We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably priced hotel, reasonably good rooms.. Not the flashiest on the block but we left satisfied.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Camelot Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Negombo
auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced hotel, reasonably good rooms.. Not the flashiest on the block but we left satisfied.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived very late one warm evening in Negombo, for a weeks stay. We were staying at this place due to the location for a charity project, so I wasn't expecting it to be flash .. And everything was average to good.
The air con wasn't working the first night, ( we actually were so exhausted we didn't notice) so when we bought it to the floor managers attention he got it fixed very quickly and even asked the next day if everything was ok and could he do more. I found him extremely helpful and so courteous!
The buffet is a mix of traditional food and western.. I'm a little fussy and like my good plain so I found it average but there was variety.
The 'after work' drinks, in the main big pool along with the sunset views were the best!!
All n all a good stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    70
    69
    22
    23
See reviews for
45
74
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here one night this week due 2 my flight stop over The check in was quick and staff were very polite Room was of nice size and i found mine 2 be clean and well kept Was disapointed not 2 find a minibar or fridge in room and no safe Was also disapointed there was no tea/coffee makeing facilities in room > Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice Location very good and had 2 very nice looking pools It does have wifi which i managed 2 use in my room I would stay again purely for location and the friendly staff

Room Tip: Room 118 i found was very well presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The only good thing about the hotel is the location. It is nearby the beach; however we were advised not to go there after dark....
One swimming pool looks clean, however if you look at the second, you start to wonder...

The rooms are dated, dirty ... Our shower was full of mold and apparently we got one of the renovated rooms... I wonder how the other rooms looked like.

Breakfast was nothing special and buffet dinner in the evening neither.

Room Tip: Look for an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is right on the beach, thats great and not too far from the Airport. A little pricey... and room was pretty average... I requested for some assistance for a vehicle who can take me to Kandy and show me the places around... The driver didn't keep his word and at every stage wanted to cheat me... So a bad experience on that front... This guy did not show me the promised places and was rude.. This spoilt my SL experience..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A group of 94 new zealanders spent a week at this hotel. We were doing a build for Habitat for Humanity. Having read the reviews we were a little unsure what we would find.
We had a wonderful 9 days. The food (especially the breakfast ) was excellent although we did tire of curry. The staff were wonderful and very friendly and helpful. The rooms are tired but ours was warm & dry with air con & plenty of hot water.The rooms were serviced daily & they allowed us to stay in our room until 9.00 pm on our day of departure.The pool area was very clean with excellent service. The way of payment at pool bar certainly needs upgrading

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent one night at this Hotel paid 70$ without Breakfast. No mosquito net!! The bathroom was full of spiders. We went downstairs to tell them to clean the bathroom and take the spiders away. We came back after dinner (about 3 hours) still the same. The mattress was too soft we woke up with some back pain. The bed was dirty full of hair and the leak where with full of spot !!
We wish we could turn back time I would never ever go again !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is getting a bit tired now and due for a refurb but nevertheless I had a comfortable week there.
The restaurant is quite good and the beachside pool and bar are great -the pool was very well maintained.
My main complaint would be that the guest rooms are are a bit "tired" however everthing worked but you would definetly want a room in the newer block overlooking the pool and beach. The air con was very rattely and noisy and you had to sleep with it on as it was so hot so earplugs.The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Beach Hotel

Address: 345 Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the tourist zone of Negombo, Camelot Beach Hotel is an excellent venue to bask in the sun lazing around the beach all day long. With its close proximity to the airport, the hotel boasts of International styles with a Sri Lankan touch and unforgettable hospitality. Comfortable accommodation units are offered while guests can enjoy a range of facilities at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Camelot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Beach Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.