We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and five-star room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Classic City Resort

Save Saved
You added Classic City Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Classic City Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.139 Guolian 5th Road, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 hotels in Hualien
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and five-star room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this hotel due to price, good review, and great location close to train station. Here are pros and cons:
Pros:
1. 5-min walk to the Hualien train station
2. Clean and very nice room that rivals any 5-star hotel room
3. Decent breakfast

Cons:
NONE!

This hotel remains a local hotel where you won't have concierge and the staff's English is limited but the staff is very nice and friendly.

We hired a driver named San-Wu Yeh to drive us to Taroko Gorge on the first day and Shitiping on the following day. His rate is very competitive and he went all out to make sure we have a good time in Hualien area. He also acted as our guide and even walked us through Shitiping which saves us a lot of time wondering by ourselves. His number is 0978-112180 in case you wanna tour around Hualien without the hassle of waiting for the buses or taxis.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

新飯店總是比較好. New one is always better. 飯店外觀漂亮. Appearance is good. 折扣後的刷卡房價合理,即使未預訂. The discounted room rate by credit card is acceptable, even without reservation. Tripadvisor其他旅客的評論房間太小是真實的,是因為他們可能訂了最便宜的房間,USD$85. People say the room is small and that is truth if they chose the cheapest room. 如果"精緻雙人房 (Deluxe Suite)"住一個人以上確實太小。It is small for a couple in its cheapest room. 該旅館網站的照片為真實. The pictures on its website is true. 大一點的房間會貴. Larger room is expensive. 旅館位置位於主要大街. The location is at the main street. 方便飲食、購物、與洗衣店. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and loundry location. 大廳氣派. Lobby is good. 沒遇到吵雜的旅遊團. No lousy crowd. 寢具高級. bedding and pillow is good. 歐舒丹沐浴乳. L'OCCITANE shower gel. 房間插頭夠. Electric sockets are more than enough. 空調很好,房間與走道都有. The air condition is good in rooms and corridor. 停車場位於飯店旁邊的空地. The parking lot is beside the building. 正規飯店. A regular choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our tour organizer suggested this hotel at the end of a 5D4N private tour from Taipei> SunMoon Lake >Cingjing >Taroko Gorge > Hualien. We were a group of 9, two families travelling together.

Pros:
Modern and fairly new.
Decent size room (Family room, 2 queen beds) with large bathroom.
Free wifi everywhere
Shops and restaurants nearby : A few convenience stores nearby. We ate at a local seafood restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. It's about 15-20 minute drive to the night market in Hualien.
Service was very prompt.

There are no "cons" really if you are looking for a reasonably priced, fairly new hotel to spend one night in a convenient location. It is smallish, does not have any views or facilities such as swimming pool. There is one restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked this hotel through Agoda.com. Was not one of the cheaper options but we decided to go with it since the photos of the rooms looked decent and we wanted something a little above average. Turned out, hotel room was smaller than expected (as small as those boutique hotel rooms in Taipei). The double bed we booked turned out to be 2 super single beds pushed together; huge no doubt, but hardly comfortable. Check-in was very quick, settled within 2 minutes. Unfortunately, the staff, though polite, lacked warmth. It seemed the hotel was experiencing low occupancy as we only spotted 4 other hotel guests during breakfast and did not see anyone else throughout our stay. Breakfast included in the room package was a joke. Hot water was adequate. No rack to place luggage in the room. No in-room safe either. Items had to be left at the reception for safe-keeping if required. However, beware, the staff may not be too pleased if you have to access your safe-kept belongings daily. Got a room with an awful view of the hotel next door that was under construction. We were supposed to catch the 2 pm train to Taipei and asked for a late check out at 1.30 pm (standard check-out time was 12 noon). Despite the low hotel occupancy, the front desk staff refused to allow a late check-out at no cost. Such inflexibility. Free transportation was offered to take us to the train station (2-min drive) upon departure, which probably earned the hotel the 3rd star. Don't think we will be staying there again. There are many alternative accommodations available in Hualien.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay there, ask for a room NOT facing the hotel next door that is under constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I went for Free and easy trip to visit Hualien. The staffs were friendly and v.helpful. Initially we were quite lost as to where to go ... But we know our main motive is to visit Taroko Gorge n the rest of the 2days were pretty empty schedule. We approached the receptionist counter and they were helpful. They have their tour schedule to Tarogo Gorge and they arrange taxi for us. They managed to give us clear direction and I find that my first free and easy trip was so smooth. Feel that there are always little angels around us directing the ways. Hardly get lost.. Coz the ppl were friendly. It gave us good impressions and their services were great. During the last day, we were so forgetful that we almost left our passports at Hualien.luckily we took a cab to the train station. N in the cab, the cab was called back as the reception counter lady told us we lacked something behind. Thanks to them,if not we would have taken cab n went back to Taipei. This would then disrupt our schedule. Really thankful for them... This hotel provided services more than a home. Really considerate .... I love them. If I am going back Hualien, will definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff were friendly and efficient. We asked about the location and they arranged a pick up. My friend lost a IPhone and the staff made a call and connected the person. A free delivery was again arranged for us to get the phone. Since we arrived the place late, and the staff could arrange a tour immediately which save our time.
The room was big and tidy. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel before arrival and they can make arrangement for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Netherlands
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is near the train station (5 min walk), the rooms are normally sized and have free wifi (no code needed). The floor was a non-smoking floor. But in the morning you could really smell the sigarette smoke in the bathroom :-(, probably the bathroom is used as smoking room...
The bikes in front of the hotel are for free, these are very simple. Bikes for daytrips can be rented at the Giant shop near the station. If you want to go to the city center, it is recommended to use the bikes, otherwise it is long walk! In the area around the hotel are some shops (7 eleven/family mart) and some small restaurants. In the city center are more restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Classic City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic City Resort

Address: No.139 Guolian 5th Road, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic City Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Classic City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic City Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.