We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Blue to your Saves list
Jetwing Blue
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Negombo
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“A perfect day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We just stayed one day on the end of a roundtrip through Sri Lanka. But save the best for last. A really nice hotel good food, nice rooms perfect location and most important really sharp and nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Jetwing Blue and the comments posted on trip advisor. Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Sri Lanka for a longer stay at Jetwing Blue.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    303
    97
    42
    26
See reviews for
169
310
46
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ME
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Service was very poor, hotel is definitely 4- star and somewhat disappointing when compared to the photos on the internet. When we checked the room the finish, although there were new items in the room, the finish ceiling/walls appeared to have not been upgraded (the reason was explained that the artist was looking for a beach feel', it did not work in such small rooms. We upgraded to a suite because of our disapointment. The suite was nice, very spacious, great view, double jacuzzi outside.
*The room lacked information as follows:-
*No telephone list in the room
*No TV list/where the English channels/kids channels etc are
*No breakfast menu to order room service - had to call three times to wait for someone to come up and take our breakfast order.
*No information about the kids club in the room, we just stumbled on it.
*No info on doctors, emergencys etc etc.
These communication downfalls were all very quick wins that could be achieved overnight for this hotel. There was a severe lack of processes in the hotel, lack of direction, strong management skills required to direct the team.
No pens in the room for stationery.
Around the pool, appears to need some work, looks like hard concrete that has not be cemented.
Closing the bill, the night before we left took nearly one hour, staff not organized. We wrote down our breakfast order to be delivered to the room and handed it to reception. The lady on reception said "why don't you just come down for breakfast, it will be easier" (quite appalling customer service, it was easier for us with a 3 year old to have a little breakfast on the move).
The restaurant was appalling, do not go for the full board option. Troughs and troughs of over cooked/unappetizing food in my view. Did not seem to be chilled enough or covered enough, lots of flies around, landing on people's omelettes as they waited for them to be collected (no process to deliver to your table, as no table numbers).

I only ordered al la carte, king prawns were good, if ordered and cooked freshly.
It appears Jetwing The Beach right next door, has its act together a bit more than Jetwing Blue. They had a very nice fine dining restaurant which we enjoyed and felt relieved to get away from the troughs.

Staff were nice and friendly, Manager Ravi was amiable but he could of been doing more to rectify the above (unless it is someone else's responsibility). He did however arrange a swift move to the Suite the same day of arrival.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving behind some comments about your stay at Jetwing Blue. I am sorry to hear about the disappointments you faced and also to know that we have fallen short of your expectations. As we are keen to make improvements and enhance the overall experience, I have shared your feedback with the team and will be discussed in length during the scheduled training programs.

We hope to be able to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve your better.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

It was a wonderful experience with the view of the Indian Ocean from your room. The hotel design is amazing and fit with the surrounding environment. what was funny that i have a Sri Lankan friend and i was recommend her to stay there at Jetwin Blue. I show her my own shoots for the hotel and room. She love it..

Room Tip: Don't get the ground.. View is more nice from first and second floors ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Jetwing Blue and for the comments posted on TripAdvisor.

Please do visit us during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khi
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were upgraded to the super deluxe room, which was an extemely spacious room with a large king bed, fantastic bathroom and balcony. We had an extra bed in the room for our child but still had plenty of space. Only problem was the curtains in the room were of a light fabric and hence at sun rise the room would be full of light, thus waking us up at 6am! The GM assured us that this problem would be looked into right away. The staff is very helpful and attentive and we were looked after very well.

The facility was lovely for kids as they have a large kids swimming pool, special kids menu and an excellent day care facility for kids which charges Rupees 500 per kid per hour, so very reasonable. And the kids loved it. The buffet meals were excellent so staying here half board makes sense.

The beach was very rough so was not able to swim in the ocean but the swimming pool made up for it. The beach area is very large but gets busy on weekends. The nightlife in negambo is limited with a few medicore restaurants and bars close to the hotel. Worthwhile to check out but nothing fancy.

The Spa facility was basic and clean and the services were excellent. Very good massages. Highly recommended.

Overall a great experience for a family getaway. The facility is only 20 minutes from the airport which is a big plus in srilanka as all other resort towns (waduwa, bentota etc) are over 2.5 hours away from the airport by car and the roads are smaller than a single lane highway with a lot of traffic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about Jetwing Blue. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay and will return to visit us in the future. Thank you for choosing Jetwing Blue and giving us the opportunity to be your host during your visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel has two pools, one very small one and one medium sized pool, both are quite standard in shape and weren't very inviting, just regular pools. It was full of families and kids shouting and running around all over the place, the hotel is situated in Negombo which is a very residential area and it is also very close to Colombo so families tend to visit for the weekends with their kids. Other than the pools there is absolutely nothing to do in the hotel, most hotels have a few games to indulge in, like a pool table, table tennis table, mini golf etc, but this hotel has absolutely nothing!

