We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel J to your Saves list
Hotel J
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   331/1, Lewis Place, Negombo Beach, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 99 Negombo B&B and Inns
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

This new hotel has bright, comfortable rooms and a very nice pool area overlooking Negombo beach. Located on the main beach strip in Negombo it's easy to walk to restaurants in the area. We were happy with our stay here - Good value! As Negombo is close to the airport, Hotel J is an excellent option if you (like we) need a relaxed place to before or after an flight.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Hotel J in December 2013.

At Hotel J we greatly value our guests feedback as we constantly strive to maintain the highest level of personalized service at all the times. It was very encouraging to note that you were overall satisfied with the product we have on offer.

Thank you once again for staying with us and it was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel J and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely

Alex edirisinghe
Team Leader
Hotel J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    43
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
77
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked a partial sea view for our last night in Sri Lanka in what was the most expensive accomodation so far. We wanted to treat ourself. Well this was the worse view we had during our whole trip. Basically our balcony overlooked garbages and big tanks of water of the hotel and if you stretch your neck you'll see one palm tree and 5cm of sea.
We went to the reception and asked to have a room on the other side (no garbage view) but the only thing we were offered was to upgrade to full sea view (20$ more). They only put you there so that you upgrade and were not helpful in finding another room....
Anyway, that being said the rooms are PERFECT, and you are basically paying for that. Good water pressure.
We also asked for a late check out, and were told it would cost 70$ !!! basically you just pay another night...We instead stayed around the pool aread until midnight and had some drinks, which was nice and no one complained. Staff wdre helpful in getting things in and out of the luggage storage for us.
Everything in the hotel is expensive and subject to government taxes. Roof top bar is nice place to watch the sunset and have a drink.
Pool is OK though small. Area around the pool is not very clean, people's glasses stay around the whole day on the grass...no one comes to clean them. and you get hassled by soooo many vendors the whole day when you lie down and want to relax, this is really annoying....
Overall....avoid Negombo, or stay just a quick night on your way in/out. When we arrived for instance we took a taxi directly to the southern beaches (took 2h30)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel J. We were delighted to read that you found the room to be perfect as you describe it and that you enjoyed the evening cocktail on the roof top.

We have noted your other comments related to the cleaning of glasses around the pool and the beach vendors. Thank you for pointing out those matters to my attention and I can assure you we will be looking into them.

In regards to the room allocation with different views, we can assure you that in no way it is our intention to give a room to our guest with the purpose of having them to pay for an upgrade. As you have certainly notice through your extensive travels, not all rooms can have the best view in any hotels, thus some price difference, similarly to a music concert, a theatre play or a football match. Hotel J is no exception and we do have indeed different room category with different view commanding different prices.

We certainly regret that the view from your room was not what you expected and fully understand your disappointment.

Thank you once again for staying with us and it was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Beach and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in booking a more suitable room for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alex Edirisinghe
Team Leader
Hotel J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just what we wanted to chill after our flight from Heathrow. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The pool was adaquate and the view out of the room on to the beach was great.
The hotel did lack any great ambiance but as we were only there for one night that was not really an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel J, Manager at Hotel J, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave behind some thought about your stay at Hotel J on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback with regards to the cleanliness comfort and the location of the hotel.

Once again we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel J for another memorable holiday. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance

Sincerely,

Alex Edirisinghe,
Hotel J Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great Hotel very Modern and ideal for Airport stop over, great rooms with huge shower.
Had breakfast here which was really good.
Nice pool overlooking beach.
Staff all seemed friendly but i only stayed 1 night.

Room Tip: Go for Sea View if you there in the day as you can watch the Dolphins from your balcony. Side Sea r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel J, Manager at Hotel J, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor following your short stay at Hotel J Negombo Sri Lanka.

We appreciate your comments on the Hotel and your feedback on the friendliness of our associates, which I have no miss to share with them

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel J for another memorable holiday. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Alex Edirisinghe
Hotel J Team leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed with family, for a Friday night. We had booked two rooms, an ocean and semi-ocean view room.

Arrived around 5pm, but had trouble finding the hotel as the signage is very small and easy to miss (Lewis Place is a long road on which most beach hotels in Negombo are on), and the hotel is down a narrow by-way off Lewis Place. For those who don't find it, it is just before the Camelot Hotel (if arriving from Colombo side).

The lobby and dining area are one, and are very colourful and airy. That said however, there is a drain that runs outside the hotel and the smell of sewage tends to linger around as you enter and exit the hotel. The single lift is enough for four adults at a time (if you don't have luggages). The hotel has a very small swimming pool (about the square footage of a shipping container if I were to be specific) that seems unnecessary given that the ocean is mere meters away.

The rooms are very comfortable and airy. Their size is larger than the average budget traveller would be accustomed to, which is a positive step. There is an LCD TV and a decent sized safe. The bathroom is clean and neat, with a powerful shower. The LG air conditioner is where the signs of extreme cost cutting manifest - it is possibly the cheapest one in LG's catalogue and works very hard to maintain the room at 22 degrees celcius - being a local this was cool enough for me; I am sure foreigners from colder climes would find it a bit trying. I stuck a piece of paper into the key card power slot while I was out so that the AC could work and keep the room cool while I was out as it was a sea view room with the sun streaming in. The AC was also quite noisy at night. The hotel would do better to invest in higher BTU machines for the rooms, particularly the sea view ones that get direct sunlight around 4pm-6pm. The bed is a little on the firm side, as are the pillows but nothing too hard; I had a good night's sleep. There is no fire plan of any sort in the room, so make yourself very familiar on how to get out of the hotel in an emergency!

