We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Sea to your Saves list
Jetwing Sea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palangathurai, Kochchikade, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Negombo
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

amazing Food,amazing services, hospitable staff. a service in bathroom wasnt working when we told that we are on honey moon they upgraded us to a superior suite free of cost & even provided us packed breakfast before the kitchen was open in order for us to catch our flight 7am with stuffed tummies

i would highly recommend it to any honeymooners out there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Making your special time at Jetwing Sea that much more special and memorable is what we are here for and it was nothing short of a pleasure to have done just that.

We were thrilled that you have been happy whilst with us and thank you for some lovely comments on Trip Advisor and your recommendation of our hotel to any honeymooners and fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We have shared your thoughts with the entire team and all associates were very pleased to hear of your feedback.

We look forward to the day when we will see you once again at Jetwing Sea, to relive the wonderful moments you spent with us. Please be in touch with me directly for matters I may be of any assistance while you reserve your next stay with Jetwing Sea!

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    299
    109
    40
    25
See reviews for
139
419
38
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night at as it was so close to the Colombo Airport. Fantastic location right on the beach in Negombo, which is a lovely alternative to Colombo. Our first stay in Sri Lanka and what a start! Our room was fantastic, the beach was amazing, and the breakfast we ate at the hotel was buffet style and all very tasty. The hotel has two pools, we only swam in one but that was over 25m long which is amazing for a hotel pool. We only stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed for longer as we really enjoyed Negombo and this hotel. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow! What a great Trip Advisor review of your stay at Jetwing Sea and the recommendation is like icing on the cake!

Thank you for some lovely comments about your experience at Jetwing Sea and we were very happy to note that it has been a memorable one. Service is an area in which we always endeavor to achieve the highest possible standards and therefore we are very pleased that you have been satisfied with the overall service at our hotel.

We do look forward to the day when you will be returning to us for a longer stay so that we get the opportunity to truly pamper you in the luxury that is unique to Jetwing Sea!

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife & I have just returned from a 13 day holiday in Sri Lanka, during which we stayed at four hotels. The Jetwing Sea in Negombo was our first hotel, where we stayed for two nights.

Kuoni had recommended the Jetwing Sea as our first hotel as it was a relatively short journey after our flight. Our room was spacious and very well equipped and immaculately clean. It had a large bed with plenty of additional room and had a large bath with a UV down light and a large shower. The room had a safe and a fridge and we found robes, an iron and an ironing board and slippers in a cupboard. The beach was clean and clutter free although the solitary pool had some scum on the water and many of the mosaic tiles were beginning to fall off. The staff were welcoming, industrious and attentive.

Unfortunately my wife was violently sick on both mornings after breakfast, we are both seasoned travellers and used to the climate and to spicy / seasoned food. There were only a couple of dishes cooked to order for breakfast, either fish or something from the egg station, all of the other food was either laid out on open plates in an air conditioned room or in warmers in the main dining area. The selection of food was the poorest of the four hotels we stayed at and regrettably was at best luke warm, despite the warmers. This I subsequently discovered was because they set up the food over an hour before opening of the dining (I even took a time stamped photograph for the food being laid out an hour before dinner on the second night). The selection of food was the poorest of the four hotels and many of the dishes were not replenished often enough, making the choices even more limited. In some forty years of travelling abroad this is the only time either of us have had any major stomach problems and I can only surmise that my wife’s severe vomiting on two consecutive days was down to the preparation and temperature of the food at this hotel, which is a shame as everything else about the hotel was as we had anticipated. If the food issue is something that can be addressed by the management then it would be a good initial location but only for a short stay as, like many Sri Lankan hotels, there is little else to do other than relax or go out on an excursion.

Whilst our room exceeded our expectations the overall impression of the hotel was that it was a little rough around the edges as many things weren't quite as well maintained as they should have been. Other reviews mentioned the crows, they were certainly there in abundance and although initially amusing they did eventually become annoying, if for no other reason than the sheer abundance of crows. This is purely down to the location and there is very little that the hotel can do to dissuade them.

Whilst our room was excellent, if you don’t want to risk the food then try another hotel as the alternative of eating out in the town is not recommended by the travel representatives.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

A heartfelt thank you to you for reviewing your stay at Jetwing Sea and for your very constructive thoughts posted on Trip Advisor.

We at Jetwing Sea always endeavored to give our guests a stay experience like no other, something very unique, and do accept our sincere apology if we have failed to live up to your expectation in regards to the food preparation and presentation. However we do our best to make sure that we meet the needs and wants of each and every person who stays with us, and rest assured that all points highlighted by you will be addressed and corrected immediately.

We certainly were very concerned to hear about your wife’s discomfort on two occasions and the matter has our full attention. We have not experienced such situation from other guests in the past but nevertheless we will review the set up time and preparation of the dishes with the kitchen team.

We were however happy to note that you have enjoyed the accommodation and the service provided by our associates. We have also taken to heart your comments with regards to some maintenance matters, which will be taken care of as soon as possible. Thank you for pointing this out to our attention.

