We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Tree Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tamarind Tree Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarind Tree Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana Minuwangoda 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Cristianos, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location and Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Take advantage of the train from Veyangoda (providing, if you are white like us, you are ready for how a martian might feel having landed on planet earth - the curiosity is funny) and save yourself hundreds of dollars. We then paid Rs2000 for a Tuk Tuk from Veyangoda to Minuwangoda and arrived a little tired (it has to be said) at the Tamarind Tree. Despite most of the locals having no knowledge that Veyangoda or indeed Minuwangoda was anywhere near the airport, ignore this. Bandaranaike International Airport (also known as Katunayake International Airport and Colombo Bandaranaike International is on your doorstep. $8 away in a hotel arranged minibus.

The hotel itself is an oasis of calm with a good swimming pool, though does need updating slightly. Also the deep clean that one finds in many international hotels is (as throughout much of Sri lanka) absent here. The doors were greyed with fingermarks of many previous visitors.

Beware the foyer too unless you are fully armed with mozzie spray. I was bitten 7 times and that was after killing 8 of the blighters (vengeance?). The bungalows are comfortable and it was lovely to sit reading on the porch, though the missus said we were like the Clampets! The food is good, but beware the prices. The diet coke was Rs490, which is around $4 a can and that was despite a government RRP sticker stating about half the price on the can itself. Also beware what many websites offer as an amazing deal as the 1/3 normal price we were offered of $110 is actually the normal rack rate for a bungalow, so check with the hotel first.

If you're looking for a little calm before you fly then this will do the job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    64
    50
    20
    3
See reviews for
27
64
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a hectic day it was. Delayed flight, and once we reached the Sri Lanka airport our expectations level had come down. It was low until we reached this fantastic hotel. The service was as if, we were the Royal family members. We were thrilled with this and when we saw the villa, we were overwhelmed. King sized bed and satellite TV channels. Immaculate washrooms with beautiful flower decoration. The food was not overly priced either. And morning when we woke up, we saw the king coconut served fresh from the tree. Nature friendly hotel, had all the names of the tree available beneath them. The hotel as well had horses if you wanted take a few pictures for thrill. As well the pool was very clean. Lovely collection of paintings in the Business centre. However, it was pretty hot outside, hence just outside the hotel, there is a Cloth Boutique, where you may find some local as well stitched to order clothes. Really a relief for us, as we bought some pure cotton dresses. Beach are clean as well and what is even more amazing is that Wifi was freely available in almost every restaurant. Quick things to buy for gift and memories, shells on the beach. A must visit again place, and hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good, you may look for the one near to restaurant or bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is very close to the airport and the rooms are very good and comfortable. Nice surrounding with many trees.
Staff service was not great, especially in front office and in restaurants, I believe this could be improved.
The main restaurant is a letdown, ambience is not up to the overall standard of this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel for airport transfers, but not for long/ leisure stays.

Room Tip: Good for airport transfers..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had a good time in this hotel. Very close to the airport. Bunglores are very specious and nice. Front Office staff greeted well.
Food taste good in this hotel. Sri Lankan food is so lovely. Happy to say i had a short wonderful experience here.

Room Tip: Bungalores are very specious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a very short stay at Tamarind Tree as we arrived in at Negombo airport after 1:00am and left early the next day at 9:00am. It is a nice spacious hotel with spacious bungalows, a large swimming pool and nice facilities. Breakfast was very nice and the resort was clean and well kept. If you've got an early or late flight in or out of the airport, I wouldn't go past Tamarind Tree.

Room Tip: Very large rooms with living and sleeping area. We stayed with 2 Adults and 2 Children (6&4). We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my transit hotel before the flight back home so wasn't expecting much!! I was wrong as this is as good as most of the other hotels I stayed in over the last ten days. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, also the rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were in chalet style bungalows and consisted of a lounge with ceiling fan, bathroom and bedroom with ceiling fan and air con. The pool and gardens were well maintained with ample sunbeds and deckchairs. Breakfast and dinner were of a buffet style with a good selection of dishes and all freshly prepared and to suit all tastes.

Room Tip: All rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Best location as It's close to airport, so I decided to book this one as my flight mid night

It is under renovation so a bit dirty at at lobby.

We paid for one night but we use only half day but for single room. My friend changed flight and join me. They asked for 40$ more for one more person without proper explicit and it costs same as one more room. I asked if it is for breakfast?. What I need is explanation. I felt annoyed.

Room is comfortable and private villa but a bit old. Big bathroom. It is calm and relax after a noisy outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Hotel

Address: 1 Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana Minuwangoda 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yatiyana Minuwangoda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana Minuwangoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Tree Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tamarind Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Tree Hotel Sri Lanka/Yatiyana Minuwangoda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.