The Wi-Fi in this hotel is definitely one of the best in a Sri Lankan hotel - even beats the Wi-Fi in most 4 and 5 star resorts hands down! These guys have gotten one of the "basic needs" of most travellers spot on.

There is a rooftop bar that is a great place to relax, have a drink and watch the sunset, punctuated by flocks of birds and the occasional airliner taking off/landing at the nearby international airport. Pity that it is only open from 5pm to 8pm - what a waste of a facility, as I am sure guests would like to have an "after dinner drink" there as well, with the sound of the sea in the background. Hotel J can capitalize on this space more and they should.

The breakfast is basic fare - they offer a choice of Sri Lankan or Continental included in the B&B rate. Extras such as omelettes, sausages, etc....are charged seperately. The Sri Lankan breakfast consisted of Kiribath (milk rice) with onion sambol and fish curry. The milk rice serving was generous as was the sambol, however the fish piece in the curry was about one square inch. Cost cutting at the very extreme! This was further reinforced by the cut fruits in the Continental breakfast - I have never come across a hotel that gives just 1/3rd of a banana! Surely, giving a full banana won't run the place into bankruptcy! On the positive side, the fruit juice and hot chocolate were tasty and the omelette was very good too.

They offer a very basic set menu and a la carte for dinner, but there are plenty of places just outside the hotel on the main road for a meal, and a convenience store directly opposite. You will want to purchase bottled water from outside as the hotel does not have any in the rooms.

The staff are friendly and helpful but there is a definite language barrier - they don't know proper or in some cases, basic English! In a hotel where 95% of the clientèle is foreign, this is a serious shortcoming that needs to be rectified. Their enthusiasm and warmth will go unnoticed if they fail to understand what a guest wants.

Finally, there seems to be a serious disconnect between the hotel and the head office. We had requested for the suite from the head office but were told that it was fully booked up. However, upon checking out we asked the receptionist about the occupancy and were informed that the suite had been in fact free! Had we known, we would have definitely taken it.

Overall, I would return to this place, but I would take a sea view room, and hope that the shortcomings have been addressed by then.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms offer the best views and largest balconies, particularly on the 2nd and 3rd floors. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Hotel J. Thank you for sharing your experience and observations and for taking the time to write a detailed review on Trip Advisor.

While we strive to maintain the highest standards in customer care and in providing good facilities and service, we very much welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. We have noted your observations and recommendations for improvement and we will do our best in trying to rectify these issues. Thank you for pointing them out to my attention.

We are awaiting to welcoming you back at Hotel J and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in planning your next visit to Hotel J.

Sincerely,

Alex Edirisinghe
General Manager
Hotel J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Our tour organizer told us we would be staying in a three star hotel, so arriving at hotel J was an unpleasant surprise. It is, at best, a one star, very basic budget hotel. The building is all concrete with the rooms arranged around galleries, with nothing to soften the sound so every noise was magnified, day and night. People seemed to be arriving and leaving at all times so our sleep was frequently disturbed. Our room had a view of the ocean but contained nothing but a rather hard bed, two thin pillows, no blanket, a poured concrete desk with chipped paint, a small armchair, very thin blind at the window and a basic bathroom with no toiletries except a tiny bar of soap (shampoo, etc had to be purchased). Although only a few months old, it was already beginning to get shabby - scuffed walls, chipped paint, dirty baseboards and some furniture showing signs of wear. The staff were mostly very charming but not very well trained, service was slow and the breakfast was basic. Prices are usually reasonable but can be over $120 / night, which is definitely not worth paying.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at Hotel J in Negombo, Sri Lanka.

We sincerely regret that your tour organizer miss-led you by mentioning that Hotel J is a three star hotel. Although it offers high quality bedding, powerful and versatile shower, air conditioning, flat screen television, safety deposit box and uncompromised security, all in a central location, Hotel J is not positioned as a star rated hotel but is indeed best described as a “budget” hotel, as you mentioned, or a limited service hotel as we like to call it.

With the above in mind, it is correct that a locally produced coconut soap is available in the bathroom while any other bathroom amenities can be purchased, which is the common practice in limited service hotel. You certainly noticed as well that we provide at a very reasonable price so swimming equipments, for our guests to enjoy the swimming pool which faces the beach and the Indian Ocean.

We apologize if the guest traffic in the hotel disturbed your sleep but you will appreciate that Hotel J is a popular place, well appreciated by guests, as per numerous testimonials on Trip Advisor.

Let me thank you for pointing out some of the defects and maintenance issues you noticed, as your feedback will greatly assist us in working on immediate rectifications and we thank you for that.

Again, it is unfortunate that you were wrongly informed of what Hotel J is about as with the correct information your expectation would have been different and you would have then enjoyed the experience.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hotel J and please do not hesitate to contact me directly, so I can personally ensure your next stay is a more pleasant one.

Sincerely,
Alex edirisinghe
Hotel J Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on arrival from UK. Basic hotel but has all the essentials-clean, good bed, good shower, comfortable sun beds, good reasonably priced food, near to restaurants. Wonderfully friendly and attentive staff led by Nilanthi who treats staff and guests with respect and as a big family. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel J, General Manager at Hotel J, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a splendid review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Hotel J Negombo, Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you were extremely pleased with the product and the personalized service of our team. We have conveyed your message to our team and they are very thankful.

It was nice to note that you liked the location the facilities Hotel J offers and the prices .

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to having you back with us for another memorable holiday. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Hotel J.

Sincerely,

Alex Edirisinghe
Team Leader
Hotel J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Address: 331/1, Lewis Place, Negombo Beach, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel J 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel J, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.