We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre and rather disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Leaf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maple Leaf Hotel to your Saves list
Maple Leaf Hotel
Sea Street, Palangature, Negombo 53465, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 99 Negombo B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bizarre and rather disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is the type of place where you end up having conversations with other guests about just how weird the whole set-up is. Rooms half-built, meagre breakfast, disgusting smells emanating from open pipes in the bathroom and service straight out of Basil Fawlty's book.

First up, check in: I'm not usually one to complain about this process, but I've never been left for 40 minutes sitting on a concrete bench before. We'd pre-booked, checked the day before that our booking had been received and arrived at 5pm. Surely by this time all the rooms that were going to be in use that day would have been made up? Not here. And the typical Sri Lankan custom of a cup of tea on arrival? Definitely not.

The room was large with A/C, as you'd expect for what, at US$55, was the most we'd paid for a room during our 2 week trip around the wonderful Sri Lanka. The aforementioned smells from the tiny bathroom were nasty and the pool is a lot smaller than appears in the photo.

The service was below average and appeared to be a learning process rather than the typically exemplary Sri Lankan style. All up, it takes a lot more than installing a few LCD lightbulbs to make a decent hotel experience and I'd recommend experiencing Sri Lanka elsewhere. Really, I'm being kind with the 2 stars as maybe it'll get better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very Pleasure Stay at the Maple Leaf. Great rooms with all facilities. Room and the bathroom are very clean and fresh smell all the time. Modern bathroom equipment have been Fitted. Great service from the staff. Very nice swimming pool.
The food in the restaurant is really very good. We will stay there again on my next visit to Negombo. I will highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great value for money. Triple rooms at the pool side are very big and designed well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We paid USD 55 per night for an A/C room with breakfast. In summary, we did not feel the room was good value for money.

What was good: very friendly and helpful staff. Nice location whilst not on the beach, was directly across the street. You can access the beach through the posh Jetwing hotel and use their bar, beach chairs etc (if you buy a drink of course.)

What was bad: charmless poorly maintained rooms that are apparently only cleaned on request. Tiny threadbare towels. No safe. No blankets! Yes you read that right! Yes it's a hot country but the bed is only made up with a sheet and there is air-con! When I asked he said they actually had no blankets! Breakfast meager and inconsistent.

Yes you can pay much more on the strand and this is a "budget" option - but you get a better deal for $55 in the US or Eurpe...and this is Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located in a rather quiet area of Negombo - near cementery.
The proximity to the airport is nice compared to Colombo. Rooms are spacious and clean at a first glance. TV and fridge and AC in the room.
There was a really bad smell coming from the bathroom which just turned the nice room into a place where you don't want to stay for long. Wifi didn't work in the room and the owner tends to come up with rather lame excuses for about everything you inquire, even if you mention that you've read other reviews commenting on these things.
The 27% extra charge in addition to the price advertised is just shocking when you get the invoice at the end of your stay. 70 USD per night is just way too much for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having some hard winter in europe in few hours woow i got to island of Srilanka where sun sea and rice..I have found maple leaf great hotel right next to Negombo's best hotel "jet wing sea" with same room condition but magic price even you cant imagine. All I want to say is just visit this hotel and compare room price, food and hospitality ..excellent value for money with great swimming pool where I did stay 3 night with unbelievable taste of food, fast wifi internet connection,

we had good shower with hot water , and excellent feeling of air condition. thank you Sri lanka and maple leaf..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Its not on the beach. And it's right next to a cemetery. Hope you are not too squeamish.

The rooms are basic but clean and quiet. We paid 7000 each night from Agoda. Seems a bit expensive when you consider the even more basic breakfast and no frills. The pool is disappointingly small. We coughed up the extra 1k per person to use the more picturesque pool at the Jetwing Sea across the road.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Visited Negombo for 1 night and stayed at the Maple Leaf which is situated along the main road where most hotels and restaurants are.

The room was quite spacious with fridge, lcd tv, air conditioning and celing fan. Bed was comfortable and the shower was lovely (nice to have hot water!).

We had an early check out and requested an early breakfast which was accomodated. Staff were friendly and helpful All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Leaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Hotel

Address: Sea Street, Palangature, Negombo 53465, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Leaf Hotel is a brand new construction near the Negombo beach. With its elegance, vintage charm, and stately ambiance, the Maple Leaf Hotel is an oasis of quiet luxury for business and leisure travelers in Negombo which is just 15 minutes drive from the Bandaranayake International airport. The most important plus point to the hotel is the management of the hotel who are having an vast exposure to foreign taste and tourism. The whole chain of services reflects the international touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Maple Leaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Leaf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.