normal arrangement was at 8am but our train to Ruifang was at 7.40am, the boss make a special arrangement to sent us there earlier at 7.10am and also pre-arrange an earlier buffet breakfast for us too! As reviewed by everyone, the food at the buffet breakfast was simple but satisfying. All their staffs are friendly, helpful and always smiling! The 24 hours cafe with snacks and drinks plus free bike rental are definitely a plus point too. It is so nice to cycle along the coast with amazing sunrise view, we did it for both the days we are there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    47
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very very nice hotel with excellent customer service. Attention are all on us upon arrival to the hotel lobby. Love the rooms, nice deco, clean and tidy. Feels 100% like you are on vacation and makes you feel so relax! It's a must to book the seaview room cos you won't regret it! I ran along the coast early in the morning while watching the sun rises! You can also get free coffee and snacks off their cafe which is open 24/7. Think you canalso borrow their bikes for free. Two words: 超赞!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We paid approximately SGD$100 per night for a room with the sea view. It overlooks the beautiful ChiSingTan which is one of the main attractions in Hualien.

The rooms were clean and rather spacious! Breakfast was provided and it was simple yet delicious local food fare.

Bicycles were also provided to visitors for free if they want to hike or trek nearby.

The only downside is as the hotel is not near the city area, there are a lack of food options to try.You can get a cab easily though but that would be extra costs incurred.

Room Tip: As the sun rise earlier in TW compared to Sg, I would encourage visitors to wake at about 6am or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

ChiSingTan is famous for its beach and stone shape. So near the beach is the key point for us to choose a hotel. Hotel Bayview is just in front of the beach, just 3-5 mins to walk there, you could also take a seaview bike tour, hotel provide bicycle to guests free of charge. We booked a honeymoon room, which balcony and bathtub is included, very comfortable experience.

One thing shall be mentioned: there is a Airbase nearby, so when we stay in the hotel, the airplane from this base back and forth several times for exercise. But after 8pm, there will be no more noise and will not influence your sleep at all.

And hotel is not closed to downtown, but pick up service at the train station is provided with advance appointment. If the night market is not the must visit place for you, that would be very nice to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Bayview Hotel is just mins away from the beautiful beach and if you get the right rooms, you do get a full sea view. It's pretty much rural and there are limited options in terms of activities. We booked a cab to travel around and to town.

Travelling by cab to town cost approximately NT$230-NT$250 one way. If the hotel booked a cab for you to town there is a discount given by the cabby and we paid only NT$175.

Travelling to Taroko Mountain (cost NT$3,000) and ChiKe Mountain (NT$4,000) can be arranged by the front desk staffs of Bayview. They got us a really good driver. Do take note that prices quoted by the hotel are good for per trip of 8hours but that doesn't cover other areas if you intend to travel to other parts of HuaLien during that 8hours. It's only meant for that particular trip. So we paid NT$7,000 for one day tour to both mountains from 10:30am to 9:00pm.

Hotel was awesome and the things we loved about it are:

The room is extremely clean and well-kept. We stayed for 2 nights and when the housekeeping was done on the 2nd day, the hotel was pretty generous in their replenishment of the room supplies given in the room (not that we use them often).

Bed was excellent. It's not too soft to the extend that your partner gets awakened during the night if you twist and turn around a lot (which i do) and not too hard that you get body aches. It's the right size for us too (king-size). I think the pillows provided are feather type and the quilt is clean and good. There is a day bed which we didn't use and it's facing the sea. Most people may want to use it for sky-watching.

It has a paranomic 180deg unblock sea view. We stayed on the 5th floor (the highest) and sea view is the best from this level. Do try to get one either on the 4th or 5th floor.

Toilet is good size and the shower area is good. It also comes with a rain shower and the tiles looked like they had been changed quite recently. Very clean grouting too. Doesn't irk me like most hotels. It comes with a bathtub and it's see through from the bedroom. However, there is a electronic shower curtain which you can operate to close up the toilet. Water pressure is very strong and the supply of hot water is consistent and stable unlike some intermittent ones.

