We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lige Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lige Hotel to your Saves list
Lige Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.258 Shang Shiao Street, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Hualien
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Don't let the exterior of the hotel fool you as its interior is really nice. The service from its staff are warm and friendly. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The internet in this hotel is really good. The area around the hotel is okay with its F&Bs, convenience store, boutique shops and pharmacy. We took a cab to the train station the next day when we checked out and the fare is only NTW100.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jesselton, Sabah, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my family at May 2013 before going to next destination, Taitung. The hotel's location was good, you can find everything nearby such as convenient store, eateries, phone shop and boutique shops.

Staffs were friendly and helpful. After we checked in, we were escorted to our room, and here I love the spacious room! There were two bathrooms in our room and both quite small. Bed was comfortable throughout the night.

Breakfast at the hotel's cafe was nice. Love the their Taiwan sausage style!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Good
----------
- Hotel is easy relatively easy to walk to (abt 15mins).
- They have shuttle service which needs to be pre-arranged (I did not know about this service initially), but is only available from 9am to 10pm if I remember correctly. Anyway cab fare between the hotel and train station is only 100NT. If you need a cab to get to the train station early (before 9am), you can ask the staff at the front-desk to call for a cab.
- Check in time is around 3pm but the hotel staff will help to store your luggages until check-in time.
- Staff are polite and always ready to help with your stay at the hotel.
- Room is spacious, clean and neat, and comes with a refrigerator.
- Bathroom doesn't not have a bathtub, but they have the shower set with massaging nozzle instead.
- Breakfast is not the best but good enough for me. The breakfast consists of both local food and western food.
- Zi-Qiang night market ( 自强) is just about 15-20mins walk from the hotel.

The Bad
Actually can't think of anything bad except just the followings which are just some minor improvements...
- install hooks for hanging clothings and/or towels in the bathroom.
- place more hangers in the wardrobe.
- improve wi-fi connectivity (wi-fi doesn't work since I moved my smartphone to the bed)
- place the tea table near an AC outlet so that the electric kettle can be plugged in without needing to move the kettle to an AC outlet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms at the Lige hotel. We asked for non smoking rooms. One was almost perfect, it was ahuge double bedroom with a shower room. The only thing we could blame on was that a deeper clean in the bathroom would have been necessary because there was some mold in the bathroom. The other bedroom was a family room where we wanted to stay with our 5-month old daughter. The room was not a non smoking room, it has just been deodorized for our stay but not enough unfortunately. It still smelled of cold tobacco and this was really not appropriate for our daughter to stay in there. Luckily we had the second room because the hotel was fully booked so no chance to change. Also for the people travelling with a small baby, please acknowledge that there is no bathtub only showers. In the 2 rooms that we had and the other rooms in the corridor in which I could see the bathroom from outside.
Breakfast was Chinese guests oriented which we don't mind. It was more the quality and freshness of the food that worries me. My mum took hot soy milk and it was sour. We had to help ourselves with coffee creamer in a big jar but there was no serving spoon, god knows what other guests used to help themselves.
We would stay at the Lige hotel because it is good enough quality with regards to money but we would bring a small cleaning kit for the bathroom, insist on the fact that we need a real non smoking room, have breakfast outside of the hotel and bring an inflatable bathtub for our daughter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Although there is no wifi in the room, the good news is that the room is spacious and clean. Wifi is only available at the lobby. You will see many people wearing tee shirt and shorts sitting at the lobby with their mobile phones, accessing the internet. The room is decent with a jacuzzi-style shower head. The hotel is located next to the main road so finding places to eat or to walk around is not an issue. Staff are generally friendly and would greet you whenever you pass by the reception area. Breakfast food is standard and nothing worth mentioning, TV in the room is small but the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour for one night. It's located quite close to the shopping district of hualien, roughly 15minutes walk time. However, taking a taxi from the hotel is probably smarter and will only cost you not more than 120NTD. The rooms are humongous, very modern with LCD TVs. The toilet is very well maintained and is comparable to one of a 5star hotel. Bath tubs are large though not all rooms come with bathtubs. One downside to this hotel is that there is no in room wifi available and free wifi is only available at the lobby. There are computers for Internet access at no cost at the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed here as part of our tour itinerary for a night. Not sure how much it would cost per night since the accommodation was already included as part of the tour. The hotel is well-maintained, and I supposed lots and lots of tours (both international and local - incl student trips) book in this hotel as we met many of them. So it could be very crowded at times, and the use of the lifts is not so recommended during the peak-time unless you want to get stuck waiting for 10mins lift. The night we stayed in, it was fully booked. I assumed the room price should be very reasonable considering the big crowd. The room we stayed was big & clean with two twin-beds (super single) plus LCD TV, it was bright and cozy with a nice shower. The beds were comfy and we had a good night sleep after a long day tour. The breakfast was ok, not much of a variety and food wasn’t especially good; but it was served in a restaurant with garden setting and outdoor patio, overall the environment was good. I can't tell how the location of this hotel is as we were too tired to explore around, though we heard there's not much around from our tour mates who managed to take a walk. Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay here (after a few not-so-good nights in other budget hotels during our tour in Taiwan), and would recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lige Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lige Hotel

Address: No.258 Shang Shiao Street, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lige Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operating a 24-hour front desk, Lige Hotel is conveniently situated within a 5-minute walk from Hualien Train Station. It offers comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi access and provides complimentary parking on site.The hotel is just a 5-minute drive to Harbour Park, while Hualien Airport is approximately a 15-minute drive away.Air-conditioned rooms are furnished with a flat-screen cable TV, a minibar, tea/coffee making facilities and seating area. The en suite bathroom comes with shower and free bath amenities.Lige Hotel has a tour desk that can assist with bookings of sightseeing excursions and travel arrangements. Luggage storage, meeting/banqueting facilities and fax/photocopying services are provided on request. A business centre is also available.The hotel houses a restaurant serving buffet breakfast, coffee and a range of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Lige Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lige Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.