We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutiue Hotel near the town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Hualien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Hualien to your Saves list
Quality Inn Hualien
No.46-1 Sanmin Street, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice boutiue Hotel near the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We booked 2 rooms and stayed 1 night at Quality Inn Hualien. This hotel does not provide transfer from/to the train station so we have to take the public bus. However, the bus overshot one stop that was near to the hotel though I told driver the bus stop we wanted to get down and we had to walk back a distance. The bus fare was about NT22/person for only about 5 mins… Quite X and disappointed with the service.
We arrived about 1 plus and they allowed us to check in early. Maybe, it was a Tuesday and there were not many guests staying in the hotel, I guess.
We booked 1 twin room for our 2 sons and the biggest room with 2 queen beds for our daughter and us. The twin room costs NT 3024 while the big room costs NT4104 including breakfast. This is the most expensive hotel we stayed during this Taiwan trip. My hubby loved the room very much as the floor was wooden and design was very Japanese. My children loved the rooms too since they were very spacious, compared to Dandy Hotel in Taipei. Beds and pillows are comfortable. The rooms looked exactly like those in their website/blog. Would give the rooms a 4.5 star rating. Bathroom was nice and complete with all amenities. No nice view from the window though.
Lobby was spacious and nicely designed with many sofas . Breakfast area is also quite nicely designed. See photos. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful.
The hotel is within walking distance to the town, with many famous eateries like 扁食(dumpling), 公正街包子iand much chee, etc. It was very convenient to explore the town on foot. 7-11 store is about 50m away.
Breakfast was quite nice but food was not put on heater so the food was quite cold. The spread is more Chinese than Western but it was quite tasty. There was only 1 other guest taking breakfast when we were having ours.
The hotel is quite slow in responding to emails, Sometimes, never respond at all!
Overall, it was a nice hotel. It would be great if they can consider providing transfer to/fro from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

we stayed at the quality inn largely due to posts here on tripadvisor. we drove from taipei for a two night stay so we could check out hualien and taroko gorge. parking right across the street, the hotel was clean, lovely and in a terrific location in hualien just off the main drag. room rate included wifi and breakfast, we took advantage of both. liked the breakfast very much, if you require a western breakfast this might be a bit of a stretch for you, but there are eggs and you can make toast, plus lots of fun things that we don't normally consider 'breakfast foods' in the west. i especially liked the fried greens and the peanuts and salted fish. hubby loved the congee and tofu.

bathroom was sparkling, had lovely amenities and great water pressure. lobby was quite attractive and clean. we'd booked the two single bed room but upgraded for US$15 a day to a king sized bed and slightly larger room.

we speak very, very basic mandarin, but the staff has some basic english and we were able to communicate effectively enough. if you speak chinese, you're golden. if you don't, it'll be a challenge--but they're all very helpful and eager to please. we asked for a recommendation for the dumpling restaurant (mentioned in another post) and i *think* we found the place...since we don't read chinese, and the map was only in chinese, it was a bit of a stretch...but we ate dumplings and they were delicious. one night we got hopelessly lost and ended up at a korean/japanese place, which was also terrific. we had a ball!

my only problem at this hotel wasn't really the hotel's fault; we had one night's sleep ruined by our upstairs neighbor. the floors are hardwood--gorgeous--and our neighbor came in, loudly, at 2am and proceeded to CLOMP around in her high heels for about 20 minutes before letting the shower run for 45 or so minutes (perhaps she passed out?) woke us both up, but it's part of what i expect in asian hotels, so i didn't bother complaining, either upstairs--language would have surely been an issue--or with the hotel--not really their fault.

the hotel is about half an hour's drive from the entrance to taroko gorge, and i'd stay there again in a heartbeat. ask for a high floor!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

I recently visited Hualien in Taiwan during Chinese New Year, primarily to visit Tairoko Gorge. Hualien is not a cosmopolitan city and is not known for luxury/high end, or otherwise nice hotels. That's why I took a leap of faith and chose Quality Inn, after having read its reviews on TripAdvisor.

Due to the nature of my work, I've had the fortune of staying at many fine hotels around the world, but have never felt compelled to write a hotel review until now.

First and foremost, I was absoltuely floored by the helpfulness of the staff, which is why I feel a particular desire to want to commend them. They were very friendly, courteous, and most of all, extremely helpful in providing us information on everything from dining venues to fulfilling our transportation needs. Not only were they informative, they proactively offered to help make calls and make arrangements on our behalf. After learning that we had a 6AM train departure time, they even prepared breakfast for us to take on the road. This is probably the most hospitable hotel I've ever stayed in.

Second, the hotel environment was very nice. Small, but very well decorated and maintained. The lobby area was clean, quaint, and very "zen-like". The room was spacious, clean and modern. Decent-sized LCD TV with cable that included int'l channels like CNN for non-Chinese speakers. Note that we got upgraded to a "super king' room, so I don't know how the other rooms are.

