We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Camelot Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Negombo
1 review
“Worth every penny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Every visit to srilanka keeps me mesmerized , the people and the hospitality are over whelming. Had an opportunity to stay at camelot fa a day, luckily got a room facing the beach, very calm and even the staff's are very kind. Morning walk in d beach and get a glimpse of the catamarans sailing May be because of the proximity to the fishing village its honestly too good to see the boats sailing around in the morning, food too is good here.loved my stay. Looking forward for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    70
    65
    22
    23
See reviews for
44
74
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Camelot Beach Hotel is a good place to stay for travellers who arrive or are about to leave Sri Lanka, since it's close to the international airport, has a nice pool, is very close to the beach on the one hand, and to Negombo town on the other. If you are, however, looking for a romantic stay, or are hoping to be pampered, I'm guessing there are better choices. It's a bit of a generic hotel, without much charm, and slightly outdated, but it's nice to relax here for a day and then move on to your next stop on the island. Free wifi in the lobby and in the restaurant, not in the rooms. Breakfast and dinner choices are fine, but once again: little more than that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monnickendam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Small room without fridge or safety deposit but with good bath room... TV and TV channels are okay. No European electricity plugs (and the hotel will not provide them pro-actively). Wifi only in lobby and restaurant/garden but not in room. Restaurant with very limited buffet choice but fast enough service for drinks (Ps. next to the hotel you'll find plenty of small local restaurants). Nice pool and great ocean view but the beach is not clean enough whereas 3 pool-men from the hotel are constantly hanging around my wife's beach chair doing nothing... let them clean the beach!!! And let them bring towels pro-actively without a focus on a tip. All in all, we only liked the pool... not the people... even a hotel manager accidentally passing by at the reception desk will not welcome you or smile to you!

Room Tip: I don't thibk they do have rooms I can recommend but some have a better ocean and pool-view than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is a truly magical destination offering the best service, amenities, and beauty. Service is top notch, friendly and unobtrusive in all areas - they were all super-friendly. The hotel are beautiful and the rooms are wonderful All in all, we had a wonderful time, and will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnemo, Sverige
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in Negombo.About 20 minutes drive from the international airport and a friendly service. Rooms are outdated, we stayed on the groundfloor overlooking the pool. Everything in the room breaths the word renovation. Rather hard madrasses.
Restaurant was nice with good variety of food.
All in all a good hotel to stay in for one night, but nothing to recommend for more nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First time we've been to Camelot
We never expected but it was wonderful. The rooms were excellent
Food was excellent even the service was very good. Good value for your money.I think we might visit this place again.

Room Tip: We were in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

There is two sides to this hotel, one is old and infested with rats. The other is very modern and beautiful. We got placed in the old until we complained and got moved to the new. They say the rats are birds but I know rat droppings when I see, smell and hear them. The difference between the two sides is so stark you would think you are in a completely different hotel. Other then that the buffet is good, free wifi at the bar and lobby, beach has lots of touts that will hassle you, we seen two different Sri Lankan weddings which was neat, and it is close to the airport.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Beach Hotel

Address: 345 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the tourist zone of Negombo, Camelot Beach Hotel is an excellent venue to bask in the sun lazing around the beach all day long. With its close proximity to the airport, the hotel boasts of International styles with a Sri Lankan touch and unforgettable hospitality. Comfortable accommodation units are offered while guests can enjoy a range of facilities at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Camelot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Beach Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.