We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food & great beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Blue to your Saves list
Jetwing Blue
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Negombo
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice food & great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Check in painless process and quick. Hotel located right on the beach which is huge, sandy & looks pretty clean. A few beach sellers but they're polite enough not to persist once you clearly tell them you are not interested. Adequate swimming pool but busy with kids due to the holiday season when we were there. Plenty of hardwood chairs & sunbeds available. Our room was fairly basically furnished but clean apart from a few areas of woodwork needing a touch up of paint. Bathroom has both shower & bath.
Room has Iron, ironing board, hair dryer, mini bar, large safe, tv & telephone.
We both had Sri Lankan curries from the A La Carte menu which were excellent and delightfully spiced. One beef & one lamb with no fat or bones. The meat was very tender and we had a superb selection of breads, sambals and side dishes served with it. Table service was very attentive and of a good standard.
Breakfast starts at 7:00 and featured a vast choice of dishes. We opted for the egg hoppers cooked freshly for us at the buffet. Overall the prices for food and drinks seemed very reasonable for a 4 star hotel.
One small criticism, the external lighting between the rooms (Rm 128) and the restaurant area could be improved, so take a torch.
Staff are friendly, very quick to react to requests and the check out process was both quick and efficient. I would certainly be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Myself and my team were pleased to note that you were satisfied with the product and the service of our dedicated team.

We have shared your appreciation with the team and specially the Executive Chef and his brigade. They were equally happy to learn that you had an amazing holiday with us.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    305
    97
    42
    26
See reviews for
170
312
47
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were longing for an excellent holiday and we were not disappointed. This hotel is located in best possible location... Facing a well maintained beach, with wonderful food, and smiles all around, it was truly an amazing experience. The suite was huge, cleaned twice a day and with a balcony as if you are on living on a beach... We enjoyed every minute of our holiday and hope to visit again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.
Your kind words of praise are greatly appreciated and it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests. I will not miss to share your feedback with the entire team and it will go a long way in motivating them in their duties.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A very nice hotel, with expansive rooms and being on the beach a great view, The food was excellent with a very wide variety catering for all tastes. The rooms are big and staff is very attentive and helpful. Stayed there five days and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: get a room on 2nd floor facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was a real pleasure reading your wonderful comments and I took the liberty to share them with the entire team. We were pleased to learn we could meet your expectations to the utmost and create memorable moments from your stay with us.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Checked in at 2am after a flight from Melbourne. The staff were very helpful and we found ourselves in a spacious room which looked out on the pool. Great environment and wonderful staff who were always willing to help, chatty and friendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We take our commitment to guest satisfaction very seriously and we were glad to learn that you were overall pleased with the room we had allocated for you, the pool facility, the overall look and feel of the property and most importantly the service from the team.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Large complex, good service but less personal than smaller hotels. Beautiful setting with long beach, pool and convenient from airport. Local shops for souvenirs were useful. We were warned against using the tuk tuk drivers outside who were persistant but we were told uneliable.
Clean and comfortable rooms, nice food, buffet style. Wouldn't want to stay there longer as it felt a little anonymous.
Hotel clearly uses recycling.
It was Christmas and we were entertained by a local choir who were all blind.
Both above are typical of the community and environmental ethos of the Jetwing Group, I believe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for just an overnight, a stopover from Colombo to Malaysia checked in at 12.00 a.m. was traveling alone to Malaysia for an official trip. And let me tell you this is jewel, check-in starts with an welcome drink, the hotel staff takes you to the room. In the reception i was told i would have been upgraded to a suite but none of the rooms are available and i had a late check-in. What a lovely and professional gesture. Ok, finally i entered to the room what i saw is a huge room, LCD tv, a super comfy king bed, mini bar (chargeable), free wi-fi, luxurious bathroom with all the amenities all for myself. Nice view once you open the window. Overall it is a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: No need to ask because all the rooms seemed superb to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay in September 2013 at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that our team took great care of you during your short stay with us and made your holiday a truly memorable one.
All your kind words are greatly appreciated and have been shared with the team especially the front office associates who gave you utmost satisfaction with their service.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived very early morning and we didn't expect our rooms to be ready, so we went and had breakfast. By 11 am staff offered us one room to check in and start our Birthday Celebrations weekend. This is all we needed to have a drink and start the weekend. Second room was provided to us by about 1pm which was great!

Food is really good here, if you book on BB you could order your meals through the variety of menus which are available. Really good dishes! We didn't have the buffet (dinner/lunch) as we were too busy having our beers and swimming. Snacks menu by the pool bar is great! Pool bar staff is really good as oppose to restaurant staff.

Restaurant staff needs training, it took us a while to get tea/coffee during breakfast service.

All in all great hotel, great food and service! Will be heading there soon!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are the best! very spacious and great bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were really impressed to note that you enjoyed the overall experiences and were pleased with the service rendered to you by our front office team.

All your kind words are greatly appreciated and have been shared with the Executive Chef and his brigade as well as the rest of the team. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards and personalized service which we are known for at Jetwing Hotels.
However we have taken note of your comment of the slow service of the waiting staff. Thank you for brining this to our attention, as guest feedback such as yours is very important so we can rectify our shortcomings accordingly.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Blue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.