We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Blue

Save Saved
You added Jetwing Blue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jetwing Blue
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Negombo
AJVickery
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've just come back from an amazing 10 night stay at the Jetwing Blue hotel. A minor error by a third party booking agent threatened to ruin our holiday before it had even begun but Menuka Fernando completely saved the day by sorting out our room and arranging an amazing deal for us. She also set up a driver for us with a baby seat and really took care of us from the moment we arrived. I can't thank her enough!


Hotel = Big clean and open with great views of the sea.
Room = We stayed in a Deluxe double and it was more than big enough for us and our baby. Big bathroom and everything else we needed.
Dining = The main restaurant and the pool bar/bbq were both excellent. The cuttlefish curry we had at the hotel is still the best curry we had in Sri Lanka
Bar = Well priced and stocked.
Service = Fantastic from everyone, my only regret is that I didn't get the names of everyone that helped us. Excellent group of people who didn't seem to be grubbing for tips all the time.
Pool = Huge and perfect for children and adults.
Beach = The beack here is huge and relatively clean for a public beach. It was deserted most of the time and the hotel has 4 rows of palm trees that stretch the length of the property meaning that there was lots of shade for our son to run up and down chasing squirrels and birds.
Surrounding area = The hotel is perfectly located, just 30 mins from the airport and far enough from Negombo to feel quiet. There were more than enough restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel to keep you busy for a long time.

Definitely coming back to Sri Lanka and definitely coming back to Jetwing!

Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    227
    73
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
215
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I came here for conference. Everything was perfect.
Breakfast has a lot of food. You can try the local food and fruits here.
However, you should consider the nearby hotel named Jetwing sea. I think this one will be more fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed there for 1 night. If you want to relax, then don't go there. It's a busy hotel. Room is ok. Large bathroom with a bathtub. We ordered Chapathi for dinner and it was described in the menu as serving with raita, sambol and dhal curry. Unfortunately they had given us chapathi only with dhal curry. We inquired about it but we were not provide with raita and sambol. Worst part is we can't order anything after 10pm. So we did not enjoy our dinner. Since it's a busy hotel, room service is poor.

The main restaurant is not separated and it is so close to the lobby. So it is too busy.We could not enjoy our breakfast either. There were so many varieties but the location and the arrangements of the restaurant reduces the attraction.

Since it is a five star hotel we expected much. Does not worth for money. You can't relax. Nice beach.Don't stay more than one day. I'm glad that we did not

Room Tip: ask for a room in a quite place.especially avoid restaurant area and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A very good hotel at a great beachfront location. During our stay in July, the sea was very rough and it was not alowed to swim there. Luckily they have several nice pools, so enough possibilities to swim. The staff is very helful and the sunbeds at the beach are great. The breakfast buffet is big, but the quality could be a bit better. Anyway, enough to choose from.
For dinner we usually went outside, because there are many nice restaurants in the neighbourhood.
We had a very big family room, which was nice for four persons. The cleaners were great and from the many hotels I have seen on this island this hotel has a good gym.
The only (extremely) annoying thing was that there were a lot of souvenir salesmen on the beach. Every 5 minutes walking past your sunbed asking if you want to buy something and some of them were really unpleasant. The hotel should do something about that.
All together I think it is one of the better hotels in Negombo and very good to spend a few days at the beginning or at the end of your Sri Lanka holiday.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Organising a wedding from overseas presents many challenges. After much thinking and searching for a suitable venue, we decided to have our daughter’s wedding at JWBlue with many uncertainties clouding our decision. However, at the end, we were delighted that we did so as promises made were kept whilst bringing a ‘can do’ attitude to all our requests whether it was to do with food and beverage, banquet decos, IT facilities, accommodation, or for that matter anything - thanks to Ravi, the Resident Manager of JWBlue - for his remarkable leadership to make things happen and open our eyes to possibilities; we even got the wedding cake structure made by the hotel chef who surpassed our expectations as the photos would show. We would not do justice if we did not mention about the room staff who were always very pleasant and polite, always helpful. We wanted a good rest after the wedding and the hotel catered for all our needs and comforts. We hope to make another visit to the hotel this year and enjoy the hospitality, good food, and the gorgeous beach.

Room Tip: Select rooms on the top most floor for gorgeous views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice staff, location is great (with many nearby gift-shops and nightclubs + the beach!) - The room is fancy, to say the least!
We stayed one night prior to our departure flight, but would love to stay there again on our next visit - just a little longer!

Room Tip: One night might not give you the full experience of what the hotel and area has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this hotel for one day and then stayed a different day for a night. The staff are lovely and they greet you with an 'ayubowan' when you arrive. Noticed weddings going on both times I visited which was great for people watching and looking at the beautiful outfits! The hotel is calm too and you do feel that you get peace and space - not too crowded. I loved the shaded chairs in the pool, perfect for reading a book without getting it wet. There are quite a lot of beach hawkers but they are polite and not too overbearing - husband had a 2 hr conversation with a guy selling jewellery who was lovely! The cocktails were lovely too, I had the best mojito ever in this hotel and husband had a nice Jack Daniels sour. Hotel room was LOVELY - and the air conditioning was so powerful - I had the best sleep of my entire Sri Lanka trip because the room was just so cold and the bed was so nice. Also, we went on a Saturday night and found an amazing band playing in the hotel lobby at about 9pm, they played a mix of British songs (Oasis, The Beatles etc) and Sri Lankan songs. They were amazing entertainment to watch with a Lion beer and the view of the sea in the background. The only minus I would say about this hotel is that the beach isn't as great as other beaches in Sri Lanka - but this isnt the hotels fault.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Blue 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.