We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The BBQ House

The BBQ House
215-3 Sec 1, Dongda Road, Hsinchu, Taiwan
03-5429894
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 656 restaurants in Hsinchu
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Meat may be good, but It is ridiculously overpriced for what it is; it's a poorly decorated average restaurant on a street in Hsinchu. Service is not the best either...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    22
    3
    1
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only if you don't know what else to do your money...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Been to the place three times. Last one, we were invited to a Birthday Party. All three times, in three years, we left the place with the same dissapointment: For one steak and a drink we paid around 2,000$NT each.
The owner (speaks very good English indeed) , is helpful only when it comes to help you to pick the most expensive dish and if you try to conveince him that you want you meat very well done he will start to laugh saying that this is a big mistake and you will ruin the flavour.
Not recomended at all.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Food was very good, and we felt very accommodated for. Owner was an absolute delight. I read the reviews before we went about it being overpriced, but if you go to any good steak restaurant in Taiwan, you'll pay about the same, it is not cheap-eats but you get what you pay for. In this case: quality. Owner was so helpful and friendly he recommended some other places in Hsinchu for our stay and gave us his honest opinions on which meats we should pick for our meal. I had the Fillet and loved it. Best cut of meat I've had in a long time. Definitely recommend The BBQ House.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced arrogance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Inattentive waitstaff did not impress. The owner seemed too concerned with impressing his mates to attend to the problem we had with our order. Will never go back!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak House in Hsinchu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The meat was great. The owner was so kind to treat us with a glass of Jack Daniel's at the end of the meal so a special thanks to him. I will be there soon enough to enjoy another great meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The BBQ House also viewed

 

Been to The BBQ House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BBQ House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.