We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal end to our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ayubowan Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ayubowan Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Ayubowan Guesthouse
47/55 School Lane | Ettukalla, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 99 Negombo B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ideal end to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Ayubowan to round off our honeymoon before our outgoing flight. Ron and Brenda have a fab place - just the final bit of style and comfort we needed to complete our travels. Nicely secluded location, set back from the busy strip. We were warmly welcomed with a cold drink, before taking a hot shower (much needed after train and bus journeys from Galle) - proper hot water and decent water pressure! We headed out to the beautiful gardens and the pool to catch the last of the days sunshine. The whole place was sparklingly clean, and Ron and Brenda were on hand with some local recommendations, airport tip offs and good early breakfast before our flight. Be warned about the early morning call from the local temple - but we actually rather liked it (perhaps a bit more than Ron does!). Lastly, keep a look out for Lulu...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi, we were so pleased you chose to stay at Ayubowan to end your honeymoon , we can just hope that the future holds a bounty of good cheer to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    18
    3
    7
    0
See reviews for
16
82
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ayubowan Guest House

We were planning a tour of Stri Lanka and this place was the perfect start to our holiday. The owners Ron and Brenda arranged for one of their drivers to meet us at Colombo Airport after our long flight. Their guest house in Negombo is only 20-30 minutes from Colombo Airport. We stayed for two nights at the start of our holiday and loved it so much we booked to stay there for our last two nights before flying back to the UK. The guest house is beautifully furnished and the garden is immaculate with a great swimming pool. The food is great too. Its been said before but Brenda and Ron are the perfect hosts, knowing exactly how to deal with their guests, not too familiar and not at all intrusive. In fact everything was perfect there. If we return to Sri Lanka we shall certainly ensure that we again stay at the Ayubowan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
thank you for such a positive review we were happy you chose us for the start of your vacation and even more pleased when you decided to stay longer at the end,we even look to the future to see you again.again thank you from the management and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the perfect place to start or end a visit to Sri Lanka, close to the airport and yet a million miles away! We had a lovely clean and comfortable room, the garden and pool are just perfect. Brenda and Ron are the perfect hosts and were very helpful in arranging a car and driver for us.
Food was good, we had intended to explore local restaurants but it was just so comfortable at the house that we took the lazy option and stayed in, Ron had been to the fish market and made us a delicious dinner. Airport transfer was efficient and easy. Certainly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's not very often you find a gem when you are travelling but this is one, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, immaculate gardens and most important of all owners who genuinely care about there guests.
The breakfasts are fantastic with enough choice to satisfy the most picky guest.
For a short or long stay look no further.
We booked through a local agent but in future would book direct on brenda_cornelius@hotmail.com for a better price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
thank you so much for an honest review from an honest couple .we are so pleased that you had a great time with us, we will certainly be pleased to see you on your return, oh by the way the e-mail address is brenda_cornelius0@hotmail.com and the phone number is 0094312238673. kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spent 2 nights with Ron and Brenda at Ayubowan Guesthouse recently. They have a lovely home with beautiful outdoor gardens and a pool. Very relaxing environment, well appointed rooms with everything you need to enjoy your stay.
Very, very clean!
Location is down a quiet lane so you are away from the main strip which can be quite noisy and busy.
Ron and Brenda are always on hand to help out with what ever you need and are a wealth of knowledge about where to go and what to see while in Negombo / Sri Lanka.
They put on a great breakfast as well :)
I can highly recommend Ayubowan and will return if i find myself in Negombo again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is our third stay at the Ayubowan, this time my wife and I stayed for 9 days. The owners are an inspiration in the way they run an efficient business with a very human touch. They seem to be focused on improving the service and quality of their product on each visit over a two year period. Ayubowan boutique guesthouse would be a more appropriate title for this location . They provide many added little benefits to make your stay more enjoyable, like when you are the only guests on a particular day enabling you to have your breakfast in their garden setting. They also provide an opportunity to have a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast. Each day you are asked what you would like to have for breakfast the next day. In house lunch is available and it is worth spending the evening in at least once and letting them provide the meal, the lighting innthe garden provides a delightful backfrop.Their staff are also very courteous and helpful. Your rooms are cleaned and made up each day. This "guesthouse" is a welcome break from much of the chaos and anything will do approach that is endemic to much of Sri Lanka. We look forward to our next visit. Can't understand why they don't have the the number one ranking in their category.

Room Tip: If available ask for the poolside room and let Ron organise your pickup and delivery to the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As this was our first time to Sri Lanka, we had a personal recommendation to stay with Ron & Brenda @ Ayubowan, and we will definitely be back in the near future.

The guest house is extremely clean, with a lovely pool, our bedroom was spacious (on the first floor) with a balcony outside which we used every day. We had a separate bathroom which was again extremely clean.

Ron & Brenda made our stay very comfortable with a lovely breakfast each morning, a choice of cooked breakfast or Sri Lankan breakfast (which was phenomenal in taste and huge portions!!). They gave great advice on tourist attractions in Sri Lanka and helped us to arrange trips to Kandy and Galle.

We spent both Christmas Day and New Years Day with Ron & Brenda and enjoyed a lovely meals with live music, which made the stay extra special.

I would definitely recommend Ayubowan to friends and family who are looking to visit Sri Lanka and hopefully will be back there to enjoy another Sri Lankan breakfast soon!!

Thanks once again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review we know life can be hectic,what a great time we all had at christmas we shall keep the festivities to ourselves so other guests this year will also have a great time. as stated before as you can see all our reviews are honest and not made up,once again thank you and look forward to seeing you both in the future. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ayubowan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayubowan Guesthouse

Address: 47/55 School Lane | Ettukalla, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is situated in Negombo on the west coast of Sri Lanka.2 Double ensuite rooms on the ground floor.2 Double rooms on the 1st floor with shared bathroom, private eating area and balcony All rooms have A/C, ceiling fan, hairdryer, bathrobe. This guesthouse is suitable only for adults, Weddings can be arranged at the house. We also provide airport transfer,free wifi is available. Lunch and dinner is available in the dining room and in the garden. Tourist board approved grade A. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ayubowan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayubowan Guesthouse Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ayubowan Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.