I went with 5 friends and stayed one night on the 27th of August on Half Board basis (Breakfast and Dinner included), we paid Rs.14750 for each double room (USD $135 approx.), Check in is at 2pm and check out is at 12 according to the hotel, so we arrived at the hotel at 1:30 and filled the forms, we had reserved 3 rooms and asked for the rooms to be next to each other, the reservation was made 3 weeks in advance and the requested amount was paid for as well . . . . . When we arrived there the rooms were NOT ready! . . . we waited until 2:45 and they said one room was ready for now so we thought we'll hangout there until the other two rooms got ready but when we went up to the room that room wasn't ready either, not cleaned after the previous guests, so we stood outside for another 30 minutes and by now we're all very pissed off (mid day heat wasn't helping the mood either!) . . . Eventually we got one room and half an hour later we got another and the third room we got at 4pm (2 hours late!) . . . . . Even then they didn't give us three rooms together as we requested three weeks in advance! . . . but the third room they gave us was an upgraded room so it was bigger and a fairly better room but it was quite a walk away from the other two rooms (we figured there's no point in arguing since that would just waste more time).

The rooms were good, new furniture and clean, the toilets were clean and well maintained, the hotel itself was recently refurbished. The next problem we had was that there was a beach carnival happening on the hotels designated beach area that day which they did not inform us about!, the hotel was one of the sponsors of the event (it was the Carlsberg Cbeach event), now this could be good or bad depending on your purpose of visit because there was thumping music the whole day until 11 in the night, we could feel the bass vibrating the furniture even when we were seated inside the rooms. Now party lovers wouldn't mind but people who came there to relax in the beach and have a peaceful holiday would absolutely hate it, there was an announcer announcing all day long and we could hear his annoying voice inside the rooms as well! . . . . If they had just informed us in advance we would have either gone somewhere else or arrived expecting it because it wasn't a pleasant surprise at all!

Dinner was not great but not bad either, the spread was fairly small compared to a lot of other hotels in Sri Lanka. Breakfast was a real mess, they were not equipped to handle full occupancy, Half the dishes were empty at the breakfast buffet and took forever to replenish, just to get a simple omelette we had to stand 20 minutes,and the spread again was very limited when compared to many of the other hotels in Sri Lanka. When you wake up in the morning and come for breakfast you expect to have a peaceful breakfast, not to be waiting in line and asking people to replenish each and every dish! Disappointing breakfast experience.

On the plus side, since we checked in late with lots of hassle we checked out late around 5 pm and nobody asked us to check out earlier. The upgraded super deluxe room was very spacious with a massive tub to comfortably accommodate two.

A very disappointing overall experience, Jetwing is a big Leisure company in Sri Lanka and i certainly did not expect these poor standards from them.

Room Tip: Recently refurbished, rooms were clean and had all the basic amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. Do except my apologies for any and all inconveniences faced during your stay. I have informed the relevant divisions with respect to the problems you have faced while checking in. Under no circumstance is such a delay acceptable. These matters have been discussed at length at the scheduled training and development meetings to make sure such incidents do not repeat itself.

I also understand that you were disturbed by the event that was taking place at the hotel. This was a special event and do rest assured that these events is not included to the daily dose of entertainment offered by the hotel.

I do hope these events will not make you second guess any future plans to visit Jetwing Blue. Hope to welcome you once again with open arms and warm smiles.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Currently staying at Jetwing Blue which is a nice 4 star option for those who dont care too much about swimming in the sea rather than one of the 2 ok pools. Risk of these being crowded though. Staff extremely helpful, may need some more training, restaurant good value for money.
BIG problem is that hotel management has decided to go for Pattaya/Mallorca/Cancun style beach parties - as of today. Hotel has turned noisy, dirty, staff unattentive, within a few hours.

Wont make it to 5 stars if they continue opting for beer and plastic bag events. Still recommend this place if you manage to book below far too high rack rates

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued comments and feedback. Your constructive comments are taken into account and will be looked at and rectified. The event in question was a rare occasion we host public events close to the hotel. Do rest assured that this is not habitual and does not happen frequently.

Do hope to see you at Jetwing Blue in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

love the pool and the rooms, lunch buffet was fabulous too, great staff and sweet friendly service, had really good time. all went well

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Blue, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which were well received. Please accept my apologies for any and all inconveniences you may have faced during your stay at Jetwing Blue. Your comments have been passed on to the team and the topics have been brought up during our regular training and development meetings.

Thank you once again for choosing Jetwing Blue and we do hope to be your host during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Blue

Address: Ethukale, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Negombo
#3 Family Hotel in Negombo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Blue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lose yourself amidst golden beaches, azure ocean waters and fiery sunsets at Jetwing Blue, nestled along the shores of the coastal resort town of Negombo. Indulge in luxurious spa treatments, enjoy a magical wedding on the beach or spend a lazy holiday by the sea as Jetwing Blue offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jetwing Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Blue Hotel Negombo
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Negombo
Blue Oceanic
Jetwing Blue Oceanic Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.