We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silver Sands

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Silver Sands
229 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in Negombo
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived in Negombo and spent over an hour looking for hotels we eventually settled on the Silver Sands Hotel. Although I thought it was a bit dingy and grubby it was right on the beach and we had a balcony (although right next to the stairs). We were on a budget and I thought this hotel would do for a night.
Unfortuntunatley not long after checking in we found the door to our balcony wouldn't lock and could be easily pushed open. When we reported this the staff were not concerened. They would only offer another room at a more expensive rate (double the price) had no ability to negotiate did not offer to even fix the lock so we would stay in the cheeper room. They did not appologise once and just sat looking at us and talking about us.
I am absolutely sure the problem with the lock must have been reported befor it was so obvious and dangerous but the hotel dont seem to care and carry on selling the room. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU VALUE YOUR SAFETY AND THE SAFETY OF YOUR BELONGINGS! - Anyone can walk into this hotel there are may entrances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    70
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
19
80
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice place to stay and rest after flight. Hotel is 7km from the airport. Clean, spacious room with balconies, mosquito nets and ceiling fans. Rooms without a/c aren't expensive - 2200rs.The hotel is next to the beach.It's all you need for the first night in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadima
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed on night and found the place to be accomodating and friendly. For a budget place it goes a long way but the staff did show some weariness and lack of initiative. Prices are good. Centrally located, breakfast was ok.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived late at this place (on Sept.29), tired and desperately need to take a shower and sleep, but the shower didn't work well with small flow. We booked a a/c room with room rate 3700rs, breakfast excluded.

Next morning we needed 2 cup of hot water (w/o tea), when we checked out, they extra charged us 200rs x10% service tax for the hot water -_-||| which hadn't happened in the other GHs in our late journey in Sri Lanka (free for the hot water). Even thought this was not the most expensive room we had during the trip, but I think I won't come back again. Even though the host is a nice guy.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in Negombo beach, this is the good GH for it. But if you are not for the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I arrived late at this place, tired and desperately need to take a shower and sleep, only to find that we were arranged probably the worst room at the hotel. The room can fit only the beds and felt very crowded. It definitely looked basic and run-down. The beds were probably the worst we stayed throughout our trip in Sri Lanka. The mattress was a very thin pad on top of the steel frame, and your back can feel the hardness of the frame.
The staff seemed friendly, but when we were leaving the hotel, he arranged a tuktuk for us for double the price.
There are a lot of options around for less, and this is definitely not how you should start your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed hear in September 2012. Great place very friendly staff, food very good and reasonable. It also has many little restaurants very close by meals from about 450 rps. The hotel has ample sized rooms and there is free wifi in the lobby area. The beach is not great and not really for swimming however a hotel some 100yds away has a pool for 350rps. Its a great place to stay and they will collect from the airport with prior notice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you're looking for a stopover on arrival or before leaving Sri Lanka, this is a great little place. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced and the rooms were clean. We didn't realise you had to order the Sri Lankan breakfast the day before which was a shame as we missed out there. Kids loved their special banana pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Sands

Address: 229 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in Negombo
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silver Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Silver Sands to your Saves list