We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent German Restaurant in the heart of Ezulwini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Calabash Continental Restaurant

The Calabash Continental Restaurant
Upper end of the Ezulwini Valley | Next to Timbali Lodge & Country Park, Ezulwini, Swaziland
(+268) 416 1187
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 restaurants in Ezulwini
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Excellent German Restaurant in the heart of Ezulwini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wow. What a find! Calabash is THE place to be in Swaziland. The dining room is swanky, luxurious in its own way. The service is upscale, very attentive. The wine list? Extensive. And the food... well, simply great. We had steak, all three of us. Rump steak and sirloin. Everything was delicious. It is of course expensive by Swazi standards... but we got away with 3 steaks and sides, dessert, and wine (plus espresso) for 90 usd total.
A great deal, if you ask me!
Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    17
    25
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cresskill, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of Swaziland's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an old staple top quality restaurant - probably the fanciest in Swaziland. Located in Ezulwini, it is close to Mbabane. The food is served with a French flair, and the wine list is interesting and extensive. Prices are reasonable and service impeccable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok but wine very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hi

We had supper here one night (4 adults). Food was beautifully presented and service very good, but I felt it was overpriced and the wine was very pricey for a standard South African red (and they had run out of our choice of white wine...)
I thought the decor was a little dated (reminded me of the 1970's)!
Nice touch, they run a free shuttle service to all the hotels in the valley, which eliminates one of your party sipping a cool drink all night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eisbein lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a nice stop for have a good lunch in Swazi, try the steaks and the lovely Eisbein! Great Desserts to!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Here we are! One of the nicest place to eat in Swaziland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Staff is friendly and very dedicated to customers.
We had a nice meal, you can even have the chance to get some frog legs.
Meat was awesome with some pomme dauphine.
Owner is from swizerland, the place is really clean and looks like an old english restaurant, a lot of charm!
Forgot all your preconception of Swaziland food this place is like an oasis when you travel there.
Good jobs guys!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Calabash Continental Restaurant also viewed

Ezulwini, Hhohho District
Mbabane, Hhohho District
 
Ezulwini, Hhohho District
Mbabane, Hhohho District
 

Been to The Calabash Continental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Calabash Continental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.