Lastly, the location was great. It was basically in the heart of town, and no more than 10/15 minute walk to where all the action is; yet far enough from the cacophony of traffic, night markets, etc.

Pros: Superb service, nice environment, great location. Very decent prices. I paid about USD100/night and got a free room upgrade

Cons: I didn't test them, but I'm pretty sure their English ability is limited. It wasn't a problem for me, as I'm a native speaker, but it might be an issue for non-Chinese speakers if they're looking for a lot of guidance and problem solving.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who plans on visiting Hualien or Taroko.

  • Liked — service, environment, location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We loved this hotel. The staff at the reception are incredibly helpful. The hotel is in the heart of things. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is good if you get there early. There's free internet too.

The reception organized the Taroko Gorge tour which was excellent. I would recommend a half day tour. They also helped us book the golf course, which is quite good, and welcoming of beginnners.

Definitely recommend two restaurants. Ask them about the famous Wonton Soup restaurant and the Dumpling place (Gongsen Baozi). Both are AMAZING!!! Cant recommend them highly enough.

  • Liked — staff were great, good location
  • Disliked — breakfast wasnt great if you turned up late
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Stayed here with friends and it's a very good hotel, particularly compared with the other hotels I've seen in Hualien

Likes
- Friendly staff
- Great Decor with modern furniture
- Umbrellas for when it rains
- Good toileteries

Dislikes
- The slippers they provide in the rooms are irradiated and then repackaged. Not sure if I like that idea given that they aren't expensive.

Overall a very good hotel in a good location just off one of the main streets. Would recommend staying here

  • Liked — Clean and modern - good lounge too
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
223 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
779 helpful votes 779 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Excellent for Hualien. Next to a great pedestrian area with shops, restaurants (Starbucks, McDonalds, KFC, and Pizza hut if you desire western food). About 40 minutes from the start of Taroko Gorge. If you want to see the Gorge, it’s best to stay in the National Park for better scenery and a more memorable experience (except there is no good food there).


BEST WAY TO GET THERE: 20 minutes to the airport by car. Best to have your own car here if you are planning to go to Taroko.

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard room

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is soft and linens are of excellent quality with very good down pillows.

LIGHTING: Lighting is good in the bedroom and excellent in the bathroom. Lighting above the desk is more of a spot light and could be bothersome during longtime computer use.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Beautiful bathroom with high quality wood floors and mosaic style tiles in shower. Water pressure is medium and the water temperature can be made consistently hot if desired.

TOILETRIES: Good quality.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is 2 years old and the common areas, bedroom, and bathroom are exceptionally clean.

A/C: Quickly and quietly gets the room cool. All buttons are in Chinese so may be best to get an explanation of how it works before going to bed.

CLOSET SPACE: On the small side an probably good enough for 1 person to unpack all items.

STYLE OF ROOM: Real wood floors and beautiful stone make an impeccable combination. Room is visually stunning with huge floor to ceiling windows. Fresh flowers in the room area nice touch.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room is very quiet with the occasional neighbor slamming the door. Nearly all morning light can be blocked using the curtains.

FOOD: I think only breakfast is served at this hotel. There is an ok selection of Asian foods. For western food, you are stuck with toast, jam, kiwi, and oranges. Probably one of the worst Western food selection I have seen in a hotel in my last 11 months of travel and nearly 120 hotels.

TV/INTERNET: Flatscreen TV could be the next size bigger given the distance from the bed but is acceptable. About 10 English stations with several movie channels. Internet is wired and wireless and is no charge and very fast.

SERVICE: Staff speak enough travel English to be of help and are very friendly.

COMMON AREA: Beautiful, stylish, and contemporary. Nice lobby that provides a decent area for having a coffee or snack.

SUMMARY, ROOM, & CITY TIPS: We enjoyed dinner at Korea Restaurant which is an all you can eat Hot Pot restaurant. Higher floors have should have better views. If you have a car and pack out front you will get a ticket that is not a violation but a ticket to pay for the parking. The hotel will pick up the tab. We paid about US$65/night for this hotel which if it was in Manhattan would easily cost $500/night. This has got to the best hotel in all of Hualien. We looked at many hotels and I would be shocked if there is a better hotel than this one. We also stayed at the Promised Land, Azure, and saw the lobby at the C’est Jeune. Promised Land is the best bet if you want a resort experience with a pool but is 3 times the price. If you are looking for a hotel that is closer to Taroko and don’t care about gardens and pools, this is your best choice.

  • Liked — Stunning rooms, comfortable beds, location, EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — No western food at breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hualien

Address: No.46-1 Sanmin Street, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Hualien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.