We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable downtown hotel ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Hotel to your Saves list
Sol Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.10 Wenhua Street, East District, Hsinchu 30042, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Hsinchu
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very comfortable downtown hotel ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Professional and supportive staff - very good value - a lot of nice restaurants in working distance - great choice for breakfast which can be enjoyed outdoors - clean and high end gym available on the second floor being open 24 hours - wireless connection quite fast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
1
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medan, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had stayed in Sol Hotel Hsinchu for 4 nights. The room was great, spacious and clean. We can reach the SOGO Department Store and Hsinchu station in 5-7 minutes. There are many food-stores and beverages kiosks such as Coco, Lohas and Come Buy. Starbuck coffee shop was located just across the SOGO. For those of you who love to (window) shopping, this is the place!! You loved reading? there is Eslite bookstore just within 3 minute-walking from SOGO. I recommend this hotel if you want to explore Hsinchu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I spent one night here on business recommended by the company I was visiting. The hotel was great staff very attentive they couldn't do any more to help. The room was large, bed comfortable and had wi-fi.

I ate in the italian restaurant adjacent to the hotel and had a decent meal and the buffet breakfast was of good quality.

Overall would recommend this hotel to anyone if you are visiting Hsinchu city, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent a number of nights here for a business trip.

The hotel is quite excellent but the location is on a back street in Hsinchu.

The lobby is modern and clean, the front desk staff were bilingual and were very attentive and helpful. The decor is modern with very nice wood paneling.

The hotel room was clean and attractive, with a really nice stone shower as well as a separate tub, a TV with both Chinese and English stations (including CNN, Discovery, etc.). The desk had wired ethernet and wifi is also strong and works well. The bed is quite firm with crisp white sheets and flatter, denser pillows that I quite liked. There is a single (down?) comforter with no separate top sheet. Sleep quality was excellent.

There is an Orient-style electronic toilet seat with a large variety of controls (with instructions printed in Japanese). It's quite entertaining to try out the various "functions" at random to see what happens!

The hotel had complimentary breakfast with an outstanding selection of Eastern and Western dishes, including a large variety of hot food. Pretty much anything you could think of was there - from dumplings, cooked chicken, salad, vegetables, bacon, cooked eggs/omelettes, pastries, cereals, and three kinds of juices - the orange juice was excellent and tasted fresh squeezed.

The hotel doesn't look like a lot from the outside, but the standard of cleanliness and decor inside is outstanding. This is an excellent place to stay should you be in Hsinchu.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the building face a kids school. In the morning you can hear the kids sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA & TWN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night last weekend at this hotel and we loved it a lot!! The room is big enough, king size bed and very comfy sof bedsheet, free wify and flat TV with cables. we love the design of the room and the bathroom is an add'l plus! Separate bathtub and shower, warm up Japanese style toilet... Gotta say their breakfast is better than we expected with lots of options, Chinese or western style. And they offer all day juice, coffee and tea which is great!! The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful. Even the parking lot doorman is very nice! All in all, we def. recommend this hotel if u ever visit Hsinchu city. The location is good, there are lots of restaurants around.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed at Sol for 3 days while working in nearby Jubei. Hotel provides free shuttle to nearby major employment centers. Also some perks for corporate customers (free breakfast, free limited laundry service).

Plenty of restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance.

Rooms are modern and clean.

Breakfast buffet is very good. Typical of a Taiwan hotel breakfast buffet, rather weak on the American food (e.g., runny scrambled eggs, bland sausage). Asian breakfast selections are very good, so give 'em a try.

Considering the location and clientele of this hotel, the staff is surprisingly lacking in spoken English capabilities. Very courteous, helpful staff, though. Just seems harder to communicate with them compared to other hotels I've visited in Hsinchu, Tainan and Taipei.

Worth a return stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We booked 2 deluxe rooms for our group of 5. The hotel was kind to upgrade us to a better rooms with a separate lounge area. We have 2 TVs in the room so I do not have to fight with my kid over the TV channels. There are so many channels (Chinese programmes) to choose.

The rooms are beautifully furnished with spacious bathroom, The bed is big and comfortable. Our rooms come with breakfast and the spread was good with Chinese and Western styles. Provides the best breakfast for my entire Taiwan trip.

The hotel is of walking distance to the train station and Sogo. There are many eateries around the hotel and the Italian restaurant at the hotel serve decent Italian food at reasonable price.

Will choose this hotel if I visit Hsinchu again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Address: No.10 Wenhua Street, East District, Hsinchu 30042, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hsinchu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Hsinchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Hotel, founded in 1993, is located in the heart of Hsin-Chu city’s flourishing business area, where the hotel is an island of tranquility in of a prosperous area with a well-connected transport system. The hotel is next to the historic East Gate (also known as Yingxi Gate) and its moat. Hsin-Chu’s train station, SOGO department store, bookstores, coffee shops, museums, Cheng Huang Temple, and various restaurants and bars are all within walking distance. Hsin-Chu Science Park, and Chu-Pei, Hu-Kuo, and Chu-Nan Industrial Parks are all a few minutes drive from Sol Hotel. The Sol Hotel, a delicate hotel with a historic atmosphere and ideal geographic location, is the first choice for business travelers and tourists in Hsin-Chu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.