We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A four and a half star review ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Blue to your Saves list
Jetwing Blue
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Negombo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A four and a half star review ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We've had a great stay at the Jetwing Blue in Negombo. All of the crew was very friendly and helpful. The quality of the room was high - especially the bed was a joy to sleep in after staying in guesthouses for the large part of our holiday. The food was delicious, with the sumptuous breakfast buffet being the high point.

To make the stay of future guests a truly five star experience, I'd like to offer a few tips if I may.
- Communication can be better, both internal and with the guests. We were staying in the annex where the wifi isn't working yet. We only found that out after three phone calls and a walk to the reception desk. It would have saved us a bit of annoyance if this was communicated to us the first time we inquired about it.
- The hot water wasn't working yet when we moved into the room. It got turned on immediately after we made a call about it, but it would have been better if it had been working when we moved in. Make sure the rooms are truly ready when the guests move in.
- This may sound a bit blasé and very first world problem-ish, but please do something about the salespeople near the swimming pool. Every five minutes someone wants to sell me a rug, watch, elephant statue, day trip, etc. I appreciate that these people want to hawk their wares to earn a living, but right now it is a continuous onslaught. Maybe it is an idea to restrict their access to the hotel premises during certain hours, so only between 12 and 2 in the afternoon for example.

I hope this constructive criticism helps you a bit with making the Jetwing Blue even better than it already is.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue in Negombo Sri Lanka.

Whilst we were glad to read that you were pleased with the overall experience at the hotel, we certainly are very concerned and thankful for the valuable feedback and opinion to improve the services of our newly operated annex rooms. Please rest assured that your points are well noted and will be followed up with the teams concerned.

With regard to the beach vendors we confirm that we frequently meet up with them to address this particular issue as we do appreciate the nuisance it can cause.

Thank you once again for letting us know some of our shortcomings and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, trusting that we will deliver the service you should expect on your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance at your next visit.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    304
    97
    42
    26
See reviews for
170
311
47
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for six days after touring the golden triangle in India. Lovely room (201) facing the pool, very helpful and courteous service, great pool and excellent location. About ten to fifteen minutes from the airport so after landing your soon lapping up the ambiance. We ate on two nights at the hotel restaurant and found the food and the service excellent. The breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel fronts onto a road that boasts plenty of shops, bars and restaurants but its not too commercialised. The nearby town of Negombo is well worth a visit, especially the fish market. We had only one observation and that is that, in our room certainly, the bathroom could do with a make over. The shower seal on the bottom of the shower cubicle leaked during our stay and we were constantly 'mopping up'. We couldn't also really understand the glass window that allowed you too look into the bathroom when for the six days we left the blind down. Please just 'brick it up'.

Apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to future travellers.

Room Tip: Might be worth upgrading to a superior room although we never viewed one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was wonderful that you liked the room you stayed in, the location, the pool area, the amazing views, the food experience in the restaurant and the courteous service of our team. We do find that most of our guests enjoy our location as we are in close proximity to the International Airport and easy excess to the most famous sighting in Sri Lanka.

Thank you for pointing out some of our shortcomings and I will not miss to address them with the department concerned.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next holiday to Sri Lanka and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here on our final night of a 2 week holiday to Sri Lanka and my only negative point is that we only spent one night in Jetwing Blue.

We were supposed to stay in Jetwing Beach but something happened just before we arrived so we were put up in Jetwing Blue instead (the hotels are next door and joined to each other). Even though we were a late arrival, they had a room ready for us in 15 minutes.

Our room was massive, the bed was so comfy and our room looked out onto the beach. We had a bath which was huge for 2 people and a nice rain shower. The rooms are open plan and really modern.

The buffet food food was some of the nicest I've ever eaten and the 'food stations' were a particular highlight.

The staff all seemed nice although due its size, it lacked the personal feel which some of our other hotels offered.

I would 100% stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was a real pleasure to take care of you and create a wonderful and a memorable holiday to you all. We were pleased to note that you enjoyed your spacious room, the views to the Indian Ocean and the food experiences we have in offer.

Rest assured that we provide continuous training to all our associates and we always place our guest’s satisfaction at the top of our priorities.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to having you back with us for another memorable holiday. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I could hardly have found a better place for my first night in Sri Lanka. Comfortable, well-located, and luxurious, Jetwing Blue provided the ideal landing spot for someone who had traveled for more than twenty-four hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue, Negombo, Sri Lanka.

We were pleased to note that you were contented with the overall product and services available at the hotel, something we will not miss to share with the teams.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next holiday to Sri Lanka and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed here on october 2013. Very good hospitality and great food. I stayed in the third floor room. Room faced directly to pool and indian ocean. Sadly view of the ocean is blocked by coconut trees. Otherwise it is a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay in October 2013 at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the sea view from your room. We noted your comment in regards to the line of coconut tree and this serves as a good reminder for is to trim some of the branches as appropriate.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back with us for another memorable holiday. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

After lot of travel over the last 7-8 years, I just could not find a negative point about the Jetwing Blue Resort..... Fantastic service, clean and spacious rooms, well spread breakfast, lunch, dinner and a beautiful swimming pool. The view from the rooms is amazing. My business trip was short for 3 days, but truly it was Hospitality at its best.......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay in July 2013 at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were more than happy to note that you appreciated every aspect of the hotel including the views of the Indian ocean, the swimming pool, the food and especially the personalized service rendered to you by our enthusiastic team.

We have shared your compliments with the entire team as such feedback helps in motivating all of us in doing what we enjoy doing, taking care of our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back with us for another memorable holiday. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at the Blue and Beach during a months business attachment in Negombo. The Blue is a lovely spacious hotel with well sized rooms and some terrific views of the beach and ocean. First room was a Deluxe on the ground floor overlooking the garden, great size, well serviced and a patio leading to the grass and then beach. Next room was a Super Deluxe on the second floor which had unit erupted views over the Ocean and was even larger although on the same design. Everything worked in the rooms, A/C took the temperature down to 18c and the cleaning was spot on every day. Staff in the hotel are friendly, cheerful and personal which is a change from the plastic smiles we sometimes get in Europe. Especial praise goes to Mekuna our account manager who made our trip special by dealing with any issue that occurred in an efficient and pleasant manner, outstanding service. All staff at the hotel were attentive and caring from the porters at the front door through to laundry staff I could not have asked for better. Meals were varied and of a good quality especially the multi choice breakfast. The beach cafe at Centre Point is also worth a trip for lunch or dinner where it serves the most wonderful prawn dishes. When I return I shall to be accommodated at the Jetwing Blue.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe are a bit more expensive but they are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Jetwing Blue Negombo Sri Lanka.

We were very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you basically enjoyed all the services and products we have on offer at the hotel.

We have shared your marvelous compliments with the entire team, especially Menuka feedback such as yours serves as an encouragement to all of us and a reward for a ‘job well-done’ for some.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Sri Lanka and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,

Hyacinth Gunawardena
Director / General Manager
Jetwing Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Blue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.