I hope you will give us one more chance by opting to stay with us on your next visit and we would love to take that opportunity to give you an out of this world experience.
Hoping you will not miss to stay in touch with me directly for any assistance you may require my attention while reserving your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a tour of Sri Lanka, we were due to returner the end of the tour but changed hotels - couldn't face a second stay!
Room was fine, we were in the new block, the corridors resembled prison but I could live with that.
Breakfast - sweaty fly infested buffet with some dubious mouldy bread
Lunch mouldy bun but the staff were not overly bothered
Service - it took almost a hour and 3 attendants to get a towel at poolside for my children - a shabby ripped towel eventually arrived.
Poolside drinks - took about 30 mins and a can of beer was handed to me - no glass
The dining room was grim, slow service, wild squirrels running over the clean laid tables- ready for people to dine on!
The hotel is 3* at best. Apparently the jetwing beach is better (local guides/drivers seem to think so)but can not speak from experience
It is a shame about this hotel, better management could address many of the issues.

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

We are truly sorry that your experience with us has been less than perfect. If our service has let you down in any way, then it is certainly a serious matter to us. We have taken very serious note of all your comments, and can assure you that we will work on the same and improve wherever possible, so that situations of this kind will not be repeated at our hotel.

We do trust that you will look beyond this incident and find it in your heart to give us another chance to give you an improved experience during your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for queries where I could be of any assistance with.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

March 2014 booked through kuoni. Right on beach. Restaurant open to beach complete with guards scaring off birds whilst you eat. Fabulous service throughout our stay. All the staff without exception couldnt do enough for us and always smiling.

Stayed in deluxe room overlooking beach which had a wonderful view of the ocean and boats. Looked like paradise. Large balcony with sunbed, table and chairs. 2nd floor and completely private in that when sitting you cannot be seen from the beach. Large bathroom with bath, separate rainshower and connecting wardrobe and window to bedroom. Good airconditioning essential with the 37c temperatures. Comfy bed but pillows could have been better. Mini bar very reasonable with beer and coke. Tea and coffee but horrible creamer powder. Just bought milk up from breakfast.

stayed for 2 nights on breakfast and evening meal basis. Huge breakfast selection. Cooked section and separate airconditioned room for cold buffet choices. Evening meal also buffet with wonderful selection. Also ate in the beach fish restaurant one evening. Superb! Fish is chosen and then freshly cooked. Eating under your own thatched canopy, looking out to sea right on the beach surrounded by torches.

Hotel is situated right next to the fishing village, away from the main shops and restaurants. A tuk tuk costs about 150 rps and takes 5 mins. Walking takes about 15 mins. Tuk tuks always around. Cash is king in negumbo and the only ATM is at the opposite end the main strip a good 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Used the spa for a massage on arrival which is on the roof. Guests are seen in separate little chalets. Very good value. 2 swimming pools and sunbeds and towels obtained from bar areas. Lots of sun bed reserving early morning which really feel the management should address. Best beds under palm trees always 'reserved' by 8am and sometimes left unused till pm.

Checked out the other jetwings hotels along this stretch, Blue and Lagoon, but the Sea definitely had the edge for us on atmosphere and beach location. The other jetwings are very glossy and luxurious but the sea felt more personal and relaxed.

Room Tip: Room in north wing overlooking beach. Balcony secluded and view of sunrise and sunset beautiful. Jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We loved reading your detailed review of Jetwing Sea posted on Trip Advisor following your stay and were thrilled at the wonderful comments you have shared with your fellow travelers.

There is nothing more pleasing to us than knowing that your stay at Jetwing Sea has been a memorable and fantastic experience. We loved reading each and every word of your review and it has encouraged us a great deal. We have also noted your comments with regards to reserving of the sun beds and the creamer that accompanied the in room tea and coffee and rest assured we will make necessary amendments where applicable.

Thank you so very much once again for your kind words and we look forward to the day when we will be able to welcome you again to Jetwing Sea! Hope you will not miss to contact me directly for matters where I could be of any assistance with.

Sincerely,

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Used this hotel twice flying in and out of Colombo, as it is not far from the Airport. Agree with others that the Buffet Restaurant offered a good choice of food, but the rooms in the South Block need urgent updating.. The Bathrooms are very small, the extractor fan wasn't working, and we had to be moved to another room because of an unhealthy smell! As for the position of the Hotel right on the sandy beach, OK, but a pity there was a lot of rubbish scattered along the shoreline. Maybe the more expensive rooms are better, but for the 250$ a night charge, I will not be returning. There are better options nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid The South Block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Sea, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Allow me to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in the initial room we allocated you, due to a malfunction of the ceiling fan. I was however pleased to learn that you were immediately given a room change to a room with a better location.

As we do with all feedback, we will review your points with the entire team so that we can continue to make improvements where required. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and please accept again our sincere apologies.

Perhaps will you give us another chance to show you we can do better and I would personally ensure your stay is a more comfortable one. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any matters you may think I could be of assistance with.

Sincerely

Rookamanie Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have just been staying 10 days in Jetwing Sea in Sri Lanka. I am blow away of all the good service and personality that all the staff have. It is not that offen that you see the staff so happy and smiling all time :).

The food tats very good, I like the buffet in the main restaurent, but also the small fish restaurent at the beach is very very good :). And you can have you feeds en the white sand in the same time that you taste at yellow tuna - That is so NICE :).

I hope everybody will give them self a chance to go to the hotel Jetwing Sea.

All my best from
Martin
Denmark

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Sea

Address: Palangathurai, Kochchikade, Negombo 11540, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sea Shells Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#5 Family Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach at your doorstep, Jetwing Sea offers an idyllic coastal retreat along the soft golden sands of Negombo and makes for an enchanting holiday home where one can work, play and fall in love. Enjoy exotic seafood, plan a sunset wedding or unwind at the rooftop spa, serenaded by the sounds of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Sea Hotel Negombo
Sea Shells Negombo
Negombo Sea Shells Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.