We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Pity About the Pricing System” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Deli

Hamilton Deli
2 Asarappa Road, Negombo, Sri Lanka
0094 315675544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 83 Restaurants in Negombo
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Halal
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Pity About the Pricing System”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were at this restaurant in August 2011. Food was great, but:

1) They have two menus - one for locals and one for tourists with higher prices. The first time we were there, they gave us the "local" menu - the second time, prices were exactly double. Other tourists were complaining about this when we were there as well. See my photo from their online menu, with the lower pricing, for reference!

2) They told us the buffet was closed, even though the buffer was sitting there with food in it, and told us we had to order off the set menu.

The food is good, but it's disappointing that they chose to have a two-tier pricing system. Hopefully they've stopped doing that.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent food, but EXTREMELY high prices for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We recently ordered some take-away from Hamilton Deli on the recommendation of a friend here in Negombo. While the food was reasonably good (we've had better naan and better paneer, and as is usually the case with chicken dishes in this part of the world, there are more bones than meat), we were shocked at the bill. The six small dishes that, according to the restaurant's website, should have totaled about 1500 rupees, cost over twice that amount.

The owner, in response to my email regarding the price differences, apologised and informed us that our bill was correct and that the website prices were out of date (am I wrong, or has this establishment only been open for six months?). Price corrections I can understand, but doubled prices in six months' time coupled with not bothering to update an online menu is a bit off-putting.

The real issue, however, is that the prices seem completely out of line with the market: a small container of dry paneer bits cost 700 rupees, for instance, and that's all it was -- a small order of dry paneer with a few raw onion slices and a lime wedge. An order of butter chicken (with no rice) is 800 rupees. These prices are hard to swallow when there are places in town where one can order a filet mignon with plenty of trimmings for a few hundred rupees more.

Yes, the restaurant is clean, the owner is friendly, and the food tastes pretty good. But until the prices befit Negombo rather than Mayfair, I don't see us returning. And we go out to eat fairly frequenty in Negombo...because we live here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“indian food in sri lanka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

hamilton deli is a nice restaurant near an old channel in negombo.
its best known for its good indian food-but it serves sri lankan and chinese as well.
best of all i found the indian curries there
TOP SPOT for friends of indian food !!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

serves good indian food. Good ambience and helpful staff. true value for money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“very good indian food in lanka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

was with friends at my birthday there
while sri lankan food is good
indian food for a change is very good also

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Deli also viewed

 
Negombo, Western Province
Negombo, Western Province
 

Been to Hamilton Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.