There is a balcony and you can step out for some fresh air although it's a little small and tight.

There were many tv channels available to choose from ranging from local taiwanese programmes to HBO and chinese movies.

Front desk staffs were all extremely friendly and helpful just like most Taiwanese we met in Taiwan. If you have any request, be certain that they will definitely deliver it.

The cafe/pantry next to the reception is open 24/7 and the hotel provides coffee, tea, basic drinks and biscuits FOC for all the guests.

There is a 'Family Mart' just 1-2mins from the hotel which is pretty much like a 'Seven-Eleven'. You can get your basic stuffs there. There are also 2 restaurants. One is just directly opposite the Family Mart and the other requires a little walking of 3-5mins. It's not cheap to eat there either and eating in Taipei food court is definitely cheaper. Per dish cost you NT$150-NT$300 and this is just one type (i.e. fried fish, cooked pork, steamed vegetables). An assorted meal in Taipei foodcourt is probably between NT$139-NT$300.



However, the things we didn't quite like:

The distance to town is a little far and every time you want to travel downtown it cost quite a bit. I can understand this as their cabs are running on petrol and not diesel. Petrol cost NT$34.50 per litre (S$1.54 approx.).

There are very limited options for food/meals in that area and I'm a heavy meat-eater (chicken and pork) and I find it very difficult to satisfy my thirst with the extremely limited options available. No options of western cuisine like pork chop or chicken chop. So go for the country's recommended countryside dish. Some of them taste quite good actually.

Same issue, no room service (food/meals served in the room) and the only meal provided is breakfast. Sad to say, we had long days during our trip scaling heights and climbing mountains so we couldn't wake up in time for breakfast which is served between 7am to 9am. For most hotels in cities, breakfast usually up to 10am or 10:30am which is good for us.

No complaints at all on the hotel, staffs, and everything except the curtains. There are some stains on it which surprised me. Hotel of this grade and such ratings should have better curtains isn't it? Look at my pictures to get a better idea.


One other thing which I'm pretty neutral about. There's really nothing much to do after you're back in the hotel at night and I really mean NOTHING. The sea and sky is pitch black, nothing for you to admire. Shops are closed. Town is far (we were told shops in town and night market open 5-6pm onwards till late) and if you intend to stay back, there is no lounge to drink and listen to music and nowhere else you can go (to our knowledge). So take this time to relax and watch some tv (the only thing you can do) and if you have your laptop with you, it's time to take it out. Good time to rest and recuperate.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the high floor with a nice sea view and must be at least from the 4th floor. The high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is just by the beach, which I can say is the nearest hotel to the beach as compared to the surrounding hotels. However, the place is quite some distance from the town centre, where you need to get transport to the local night market/ city area. Anyway, I guarantee that you will love to spend a day or two at the hotel and cycling around the areas. There is also a 24-hour convenient shop nearby.
I love the room design, which give you a very welcoming and comfortable feel and indeed we have quality sleep here.
What I love the hotel is the complimentary services that they provide, which include 24-hour supply of coffee, tea ans snacks; bicycle; shuttle service. The breakfast served is nice with ample of choices, from local cuisine to western.
Staff are friendly and they attend to your request at once and provide very useful info on our enquiry. We also book the whale watching package from the hotel, which is much cheaper from what we had surveyed online.

Room Tip: Book room with sea view where you can just watch the sun rise from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The owner of this hotel has done everything to make it stand out for guests. Fully fluent in English, he will go out of his way to help with whatever he can. The rooms are incredibly clean and nicely appointed and the view on the sea is outstanding. There is a 24 hour coffee and cookie room which is a lovely touch especially for those who get up early. The bikes are free and staff are all friendly and helpful.

A restaurant would be a lovely addition to this hotel but we had a nice dinner at the "Western" restaurant down the beach.

We spent a lovely night and day at the Bayview. I am not sure how much time one could stay here, but there is a lot of exploring to do on bike, on foot and it is certainly a lovely get away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayview

Address: No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bayview to your Saves list