We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Hualien

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Hualien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Hualien
No.46-1 Sanmin Street, Hualien 970, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Hualien
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went in August so paid full rate (approx. USD 130/night) for the extra large king size room (two double beds put together) on the top floor. Note: the reception told us that during off peak season, the room rate is discounted by 50%.

Upon entering I can tell from the smell that the room hasn't been stayed in for a while. We left the a/c on and cracked the window open a bit for the rest of the day. The smell didn't go away until the next morning. There were mildew stains on the a/c vent and there were visible paint job to cover up the mildew. The mirrors (in the bedroom and bathroom) have hand prints from left behind from either the previous customers or housekeeping.

The room has all the basic amenities: a small safe, toiletries, slippers, clean sheets, extra pillow. Nothing to gripe or wow about.

The location, like other reviewers mentioned, is centralized. Convenient to fast food (McDonald's few minutes away), Starbucks, and famous eateries (including a famous dumpling 公正包子 about 10 minutes walk away).

Breakfast is mostly traditional Taiwanese food, with congee, eggs, pickles, and vegetables in warmers. For "western" selection, there are bread and fresh fruits.

If you drive, note that the hotel doesn't have a parking garage. The hotel will recommend that you find street parking or the public lot across street, which the hotel provides 6 hours validated service per day.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front with lots of natural light and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
HKG
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Complimentary coffee was provided in the lobby together with a selection of biscuits. My room was spacious and clean. Wi-fi was available in the room. Breakfast was buffet style and typically Taiwanese.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nites in jan. Hotel front desk staff were friendly n courteous. Greetings and smiles are what tourists look for. Very well done.
Price is reasonable also.
We actually left our passports in the hotel safe. Called the hotel, and was attended to immediately, and eventually got back our passport thro mail the very next day in taipei. Special thanks to 林小姐for yr kind help.. Appreciated it very very much.
Hotel is quiet, no groups, so is better for free traveller.
Breakfast was good also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Picked this hotel because of location and it did not disappoint. Front desk staff was helpful and welcoming and even showed us to our room. We stayed in a family room which was quite alright for 4 persons. The bathroom has no lock so we must take note not to intrude if any one is in the toilet. Coffee/chinese tea and biscuits provided all day on the 2nd floor as well as at the lobby which was a nice gesture on the part of management. Breakfast was buffet style. Just down the road, you can find MacDonalds, KFC, Pizza Hut, Starbucks etc. Near to hotel is the city center where they have lots of shops and eateries. Do remember to ask front desk for a map of surrounding area. We took a taxi to the Zhi Qiang night market. It had lots of food stalls. I liked the barbeque stall especially at the first row. A tip given by the cab driver was to ask how long does one have to wait before picking your items and getting a number. Take a walk around the place before coming back to pick up your bbq items. The wait can be as long as an hour. The fried oyster egg and smelly tofu just a few stalls away from the bbq was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Staff were very helpful to provide info on the tourist attractions & we were even pick up from the train station upon arrival with the help of the Tourist Information Centre staff beside the train station. Room was very neat, clean & spacious. Breakfast was much better than the other hotels in Taipei. Hotel was very near the shopping strip of Hualien.

Room Tip: Twin bedded room is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed one night in the family room.
Chose the hotel for its location near to street eats and shops.
Because we were 3adults, we took the family room with two double beds because I believe the hotel does not provide rollaway for the twin/double rooms.
Special comment to Ms Zoe Chang, the front desk staff who answered my numerous email enquiries and phone calls prior to our stay.
Very big family room given on the top floor like I've requested and a huge toilet with shower over bath.
Can see some wear and tear,scuff marks,a bit of mould on the seals around the bathtub but overall quite clean.
Hotel provides charcoal bamboo water and some snacks from Hualien region in the room.
Breakfast is buffet style and consists of Taiwanese vegetables with the usual condiments, eggs and stir fried vegetables.
There are also toast and cereals for the western palate.
The hotel provides free transport to and from Hualien train station but you need to prebook.
Overall, a positive stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

this has all the fancy trimmings of a boutique hotel but you can still feel the countryside of Hualien ie. perhaps due to the open spaces behind the hotel, the relaxed pace of the lobby and staff, the mountain wind that blows through the windows, etc.. the family suite was surprisingly spacious, the free wifi in the room strong, the black charcoal complimentary water was a big hit with my parents, the breakfast had a few nice dishes, the bathroom had a spa atmosphere although must say the shower in a bathtub design is not a good idea for older folks especially since to get in it was quite high.. the staff were courteous but a bit reticent ie.didn't go out of their way to offer their service.. however the driver they recommended to take us on a day trip to Taroko Gorge was fantastic; he really took the effort and time to show us around and gave his own little personal tour.. the location is superb; just next to all the modern eateries in town plus a short walk to the heart of Hualien shopping district..

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view rooms which incidentally face east - the afternoon sun may be hot as the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hualien

Address: No.46-1 Sanmin Street, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Hualien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.