We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Hundira

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Negombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Hundira
Save
You added Villa Hundira to your Saves list
Thalahena, Negombo 11504, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“An honest review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have taken particular care to give this review a proper title, since I notice doubt has been cast on some previous postings. I do not know the owners of this property personally, nor have I been asked to post a favourable review.

We have just spent three totally relaxing nights at Villa Hundira. The rooms are spacious, with lots of little artistic touches. In fact the whole property is charming, with little nooks and crannies to sip a cup of brewed tea, or read a book. The staff are attentive in a totally unobtrusive way. We ate one lunch and two dinners cooked superbly by the talented Surrane. The outstanding dish was a sweet and sour fish curry. Not a western recipe in sight. As previously posted, this is an ideal place to stay at the start or the end of a tour, because it is within a short drive of the airport. Yes, we did hear the odd revving of an engine from a taking off jet. But unless something drastic has changed, VH is not on the flight path. After all, if you want the convenience of being near the airport, then low key aircraft noise is a small price to pay.

We would thoroughly recommend VH and would without a doubt stay there again. Thank you Indira and Rolf for looking after us so well. And a special mention to charming Ravi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Villa Hundira is a wonderful B&B with beautiful surroundings, superb and welcoming hosts, very friendly staff, delicious food and clean and tasteful rooms.
Our room was large with a glasswall with double doorway toward the beautiful, tropocal garden. Our friends room had its glass wall against the stylish swimmingpool.
Breackfast and dinner was served on the verandah, and we where told well in advance of the planned meals and we could have requests. The home cooked food was excellent and beautifully served!
Our hosts, Indira and Rollf, are a wonderful and interesting couple and they tried their very best to make our stay pleasant.

What a great, homely place!!

A big thank you from us!! Hopefully we will be back soon!!

Sigrid and Einar, Iceland (Saudi Arabia)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Perfect accommodation. Close to the airport and at the same time far away. A good starting point to calm down before your travel around Sri Lanka.
We had it all to ourselves.
We were pampered. Lots of hospitality and a very good service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We booked into Villa Hundira for our last three nights in Sri Lanka after reading the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor however, I must now question the bonafidity of some of these reviews (a couple of them are written in such a way as to be somewhat suspect to my eye).
Indeed, the location looks tranquil, the complex is very well designed and spacious, there is much attention to detail, the rooms are sizeable and it is very clean. On arrival, the staff were very attentive and we were given the upstairs room which was lovely and private with a nice view overlooking the grounds of the villa - it all seemed pretty perfect. We were the only guests.
The pool looked a little cloudy but, having not used it, I cannot judge.
All was well until we were awoken in the early hours of the morning by planes going over (our room was actually vibrating). Yes, we were in the flight path, something that the other reviewers have omitted to mention! This went on for some time and settled down around 7am, but we were disturbed an hour later by work going on just across from our room - rocks being noisily loaded into a wheelbarrow and transported to a spot a little further along (this went on all on all morning).
Breakfast was disappointing. It was essentially a greasy fry up of cheap processed sausages, bacon and, in my case, undercooked fried eggs. I tried to explain to the young waiter and cook that I could not eat the latter. I asked for poached eggs, but their English was very limited and they brought me more sausages! (There was no one else around to help.) The fruit plate was unimaginative papaya, but the bread was very good. The tea and coffee was basic - we were given a teapot of hot water, a jar of Nescafé and some Lipton tea bags. Bearing in mind that we were essentially paying 15 USD for breakfast, it was a pretty poor show. What ever happened to fresh coffee and good quality tea?
We had hoped to have a relaxing time there but it was apparent that this was unlikely to happen so, we decided to leave after the one night.
We explained to the owner, Indira, that we were leaving as it was too noisy, but she did not seem to be that bothered. We paid and left. Notably, we were pretty much ignored on leaving and no one offered to call us a tuk tuk even though the villa was at the end of a dusty track nearly 300 metres from the main road. We had no choice but to walk it with our heavy bags. Not hospitality at its best.

On a practical side, a tuk tuk from the centre of Negombo should cost 400-500 LKR.
Villa Hundira is not easy to find and poorly signposted - you have to keep a sharp look out for the sign (white on black). There is a regular bus that runs up and down the main road to and from Negombo. There is very little in the immediate vicinity (maybe a couple of small shops on the main road) so, if you want to eat elsewhere you will have to take a tuk tuk or bus.
Apart from breakfast, we did not eat here. The evening menu had western style food only, but I would imagine they might accommodate other requests.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are glass fronted and look onto the reception area. The upstairs room is more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Villa Hundira is a family-run villa of contemporary design delivering hallmark hospitality. It stands strategically located in the Thalahena neighborhood of Negombo in a strategic sandwich between the lagoon and the sea.

