We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Classic City Resort

Save Saved
You added Classic City Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Classic City Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.139 Guolian 5th Road, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 100 hotels in Hualien
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Small Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our tour organizer suggested this hotel at the end of a 5D4N private tour from Taipei> SunMoon Lake >Cingjing >Taroko Gorge > Hualien. We were a group of 9, two families travelling together.

Pros:
Modern and fairly new.
Decent size room (Family room, 2 queen beds) with large bathroom.
Free wifi everywhere
Shops and restaurants nearby : A few convenience stores nearby. We ate at a local seafood restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. It's about 15-20 minute drive to the night market in Hualien.
Service was very prompt.

There are no "cons" really if you are looking for a reasonably priced, fairly new hotel to spend one night in a convenient location. It is smallish, does not have any views or facilities such as swimming pool. There is one restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked this hotel through Agoda.com. Was not one of the cheaper options but we decided to go with it since the photos of the rooms looked decent and we wanted something a little above average. Turned out, hotel room was smaller than expected (as small as those boutique hotel rooms in Taipei). The double bed we booked turned out to be 2 super single beds pushed together; huge no doubt, but hardly comfortable. Check-in was very quick, settled within 2 minutes. Unfortunately, the staff, though polite, lacked warmth. It seemed the hotel was experiencing low occupancy as we only spotted 4 other hotel guests during breakfast and did not see anyone else throughout our stay. Breakfast included in the room package was a joke. Hot water was adequate. No rack to place luggage in the room. No in-room safe either. Items had to be left at the reception for safe-keeping if required. However, beware, the staff may not be too pleased if you have to access your safe-kept belongings daily. Got a room with an awful view of the hotel next door that was under construction. We were supposed to catch the 2 pm train to Taipei and asked for a late check out at 1.30 pm (standard check-out time was 12 noon). Despite the low hotel occupancy, the front desk staff refused to allow a late check-out at no cost. Such inflexibility. Free transportation was offered to take us to the train station (2-min drive) upon departure, which probably earned the hotel the 3rd star. Don't think we will be staying there again. There are many alternative accommodations available in Hualien.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay there, ask for a room NOT facing the hotel next door that is under constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I went for Free and easy trip to visit Hualien. The staffs were friendly and v.helpful. Initially we were quite lost as to where to go ... But we know our main motive is to visit Taroko Gorge n the rest of the 2days were pretty empty schedule. We approached the receptionist counter and they were helpful. They have their tour schedule to Tarogo Gorge and they arrange taxi for us. They managed to give us clear direction and I find that my first free and easy trip was so smooth. Feel that there are always little angels around us directing the ways. Hardly get lost.. Coz the ppl were friendly. It gave us good impressions and their services were great. During the last day, we were so forgetful that we almost left our passports at Hualien.luckily we took a cab to the train station. N in the cab, the cab was called back as the reception counter lady told us we lacked something behind. Thanks to them,if not we would have taken cab n went back to Taipei. This would then disrupt our schedule. Really thankful for them... This hotel provided services more than a home. Really considerate .... I love them. If I am going back Hualien, will definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff were friendly and efficient. We asked about the location and they arranged a pick up. My friend lost a IPhone and the staff made a call and connected the person. A free delivery was again arranged for us to get the phone. Since we arrived the place late, and the staff could arrange a tour immediately which save our time.
The room was big and tidy. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel before arrival and they can make arrangement for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Netherlands
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is near the train station (5 min walk), the rooms are normally sized and have free wifi (no code needed). The floor was a non-smoking floor. But in the morning you could really smell the sigarette smoke in the bathroom :-(, probably the bathroom is used as smoking room...
The bikes in front of the hotel are for free, these are very simple. Bikes for daytrips can be rented at the Giant shop near the station. If you want to go to the city center, it is recommended to use the bikes, otherwise it is long walk! In the area around the hotel are some shops (7 eleven/family mart) and some small restaurants. In the city center are more restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We arrived Hualien @ 1146 hrs by train from Badu Station (15 mins from Keelung) and was waiting in the pouring rain (courtesy of Typhoon Nanmadol) for our driver from Silks Place Taroko Hotel to fetch us. We were about to set off for the 1 hr ride to Taroko Gorge when the driver received a call from the hotel that due to a landslide, the road to Taroko is deemed inaccessible and that our room for the night will be cancelled.

Silks Place's reservation manager kindly offered the service of their driver to help us find alternative accommodation in Hualien and he suggested that we have a look at the rooms at Classic City Resort (about 5 mins drive to Hualien Train Station). He explained our plight to the front desk staff and we were shown a standard and a suite room. Both rooms are very nice and comparable to a 5 star hotel rooms. We decided on the suite room @ NT$3900 nett inclusive of breakfast. Room 507 is spacious. Amenities in the bathroom are from L'Occitane.

Although the front desk staff do not speak English, they are very friendly & helpful and gave us very good suggestions for lunch and dinner. We had a very good dinner @ Pai Yuan Guolian Seafood Restaurant, located around the right corner of the hotel & about 5 mins walk. It is located on No. 17 Guo Lian 2 Road. The restaurant is brightly lit with golden lanterns. We ordered a Hualien speciality called Mambo fish fried with lily bulbs, steamed fresh prawns served with soy sauce & wasabi, oyster egg and seasonal wild vegetables. Dinner for two of us costs NT$580. This dinner was clearly the highlight of all the meals we had in Taiwan.

The disappointment of not being able to travel to Taroko Gorge was somehow compensated by this wonderful meal. Classic City Resort was a haven for us though it rained throughout our stay. However, we were not dampened by the rain but felt it was a blessing in disguise! They also offered us a free lift to the train station the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband & I were travelling with his brother and family (including wife and two young children). They live in Kaohsiung and made the reservations for us (residents/locals have access to discounts). We were in Hualien to visit Taroko Gorge. The hotel was gorgeous! The service was amazing! The location was close to the bus station, which delivered us to Taroko the next morning. We only stayed one night here, arriving late in the day, so we didn't get to explore Hualien too much. The breakfast provided by the hotel was very good and offered plenty of options. The room was pretty big and the bathroom was really nice. They provided us with connecting rooms and free mochi, which Hualien is reknowned for. We had a very comfortable night here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Classic City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic City Resort

Address: No.139 Guolian 5th Road, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 100 hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic City Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Hualien train station, a quiet urban tranquility lets you experience the energy of Hualien but yet feeling free and relaxed. Fashionable European designs completed with friendly and attentive services, completing your home away from home experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Classic City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic City Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.