We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay after flight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo Airport Hostel Negombo Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colombo Airport Hostel Negombo Beach to your Saves list
Colombo Airport Hostel Negombo Beach
42, Kannattha Para | (Cemetery Road), Eitthukala, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Habarana, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“short stay after flight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

i arrived in Sri Lanka at midnight and i had arranged a airport pick up, however when i arrived there was nobody there to collect me. I didnt have a phone to call the number or any change to use the public phone but thankfully Sri Lankan phone desks opperate 24/7 and i managed to phone them and i awoke whoever was on the other line. i caught a taxi and got to the hostel finally at 2 am.
the accomodation is modest but clean and the breakfast is basic.
good short stay for flying.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
墨田区, 東京都
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a dorm for 1 night. Although it was described as "10 bed dorm" on Booking.com, there were actually some rooms separated by curtain, which made me feel more comfortable than expected.

The hostel is located bit far from the rail station / main bus terminal of Negombo. You need to take a bus / tuktuk to get to the hostel.

My only complaint was they do not have a proper sign outside. (Very sorry if I just missed it.) Because of that, I had to wander around with my backpacks about 30 minutes. (It caused a meeting with an amazingly helpful local family, which was my best memory in Negombo, though.)

After check in, everything went very well. Especially, staff was very helpful. Yet there was no security locker in my dorm, he could keep my stuff in the staff locker. He kindly served breakfast before I asked, gave me a direction to the next destination, etc.

Positives
- nice, helpful staff
- cozy, spacious dorm with individual mosquito net
- free breakfast
- computer with free Internet

Negatives
- no sign outside

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place ticks all the boxes really, nothing is exceptional and their was a couple issues. The bottom room I stayed in first and picked up a few mozzy bites. My gf and I moved to the private upstairs and that was definitely more pleasant. Though the toilet door was broken and I walked in on a dude. Generally alright and happy with the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here after my arrival to Sri Lanka. Airport pickup for a reasonable price works perfect. They have private and dorm rooms (with shared bathroom), both clean and provided with mosquito nets (you need them!). The owners were very friendly, the lady smiles all the time and introduces you to the Sri Lankan kitchen with delicious fried rice. Keep in mind that the city of Colombo is actually quite far from the airport whereas Negombo is only a 15 minute drive. Would stay here again at the start or end of my trip!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very clean and in good location nearly the beach and tourist area. Kanthi , the lady who is responsible of the hostel, is very nice and make very good food. She make you feel that you are home so you enjoy your staying in this hostel. Free breakfast, free coffee and tea whole the day! Free wifi. Linen and towel include. Cheap airport drop. I will for sure stay here again if I come back to Negombo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very clean, warm shower, nice breakfast including. Owner is so kind and lovely, you absolutely want to come back :) Ask rice and curry for dinner, it's delicious ! Really good quality for good price. I recommend warmly :) (and btw, I'm quite picky for where I sleep haha)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hostel has a very friendly staff and it is ultra-clean. The rooms are really nice and the breakfast is delicious! The location is also very convenient!I felt really at home here. It is a good place to stay either you come to Sri Lanka or you are leaving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colombo Airport Hostel Negombo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Airport Hostel Negombo Beach

Address: 42, Kannattha Para | (Cemetery Road), Eitthukala, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 minutes drive to Colombo airport, walking distance to paradise Negombo beach, trendy restaurants , clubs , star hotels and vibrant night life. Our highest rated Network of hostels is the best way to expolre Sri Lanka , Guranteed. Our best rated network of hostels around the country and ready made information pack with friendly assistance have made exploring Sri Lanka simply easy. Limited time promotion - Pay for 7 days and stay 14 days mix & match accomodation in our high rated hostels in Kandy, Colombo,Negombo & Hikkaduwa. From the moment you landed to airport ,Kick start your memorable Sri Lanka Back packing experience . Meet fellow travelers, share experiences and be relax in the beach during the day and enjoy Night life later at night. It is also a place where you can stay before leaving Sri Lanka. You can take bus, Tuk Tuk or taxi and reach Colombo Air port safely and on time . We are not only close to airport but also at the centre of Negombo's hotel district and Night life . Where We are located is surrounded with restaurants, pubs, gem merchants, and star hotels. A newly built spacious house with large living room , dining area , kitchen and 5 dorms . There are frequent buses and trains in between Colombo City Center and Negombo town /High way located at Short distance from our Hostel. By Tuk Tuk Just 2US dollars ( Rs 200) from Negombo Bus Stand /Train station By Tuk Tuk 6 US dollars from Air port ( 15 mins Drive ). Free WiFi / cable TV Free Bread , Butter , Jam , tea and coffee Self catering facilities Relaxed , informal , Friendly Atmosphere Discounts to our other hostels When you reach Colombo Air Port Hostel . Negombo Beach you will see cafes, jewelry shops, shops, and banks are around you. You don't have to go take a taxi for them. All of them within walking distance. It is a short walk to sea from Colombo Air Port Hostel . Negombo Beach and a few minutes Tuk Tuk drive (2 dollars) to Negombo town . Negombo is a Historical Dutch town which still keep it's colonial atmosphere wheres Old Dutch Fort and the Dutch Canal are two main attractions. Also you can visit Sri Lanka's largest fish market . We are specialized in organizing budget/back packing tours all around Sri Lanka . Just speak to us and we will share our experience. . Organizing public transport to Anuradhapura cultural city for 4$ And Kandy for 3 US dollars. So If you are coming to Srilanka , choose us to stay If you are leaving Srilanka , choose us to stay 42, Kannattha Para (Cemetery Road), Eitthukala , Negombo, SriLanka. Quick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Colombo Airport Hostel Negombo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo Airport Hostel Negombo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.