We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bayview

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bayview
Save
You added Hotel Bayview to your Saves list
No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As with every other traveler there, I have to give the Hotel Bayview in Hualien top marks in every category. It's simply the best!

The hotel sits in what appears to be a sleepy little fishing village (at least during off-season it was sleepy -- I imagine in the summer months it gets a bit busier), with a huge expanse of ocean and beach and rocky points just steps away from the hotel for you to explore. Avail yourself of one of the hotel's complimentary bikes and go for a ride along the coast in either direction -- it's a great place for a little romance or a little adventure.

The hotel is very efficiently run and the staff was incredibly helpful, friendly and knowledgeable -- Tony and Juan in particular. Any requests we made, whether for train station pick up, extra pillows, recommendations for places to eat and sights to see, or help in arranging drivers for day trips -- they took care of them immediately, and with great attention to detail. They both communicate very easily in English.

The hotel decor is charming, and the guest rooms were quite delightful with their brilliant white, Greek island-themed appearance. The rooms with sea views are especially charming (and in high demand, so book early if you're traveling during the busy season).

Everything was spotlessly clean, of course.

There is a wonderful sun deck on the roof, which appears to have a very nice hot tub, though it was not in use while we stayed there as it was still early in the year and somewhat chilly. But even still, it was a great spot to take in the view or enjoy the sunset.

The prices for standard rooms were excellent, especially for such a nice hotel. If you have a little larger budget and if there is availability, I strongly recommend getting a room with a sea view and a balcony, especially the family suites. You won't regret the choice, and the prices are still more than reasonable.

We hope to make it back to Hualien one day, and if we do we will definitely be staying at the Bayview again. I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, especially one with a balcony. Get a suite if you can. One of the top floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    63
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is a hotel right beside the Hualien coastline so the scenery is really beautiful and the cheapest room is only 2500TWD per night.
You can request for pickup from the airport or train station by email-ing them in advance and it is free of charge.
The hotel staff are constantly smiling and willing to explain the surroundings of hualien to you. They will recommend some tours to your like Taroko trip, river tracing, whales & dolphins watching. There is also a cafe whereby you can have some snacks and coffee/tea for free.
The room is wonderful. The balcony faces the sea, a large room and toilet.
Even though the hotel is not in the city, you can hire a cab at around 170TWD from the hotel to the city and Ziqiang night market. The cab ride is around 15 minutes.
Do stay here even if the hotel is not in the city because you can enjoy the scenery of Hualien.

Room Tip: Do watch the sunrise/sunset from your balcony. It is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in April on a last minute trip to Hualien. Although we called in the morning, the hotel had the honeymoon suite for us for the first night, and switched us to a family room for the second night. We were picked up at the train station and driven to the hotel (about 20 mins).

Juan at the front desk was incredibly welcoming. He arranged a tour guide for us for the morning to visit taroko gorge and pointed us in the right direction for good coffee and food in the city.The hotel is right on the beach with a fabulous bike trail and free bike rental in the lobby. A great little hotel. Definitely understand why they get raving reviews. Would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: definitely worth the splurge on a room with a balcony. the sea views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Travelled with husband as part of our 3rd year anniversary last Dec. Booked the VIP double suite for a total of 3D2N. A llittle far from the main town, but we came to Hualien for the sole purpose of visiting the Taroko Gorge (which they can help to book. just need to ask the staff). The staff there are very friendly and helpful.

The decor of the place / room gives ppl a very peaceful feeling and the winter breeze that blows into the room is just soooo wonderful! Can easily spend half a day sitting outside the balony, enjoying hot drinks/food and the lovely beach!

They also offer free bicycle rentals (which we made use of) to tour around the lovely beach.

We had a wonderful experience there and hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were supposed to travel down from Hualien to another city.
But the moment we arrived at our hotel location and got our room, we changed our minds!
This hotel is awesome! I love the rooms!
Service is great, owner is friendly and the Cabby-Tourguide uncle is fantastic!
Definitely a must-stay if you ever go to Hualien!

Am looking forward to another trip to Taiwan, Hualien and staying at this very hotel! ^___^

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is located quite a distance from the town and the 2 popular night market. But it is near the famous chisingtang beach. Highly recommend for those who want a stress free stay and also who loves beach/seaside. I book the room with ocean view. Without balcony. Room have all the necessary facilities and amenities. Even have a small bath tub too. They serve breakfast in the morning. You can have drinks (water/tea/coffee) at the coffee house which is open 24hours.

Staff are helpful and provide excellent service. They have the services to fetch you from the train station when you arrive. The car is a Lexus GS :) They even help us to call for a taxi for us to go to the nightmarket in the evening. You will have additional discount on the fares. There is a family mart within 5minutes walking distances out of the hotel. And also a restaurant offering lots of food which i didnt manage to try.

You can use the bicycle as well in the evening. Cycling along the beach enjoying the view and breeze towards chisingtang beach.

I will definitely return for a second stay if I visit Hualien again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

First visited October 2012 with my then girlfriend. Proposed here at Hotel Bayview and prewedding brought my entire family from Australia to Hualien. Juan was amazing - just took the extra time to get to know everyone, took care of the kids that were travelling with us, showed us where to go to eat, he booked us coach at the last minute for a day tour of Taroko Gorge (19 of us) and was simply amazingly hospitable.

I simply cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Sea views a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
13.7 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#2 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
3.7 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#3 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
4.0 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#10 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
3.9 mi away
Arsma Hotel
Arsma Hotel
#7 of 116 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayview

Address: No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.