We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Asian hotels that I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bayview

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bayview
No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best Asian hotels that I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is a hotel right beside the Hualien coastline so the scenery is really beautiful and the cheapest room is only 2500TWD per night.
You can request for pickup from the airport or train station by email-ing them in advance and it is free of charge.
The hotel staff are constantly smiling and willing to explain the surroundings of hualien to you. They will recommend some tours to your like Taroko trip, river tracing, whales & dolphins watching. There is also a cafe whereby you can have some snacks and coffee/tea for free.
The room is wonderful. The balcony faces the sea, a large room and toilet.
Even though the hotel is not in the city, you can hire a cab at around 170TWD from the hotel to the city and Ziqiang night market. The cab ride is around 15 minutes.
Do stay here even if the hotel is not in the city because you can enjoy the scenery of Hualien.

Room Tip: Do watch the sunrise/sunset from your balcony. It is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    47
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in April on a last minute trip to Hualien. Although we called in the morning, the hotel had the honeymoon suite for us for the first night, and switched us to a family room for the second night. We were picked up at the train station and driven to the hotel (about 20 mins).

Juan at the front desk was incredibly welcoming. He arranged a tour guide for us for the morning to visit taroko gorge and pointed us in the right direction for good coffee and food in the city.The hotel is right on the beach with a fabulous bike trail and free bike rental in the lobby. A great little hotel. Definitely understand why they get raving reviews. Would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: definitely worth the splurge on a room with a balcony. the sea views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Travelled with husband as part of our 3rd year anniversary last Dec. Booked the VIP double suite for a total of 3D2N. A llittle far from the main town, but we came to Hualien for the sole purpose of visiting the Taroko Gorge (which they can help to book. just need to ask the staff). The staff there are very friendly and helpful.

The decor of the place / room gives ppl a very peaceful feeling and the winter breeze that blows into the room is just soooo wonderful! Can easily spend half a day sitting outside the balony, enjoying hot drinks/food and the lovely beach!

They also offer free bicycle rentals (which we made use of) to tour around the lovely beach.

We had a wonderful experience there and hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were supposed to travel down from Hualien to another city.
But the moment we arrived at our hotel location and got our room, we changed our minds!
This hotel is awesome! I love the rooms!
Service is great, owner is friendly and the Cabby-Tourguide uncle is fantastic!
Definitely a must-stay if you ever go to Hualien!

Am looking forward to another trip to Taiwan, Hualien and staying at this very hotel! ^___^

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is located quite a distance from the town and the 2 popular night market. But it is near the famous chisingtang beach. Highly recommend for those who want a stress free stay and also who loves beach/seaside. I book the room with ocean view. Without balcony. Room have all the necessary facilities and amenities. Even have a small bath tub too. They serve breakfast in the morning. You can have drinks (water/tea/coffee) at the coffee house which is open 24hours.

Staff are helpful and provide excellent service. They have the services to fetch you from the train station when you arrive. The car is a Lexus GS :) They even help us to call for a taxi for us to go to the nightmarket in the evening. You will have additional discount on the fares. There is a family mart within 5minutes walking distances out of the hotel. And also a restaurant offering lots of food which i didnt manage to try.

You can use the bicycle as well in the evening. Cycling along the beach enjoying the view and breeze towards chisingtang beach.

I will definitely return for a second stay if I visit Hualien again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

First visited October 2012 with my then girlfriend. Proposed here at Hotel Bayview and prewedding brought my entire family from Australia to Hualien. Juan was amazing - just took the extra time to get to know everyone, took care of the kids that were travelling with us, showed us where to go to eat, he booked us coach at the last minute for a day tour of Taroko Gorge (19 of us) and was simply amazingly hospitable.

I simply cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Sea views a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I highly recommend anyone going to Taiwan to head down to Hualien and stay at Hotel Bayview.

While it is located outside the city centre, there was a restaurant located near the hotel that is open at night and offers unique dishes such as the mambo fish (we quite enjoyed their beancurd dish 红烧豆腐), and the nearby beach makes it a very peaceful place to stay at. Booking a taxi can also be done easily through the hotel which works regularly with the taxi drivers. The hotel has a free pick-up service until 8PM. As we arrived later than that, we arranged with the hotel to book a cab to pick us up, and it cost about NTD200. We also booked a taxi through the hotel to tour taroko gorge. Go early to avoid the buses and buses of Chinese tourists.

The staff at Hotel Bayview are friendly and helpful. We had issues with booking a train back to Taipei and Juan went out of his way to help us book an express train of our preferred timing (Thank you Juan!). As we booked two different rooms for two nights, the staff also arranged to move our luggage from the first room to the second one while we were out on the tour.

The rooms (both mountain-view and ocean-view) are comfortable and clean, and breakfast is decent. Make sure to set aside time to rent a free bicycle from the hotel and cycle along the beach! (: The beach isn't for swimming though; the currents are pretty strong and accidents have happened before. There are coast guards stationed near the hotel to make sure no one goes too far out.

All in all, it is a great getaway from the city life. (:

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayview

Address: No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien 971, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bayview to your Saves list