We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amigos Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amigos Hostel to your Saves list
Amigos Hostel
No.68 Guolian Second Road, Hualian, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice little hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Only stayed here for one night, because of the Taroko national park and it was nice.
It is a small hostel wich makes it a good place to meet other travellers. The location is only 5-10 min walk from the trainstation and bus to Taroko park. You will get a map of the area with (really) cheap place to eat. The toilet/shower was clean. the room was ok. You can rent a locker wich are just outside the room. There is one computer and wifi for free. Also free tea and coffee and a sandwich in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just had a couple of nights here at this hostel. Five minutes walk from the station no more. Clean rooms and good showers.all staff chock full of help and more than willing to give advice on everything from where to eat to where to go and how to get there. Totally recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had only one night at Amigos hostel during our 4 day stay in Taiwan and found the hostel to be clean, in a good location and comfortable. It's literally a 5 min walk from the station and close to places to rent motorbikes, convenience stores and restaurants. The room was small but decent and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was coffee and a sandwich which was a welcome change from the copious amounts of toast one eats when traveling. The décor reminded me of being in Spain in a beach-front bar which was quite funny. The guys on reception were exceptionally helpful in recommending good places to go, rent bikes and tour Toroko Gorge (tip: do it on bikes, it's cheaper and better than a bus. Easy to find and you can do it at your own pace). The only downside I'll mention was that the air-con is not turned on in the rooms until 9pm. This is in an effort to save energy, which I understand. Although it wasn't a problem for us, I thought I'd mention it in the review in case this is important to visitors. Would stay again due to location and helpfulness of staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Lo, 50
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Well situated (5-10 min walk from the train station, 5-10 min walk from a great great great dumpling place), nice staff, good real coffee, clean and comfy bed and showers! the atmosphere down there is nice, it feels good hanging around there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice location near the train station, nice hostel, modern dorms, clean, good atmosphere. Friendly staff who gave me help to plan a trip to Taroko national park and a suggestion about renting a scooter. I stayed there just 1 night but it was a pleasant staying. Going to hualien was worth, I had a nice trip there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed 2 nights in this hostel during Chinese New Year. The location is great; about 5 minute walk from the Hualien train station. It's not in the busiest part of town which was nice for a quieter night's sleep. The hostel itself has a very laid-back surfer feel to it. Nice reception and lounge area that serves snacks and drinks. Small but tasty sandwiches and tea and coffee are included for breakfast every morning.
The rooms are basic backpacker style bunk rooms but not too small, which tends to be a common theme in Taiwan. The beds were surprisingly comfy and the rooms and bathrooms kept very clean. The only worry that I may have was that I didn't see any aircon units in the room, which wasn't a problem for us since it was cooler weather, but could be a bummer in the hot summers.
The best part of this hostel was the staff. I'm sad I don't remember names but everyone including the lady at reception and the nice guy who would recommend places to eat and gladly answer any questions about Hualien or the surrounding areas. They speak excellent English. These people made our stay worth it and I hope they will still be here next time I visit! I'll be back to Amigos!
Hualien is awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hostel is worth a stay! We didn't have any complaints the whole time we were there. Stayed for 4 nights in the 8 bed dorm, which was kept really clean. Soft mattresses and really good bedding and pillows. The shared showers and toilets are clean and the water pressure is so good!
They provide a free breakfast sandwich and free tea and coffee all day!
The staff all seem really friendly, the common area is small but nice to sit in and talk to people.
My only issue is that I would have liked a bigger locker and maybe a lock on the dorm door. None of the dorm doors have key card entry or anything so maybe anyone could walk in, however at no point did I feel unsafe and I don't think they would have let anyone just walk into the hostel.
Location is near to the train station, shops and a good cheap Chinese cafeteria.
Perhaps it is a little expensive but it seems to be roughly the same price all around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amigos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigos Hostel

Address: No.68 Guolian Second Road, Hualian, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amigos Hostel, only 5 minutes walking from Hualien Train Station, lowest cost but cozy and clean environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amigos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigos Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.