We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Blue to your Saves list
Jetwing Blue
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Negombo
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Jetting Blue for two weeks from mid April. We were bowled over by the level of service we received from all the staff at the resort.
Check in was a breeze and we were very efficiently shown our room. The first room was not to our liking so we decided to opt for a junior suite, which we did not regret at all.
All of the rooms are facing the beach and the sea. The sea can be quite rough with big breakers. These are fun to jump around in but the rip current is quite strong.

Breakfast was a marvellous affair with plenty of choice of local dishes and also european/English options, once again, the staff were very attentive without intruding.

There were plenty of sun beds available and the pool boys were always eager to bring you your mattress and beach towels. We decided to stay on the poolside hard standing which is adjacent to the beach, this meant we weren't bothered by the several sellers that camped on the beach daily, although from what we saw, they were all good mannered and happily accepted a polite no.

We did have a few issues when a large wedding group arrived for a four day wedding event. These were raised with management and we received a personal visit at the poolside from Hyacinth, the general manager. She dealt with our issues immediately very much to our satisfaction. That level of service is rare in our experience, thank you Hyacinth.
I must mention some stars amongst the staff who went the extra mile to make our stay even better. Rain, our room boy, Barbara from the restaurant, Menuka from reception and last but not least at all, Kumendra, the trainee manager from the restaurant, who it appeared made it his personal goal to ensure we were very much looked after. He was a star, thank you.
We will definitely be back, thank you Jetting Blue

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    308
    97
    43
    27
See reviews for
171
316
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this Hotel with my family (three of us) on 10th May 2015 in room number 114. Unfortunately they had a wedding function with music and dancing next to my room and I called the reception to find out the close out time of this event. She said 11.30pm, this is not regular for a 5 star hotel and for the price we pay. Then the event did not finished as she said, then people started walking along the corridor till 1.30am and I had to open the room door for few times to see whats going on!

I am a Sri Lankan living abroad, but they treat locals badly, that's the feeling i got!!!

Should improve your hospitality!

Room Tip: Do not go near restaurant area!!! I requested but they rejected!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Reached late night. Check-in was quick. The room was huge and clean. Beds were comfy. Toilets clean. It had the see through glass panels from the rooms. Romantic. Balcony was decent and sea view was great!.

We were early for breakfast and the food was fresh. Good spread of both Sri Lankan and Western breakfast.

The dining room was open on one side where you can have a good view of the sea. 2 dogs came and sat down near us and patiently waited for us to give them food. Staff helped to chase the dogs away.

Hilarious moment: Hubby took 2 chicken pieces and 3 slices of bread and left his food on the dining table to go get his fruit juices. Came back and realised that one of his chicken pieces and a slice of bread was missing. Culprit was one of the crows that was waiting for food. Changed table to be nearer the buffet table where you still get a good view of the sea. Staff were prompt enough to change our table for us and to chase the crows away. Luckily hubby was alert anough to note that his food was missing before he started eating.

Will definitely come back and stay there for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived from our flight at 7:05pm at the hotel. We learnt that at 7pm the pool close! :( Can not be that a pool close at 7pm when there is nothing more to do around. We book this hotel for the pool and we are pass by, just for one night! And it is not a cheap hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My adult son and I arrived at the hotel very late at night. The staff checked us in quickly and showed us to our large comfortable room. The beds were comfortable and clean. In the morning, for breakfast we were quickly seated at a table near to the beach, given coffee and treated to an excellent buffet. Eggs, waffles and pancakes are made to order and items which should be kept cold are served in an air-conditioned room with automatic sliding doors to prevent flies from entering. There is easy access to the beautiful, sandy beach from many locations in the hotel and multiple locations where you can sit in the sun or shade depending upon your preferences. The sunsets at this location are spectacular.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are great. We experienced a small amount of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Jetwing Blue and for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to note that you were extremely pleased with the product and its facilities, the personalized service from our associates. We have proudly shared your compliments with the entire team.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we remain at your service.

Ayubowan,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we arrive this beautiful hotel late at evening it was a worm well come by hotel staff feel like been there before.nice room very big over looking the Indian Ocean but beach is not that clean lots of beach boys around there you don't feel very safe but we love sit out side and looking at the sun set amazing.food was good very reasonable.if we come to negombo sure we will go there

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comment in reference to the cleanliness of the beach is well received and we along with the local authorities constantly clean up the beach for the use of our guest and public. Rest assured that your comment with regard to Beach boys will be reviewed with the aim to improve in the future.

It was a great privilege to serve you and most of all to know that we have been successful in giving you a memorable stay.

Thank you once again and hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to Jetwing Blue in the future.

Ayubowan

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled with my Wife, this was our First Transit after we landed in Sri Lanka. We were welcomed in our Local Indian Language (Namaste..!) and were offered a variety of Welcome Drinks. We took a round around the Hotel before going to our room and the Location of this Hotel is Breath Taking. The rooms are simply awesome, Not only the rooms, even the Bathroom was Huge and had an awesome bath Tub. Breakfast Buffet is nice with an amazing international spread. They had atleast 8 Variety of Juices and 6 milk shakes.

Overall, we had a great experience and would like to visit this hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: Quiet Big Rooms, Awesome View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests. It would be great having you back with us for a another stay to give you another memorable experience.

Ayubowan !

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Blue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.