We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Swazi Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Swazi Spa to your Saves list
Royal Swazi Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Main Road | Ezulwini Valley, Ezulwini H 106, Swaziland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Royal Swazi grounds are well cared for and beautiful. The staff at the Royal Swazi (except for a few front desk staff) were incredibly friendly. The room was a bit run down but the bed was comfortable. They have a convenient shuttle that visits the other 2 hotels. The internet is very inconsistent, as was the power, but that's probably the norm in the country. The laundry service was good, but they definitely don't bring it to you by 5 as they say - more like 7 PM. The spa is great (especially their infinity pool), but they only have 3 treadmills and that area is not air conditioned. If possible, I'd tip in cash - it's not clear that the servers get the tip you put to your room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear urfmglr80

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
It is fair and frank, the way we appreciate them!
I will ensure that your positive comments are passed on to all concerned. This will prove very motivating.
In turn, your critique will be taken seriously and reviewed with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards

LANCE ROSSOUW
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
16
47
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Swazi people must be by far the most friendly nation I have ever come across in all my travels.
Hotel building and surroundings exceptionally well maintained.
Customer service orientation is exceptional.
Clean rooms and very helpful housekeeping- laundry service and staff exceptional -
NO LIFTS - although staff had to carry every single item by hand all the way to the room via long corridors and many stairs, at no stage did they show any disgruntled behavior. More efficient in-house logistics could be implemented to deliver same service without having the staff "slaving" through their duty. (ie access via outdoor baggage trolley services for ground floor rooms)
Cautious when using rental cars especially when driving back to the airport where no official road sign is present. The current advert on a billboard for NASHUA is at the slip road serving as a landmark - best you take a garmin with you if you dont want to miss your flight.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear ChancebyChanel

Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Swazi Spa on Tripadvisor.
It was indeed most pleasing to read of your positive experiences at our flagship property in Swaziland.
Your comments pertaining to the friendly and helpful attitudes of our staff are highly appreciated, and will be passed on to those concerned.
You are correct in stating that the Hotel has some physical challenges, with particular reference to lifts. It is an enginerring challenge that we will need to overcome in the future.
Your comments regarding general directional signage are very valid, and it is an issue that we will raise with the relevant Government department.

Thank you once again for sharing your positive experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Lance Rossouw
AREA GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, Limpopo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a Lovely setting, the lawns and gardens well attended, good security and a real Colonial Style Hotel..... but what a pity the air-conditioning just could not pull it’s part.
Walking to our room down the corridors was so stifling and clammy we could hardly wait to get to our room. Immediately we switched on the air-conditioner on to cool the room down. We spent the last hour of light enjoying sundowners near the pool. Then it was off to dinner, which was great, and then retiring to our room. We again ran the gauntlet down the stuffy passages to our room only to find that the temperature in our room was only slightly cooler than the passage! On checking the control in our room, we noticed that it was set on the coldest setting. There was a thick duvet on the bed – whoever uses this, I thought to myself.

The following morning we had a very pleasant breakfast and I reported the air-conditioning problem to the front of office desk.

That night a similar pattern was repeated, although there was evidence that someone had looked at the unit, it was still only just warm to cool. Then it all came back to us, and we recalled having experienced a similar problem with the air-conditioning in our room approximately 3 years back.

It’s was then very obvious that they have problems in this department, which is such a pity as the stay overall was very good. The friendliness of the staff in every section/department of the Hotel made up for the disappointing and restless couple of night’s sleep, but Sun International needs to address the problems relating to cooling system in this, otherwise beautiful Hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure the aircon works if you are going there in summer months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Happy Chappie 2010

Thank you for completing the comprehensive review, following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
It was pleasing to note that your general stay was very good, however marred by airconditioning shortfalls.
Unfortunately none of our room corridors are airconditioned. It was never planned from inception, and the introduction thereof now would be too daunting financially.
However, there is no excuse for your room airconditioner not to have functioned properly.
I have noted that you had a similar experience on a previous visit, which is equally as unacceptable.
Please accept my sincere apologies for these shortfalls, and rest assured that we always pro-actively try to stay ahead in our maintenance programmes to ensure repeats of this type of problem do not recur.
I would be pleased if you contact me personally when next you wish to visit our resort, in order that I may assist in making your stay that much more pleasant.

Yours' faithfully

Lance Rossouw
Area General Manager
+268 24165200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel is excellent for a weekend stay. It provides all facilities and the breakfast selection is yummy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Ritesh 17

Thank you for your short, albeit, complimentary review of the Royal Swazi Spa.
We appreciate your comments very much, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours' faithfully

Lance Rossouw
Area General Manager
Sun International: Swaziland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTEFRACT
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had one night in the Royal Swazi en route through Swaziland.

Its quite impressive as you drive up to the hotel building. The grounds are very well kept and form a good view for rooms to the rear. The rooms are fine but not up to a similar star rating as in SA next door.

We found the staff to be really good and genuinely friendly.

The Casino is a bit smokey and not the best feature of the hotel..but I guess it pays a few bills!

Planters restaurant was very good. Decent service and good food. But please can't they think of a better name than 'Planters' it doesn't do justice to the setting of the hotel or the quality on offer.
All in all a pleasant place to stay when in Swaziland.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear David 1960uk

Thank you for the completion of your review following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
We appreciate feedback such as yours, as it helps us to assess our standards constantly & consistently.
We appreciate your comments on the quality of the rooms & the motivating feedback on our staff.
Thank you once again & we look forward to hosting you once again in the Valley of Heaven in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

LANCE ROSSOUW
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

There is no better hotel, but it sure needs some improvement

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I can`t understand why Hotels tell you they are wheelchair friendly when they are not! We travelled all the way to Swaziland and discovered on check in that they had no disabled room! When we made the booking,we asked them plenty times if the room is wheelchair friendly...I did not expect/exept this from a 5 Star Sun International Hotel!

The Hotel was build in 1967. Lesson: I will never again sleep in a Hotel that is older than 10 years. They simply don`t comply with the normal wheelchair standards!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Swazi Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Swazi Spa

Address: Old Main Road | Ezulwini Valley, Ezulwini H 106, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Swazi Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the fascinating Kingdom of Swaziland is a lush and verdant valley named ‘Heaven’ by the noble Swazis. In this valley lies a sensational casino resort comprising a trio of hotels. Each touched by the magic of Africa, none more so than the 4-star Royal Swazi Spa Hotel.There is nowhere better to enjoy peace & tranquility than at this jewel in the African crown. Whether it be on the Golf Course, relaxing at the Poolside, enjoying a scenic horseride, inducing adrenalin on a quad bike, being pampered in the Health Spa or doing business at a Convention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Royal Swazi Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Swazi Hotel Ezulwini
Royal Swazi Spa Swaziland/Ezulwini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Swazi Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.