We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accommodation on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silver Sands

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Silver Sands
229 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in Negombo
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent two nights in this guesthouse, after arriving and before leaving Sri Lanka.
Overall a nice small guesthouse on the beach side of Lewis road. We had a room on the second floor, with air-condition and balcony facing the sea. Room and bath are clean, with good supply of hot water. Room size is Ok, having a table, chair and a small closet.
Stuff are friendly. We arrived early morning after the flight and they prepare a room as soon as they could, we got it at 8 am. They also kept a small bag for us, until we returned from our tour for the last night.
The restaurant on the beach side is a bonus, having breakfast, dinner and few beers close to the sea. Very pleasant. The food they served was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    70
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
19
80
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights when first flying into Sri Lanka and paid 2600Rs a night. We arranged an airport pickup which was expensive but efficient and he was waiting with our name on a sign when we arrived. The hotel is a big old building right on the beach. Our room had a balcony with a sea view, an en-suite bathroom with hot water and a double bed with mozzie net. The rooms are old but clean and the staff were always helpful. They have wifi in reception for free. The restaurant is lovely, right near the sea so you can here the waves and the food was really good. On the Main Street are a few cheaper places to eat and small supermarkets. This place is a good place to start a Sri Lankan trip as it is close to the airport and the town is really friendly with a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I think 'could try harder' sums it up. Everything was okay, but nothing was great! The room was rather dark and in need of a refurb. The mozzie net had holes. The restaurant was okay, but overpriced. The staff were fine, helpful and polite. The airport pick up was hugely overpriced, and was late! It's a bit disconcerting to arrive, having reserved a car and driver, to find nobody waiting for you at the airport. I was given phone numbers to use in such an event, but this isn't easy to do within minutes of arrival - I had to queue up at the ATM to get money first, then queue up again to buy a local SIM for my phone, before I could use the phone numbers. The driver had arrived by this time, but .... for the amount I paid, he should have been there and waiting with my name on a placard!
A word of advice - if you want to organise a car/driver don't use the hotel! This is probably obvious - just step outside and choose any of the agents nearby. I immediately found a car for a much better price, without even trying!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lovely family run hotel. Basic but spotless rooms. Old run down colonial. Bit of a hidden entrance but great location right on the beach. No pool but plenty of access to pools at loads if surrounding but bland hotels. The food was great too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We wanted a budget hotel in Negombo for one night. This fitted the bill perfectly. The hotel has a lovely quirky charm, with long colonnaded corridors leading to an open air restaurant. The bedrooms were equally quirky but clean and we slept well. Good rice and curry, and an excellent location, although it was a pity that the sea was too rough for swimming (August). However, one can pay 500 rps to swim at the next door swimming pool. My oldest son and I also appreciated it being near enough to cruise the leather, jewellery and handicraft shops which offer a surprisingly good selection with surprisingly cheap prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Being closer to the airport but right on the beach is a huge advantage. Airport pickup is a must for 10 pm arrival. The hotel is spotless, right on the beach and has an open air concept dining room. Service was great, the rooms spotless and convenient to shops but back off the road so
it is quiet. I stayed on my way in to Sri Lanka and again 5 weeks later on my way out. Furnishings are a bit old but I think you could call it quaint......or rustic! Everything functioned well.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the sea if it's in your price range. Obviously 2 in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife, 5yr old daughter and me picked Silver Sands for our "entry point" after the flight, rather than staying in Colombo - and a good pick it was! Airport pickup went off without a hitch, the large double room w/ extra bed was comfortable and very clean, as was the whole hotel. After tasting the food, we rarely ate anywhere else as the "Silver Sands"-kitchen had a wide variety of tasty dishes (Sri Lankan as well as some Western food for our somewhat apprehensive daughter).
But the real treat was the staff: very nice, friendly and helpful from the manager to the room cleaners. No hassle, no arguing over hidden costs or whatever, just a lot of polite hospitality!
The hotel has a small garden which opens directly onto a public beach that's quite nice and peaceful, but of course no match for the south coast...
We were happy to come back the night before our flight home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Sands

Address: 229 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in Negombo
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silver Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Silver Sands to your Saves list