Tranquility permeates the interior and outdoors of this remarkable addition to Sri Lanka's list of boutique hotel lodgings. It is a place to rest, recuperate, reunite and reignite your senses before you return to work. While the ambience of Villa Hundira sets you in the mood, the fresh air energized by the large waterbodies does its wonder towards eliciting your good health. The song of birds and their life does much to return you to the equilibrium needed. The scenery of natural mild colors and flowing energy of the water both in the vicinity and throughout the property help you move on.

It is heartwarming to note the passion to please and excel consistently outdoing commercial interest in the operation here. Rolf is ever passionate about making the guests feel at home while Indira ensures the very hospitality Sri Lankans are known for remains a hallmark here. It is evident she has successfully trained the staff here that have become their extended family.

Whether in housekeeping or in the kitchen, hygiene was spot on while service was sincere; we could not thank them enough! Every room had a theme of its own and it all seemed cozy so we are unable to recommend any in particular! The food was made to order and delicious is the word that comes to mind in every dish we had. Unlike the large commercial hotels, what you ask is what is made for you from scratch and of fresh ingredients. You describe how you like the next meal and they get to work on it.

The kids loved the pool which was in excellent condition. The lawn is impeccably maintained and you can invite friends of honor while feeling honored! Open air dining overlooking the water did much to add taste and character to the dining experience.

Driver accommodation is provided on request and in case you are wondering safety of your ride there is covered parking inside the villa's own garage.

Villa Hundira is an elite boutique hotel run by capable owners. The reliability factor separates the wheat from the chaff. Need I say more?

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Architectural vision, outdoor living and Swedish style meets Sri Lankan hospitality and contemporary design.

Villa Hundira has everything for a relaxing holiday with extended family and friends.

On the shores of the beautiful Ngumbo Lagoon, this contemporary villa has been built by Indira and her husband, former Swedish bike champion, Rolf Tibblin.

Water provides a theme. A stream runs through the property between the viewing areas from which to watch lagoon birds and fishermen early in the morning. Decorative designer pools are crossed by stepping stones and the swimming pool sits in a walled garden, shaded by trees.

The staff were very welcoming and although cooking yourself is an option it would be a pity to miss the Sri Lankan cuisine. Fish, chicken and vegetable curries can be tailored to the most European of palettes. Ask for the Sri Lankan brunch after a dawn wildlife-spotting trip on the Hamilton Canal and in the Mangroves of the lagoon!

Western cuisine is as good as the local dishes. Mushroom, coriander and coconut soup is one of the signature dishes based on Rolf's favourite recipe. Spotting the ingredients of everything that is prepared is made easy as the modern kitchen is partly open-plan and lifting the lids of the bubbling saucepans is a must.

Behind the kitchen is a covered, shaded courtyard which is the location of Indira's lovely 'atelier'. Village residents from the surrounding fishing and farming community make the home furnishings and handcrafts for Indigo, her flagship boutique in Ngumbo town.

Not far from Colombo for a day trip, close to the airport and near the beaches of the five star hotels in Ngumbo there is lots to do if simply relaxing with family and friends is not enough. We wished our four days had been at least a week!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This tranquil and beautiful villa has been designed by its architect owner with great attention to detail. Everywhere you look there is something elegant and interesting to look at. The pool is crystal clear and there are lots of comfortable places to relax, both indoors and out. The villa is run by the family with the help of charming staff who serve delicious food on the verandah. A tuk tuk tour of Negombo or a boat trip on the lagoon are great fun to do. Whether you have just arrived in Sri Lanka after a long flight, or just want to relax, a stay in Villa Hundira is a real treat. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. One of the double rooms has a large room attached which is ideal for unpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Hundira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hundira

Address: Thalahena, Negombo 11504, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Hundira is a private and unqiue lagoon side villa nestled in the back roads of the negombo lagoon, located just 20 minutes from the Bandaranayke International Airport. Offering 5 rooms & 1 suite with all modern amenities , the villa is housed with a swimming pool, a restful view of the lagoon from a very spacious and comfortable pavillion & ample room to jsut relax and enjoy the beauty of the much talked about fishing village in Thalahena , Negombo. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Hundira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.