We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Swaziland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lidwala Backpacker Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lidwala Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
Lidwala Backpacker Lodge
Box 153, Ezulwini --, Swaziland   |  
Hotel amenities
Lobamba, Swaziland
1 review
“The place to stay in Swaziland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lidwala is an amazing place. When I came there the first time I was so happy to see how nice and clean it was. I was surprised it had all the facilities I didn't count on. Many showers, which always are clean. A big kitchen with enough of room for a lot of people to cook, a TV room, a huge verandah with lots of room so that you can either find your own place to hang out or chatting with other backpackers or volunteers. Allthough everything seem to be big it really has the warm home feeling. The staff is very friendly and they help you with everything you need. I became friends with all of them. The best part which have changed since I was there the first time are two things, the fridge so that you can buy drinks (beer, cider, sodas etc.) and of course the swimming pool. It's so nice to be able to cool down during a hot day. Don't miss out the amazing garden and the hike just behind the lodge. It's definitely worth a visit! Lidwala is the place to stay if you're in Swaziland that's for sure!

Room Tip: I like room 1 because then you have your own shower and toilet. You share the room with 5 others tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyabram, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Lidwala Backpacker's Lodge for a combined total of about 4 months this year and absolutely loved it! From the amazing staff, to the beautiful surrounds there's not much more you could ask for. The facilities (bathroom and kitchen) are all kept in good condition and are regularly cleaned which ensures for a comfotable stay. Lidwala is situated in the Ezulwini Valley which is between Manzini and Mbabane (2 of Swaziland's main cities) and therefore makes it a perfect base for those who want to get out and see a bit more of the beautiful country. Public transport is easily accessible from the Lodge as well as a number of restaurants, clothing shops and of course the supermarket. All in all Lidwala is a great place to stay and I would recommened it to anyone who was travelling through this very special part of the world!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend staying in the safari tents as they are very comfortable and lots of fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights during our trip through South Africa. We had a small but nice and clean room with ensuite bathroom. Lidwala has a lovely garden and a large deck overlooking it, where you can eat or drink something or just sit and relax. Kitchen is a bit messy and smells bad. Staff is friendly and helpful. They can give you information about things to do, restaurants, etc. The Swazi dinner is definitely worth trying. I can also recommend the hike which starts at the backpackers. You will be rewarded with a superb view at the top. Apart from the kitchen I would definitely recommend Lidwala!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing place, amazing location, amazing people. Absolutely loved Lidwala. They make you feel part of the family and it's a truly unforgettable experience. Would return there a hundred percent. The rooms are nicely sized, the surroundings are nice and Philele (the host) is truly lovely.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place makes you feel as if you are home. Loving and cheerful people make your staying so much fun! I recommend to go there when you need a place to stay. It is amazing! I absolutely love it.
Eventhough you are alone, or with two or a whole group. It is always fun and relaxed.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter where you sleep, all bed are good! You have choice between single room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at Lidwala as part of a volunteering programme with All Out Africa, and had no idea what to expect when I got there. The lodge set set in the beautiful Ezulwini Valley with amazing views and is a very quiet and relaxing area. The rooms are basic but nice, and the lodge is always kept very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, and there are always enough people around to ensure you can meet new people if you want to, or just relax by the (freezing!!) pool if you want to.
It is situated in a good area, close to the Gables shopping centre, but also easy to get to Manzini and Mbabane.
I loved the atmosphere at Lidwala and would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Again and again and again we love to come to Lidwala and meet up with the travellers and volunteers from all over the world! The sweetest staff and management makes it one of our favourite stops! The Lobamba Village Tour is one of the highlights for all our guests! We are so looking forward to stay with Philile and her team again ... soon!

Alex from Pangea Trails

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lidwala Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidwala Backpacker Lodge

Address: Box 153, Ezulwini --, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ezulwini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lidwala Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidwala Backpacker Lodge Swaziland/Ezulwini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lidwala Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.