We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice choice but not really a bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Araliya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Araliya to your Saves list
Villa Araliya
154/10 Poruthota Road | Kochchikade, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Negombo
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice choice but not really a bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and two children spent one night here before returning to England. We stayed in the Kumbuk room. The room was clean and spacious with a very nice bathroom. Interestingly, the beds are made out of concrete. This was fine for me but my wife would have preferred a slightly thicker mattress as a result.

We found the staff were efficient and helpful. The pool was clean. The rice and curry we had during the evening was nice enough but adapted to Western taste. The breakfast was nicely put together, although personally I was not a fan of the coffee.

We paid $100 for a triple room. This is probably about right for a hotel in this area but I would personally not describe that price as a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    100
    27
    10
    17
See reviews for
77
123
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
506 helpful votes 506 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Greeted by very friendly staff and was astonished with our 2 family rooms. Very spacious, bright, clean and well designed. Hot water showers. Pool was a big hit as you would not want to swim in the sea at Negombo!
Located away from the main road in a quiet side street and a short walk from the beach and shops.
Great value for money (after comparing to 9 other similar properties) and our wonderful time in Sri Lanka was rounded off by a nice send off from the Dutch owner. Thanks for adding to our Sri Lanka experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka. We phoned up as other more expensive places were fully booked and were glad to find a room. The villa was lovely - a very pretty pool and garden setting, very relaxed atmosphere and very comfortable room. The breakfast by the pool was lovely - great atmosphere, and very generous and tasty. We were in an upstairs room which was spacious, and the room layout was very thoughtful. Everything worked well! One small point (made by others I notice) is that the calling of taxis seemed to be an issue. We had to change the time of our taxi to the airport (but did this 1 hour in advance of needing to leave) and this caused all sorts of issues, although was eventually resolved. I also agree with other comments about the excessive cost of cabs from the villa. This final exchange with the villa staff (young men) left a bit of a bad taste in our mouth which was unfortunate as the rest of our experiences had been very positive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We phoned through on the off-chance of a room as all the other quality hotels seemed booked. Based on LP recommendations we were pleased to get a room.

The hotel and grounds are spotlessly clean, tidy and well managed. The room's facilities are good value for Negombo which is expensive by Sri Lankan standards anyway. The location is very quiet and a short stroll from the beach and restaurants. The pool is clean and a delight to use

We had a comfortable stay and are very pleased overall. Thank you.

Just two small issues though: the owner and his wife had a very public shouting match in the pool area and a large oriental cockroach lives under the sink in the kitchen area of Jasmine suite - I guess the second thing is to be expected but not the first?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very sorry to say that this was a big disappointment for us as the start of our holiday in this beautiful country. Room was fine, although very expensive for the USD60 they charged for the night (where an extra 10% service charge and 15% tax was added on top of that). When we tried to speak to the Dutch owner about this she tried to shame us that this was the same everywhere in Sri Lanka and that it was all our perception. This could not be any further from what we have experienced everywhere else where we paid about half of this for about the same level of luxury. Staff was nice and her Sri Lankan husband as well, but she really ruined our stay for us with her quite hostile and non flexible attitude. Prices for transport and other services were also a lot higher at the hotel in comparison to the tour operator just down the stree. We just could not wait to leave here and cut our stay short leaving the next morning. Maybe the other travelers have had the luck to stay at this place when the Dutch lady owner was away, because we do not really understand the raving recommendations this place gets when someone is this unfriendly to their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After a long flight, this hotel was our first impression of Sri Lanka and absolutely not representative for the extremely friendly Sri Lanka people. We arrived late in the morning, but our room wasn't ready jet. That can happen, but a little bit attention and extra care should have been nice. The swimmingpool isn't that much (old, hard wooden beds without soft cussions) and although the room was spacious, it was across the street in the building where the owner, his unfriendly Dutch woman and their family lives. So it feels more like a homestay than a pleasant place for relaxing the first days so please find something else and pay a little bit more of significantly less. The dutch woman wasn't flexible at all, bossy and gave us a very bad first impression of this beautiful country. They overcharge everything and a taxi to our next stop (3 hours drive) was 30 (!) euros more expensive than a tourist office/ gueshouse 30 meters next to them. How arrogant can you be! We booked for several days but decided to leave as soon as we woke up the first morning. We don't write bad comments a lot, but this overpriced place really doesn't deserve all the good recommendations a the various websites and in books like the Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Villa Araliya for our last two nights in Sri Lanka before heading home. Our triple room was called Tourmaline and was basic, with three single beds but we were happy with it. The apartments looked much more stylish. The pool was a great place to relax and prepare for the journey. Breakfast was good but we didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on dinner. Hot water showers were great and we were happy with Stephanie's and her staffs service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Araliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Araliya

Address: 154/10 Poruthota Road | Kochchikade, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negombo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#5 Family Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Araliya Hotel Negombo
Araliya Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Araliya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.