We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great guesthouse and great owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New York Beach Club to your Saves list
New York Beach Club
28 Porothota Road | aka Beach Side Road, Negombo 01100, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 99 Negombo B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great guesthouse and great owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Started our Sri Lanka trip here.

Arrived at 6 am, Victor and his wife made us very welcome. They gave us a spare room till ours was ready so we could get some sleep after flying over night.

Breakfast was great, fresh with the best coffee! Good location across the road to the beach.

Rooms very clean with nice balcony.

Victor, his wife and friends helped us organise our trip and sort a tuk-tuk to Kandy!!! He also recommend a great resturant Tusker down the road!

A good place to start Sri Lanka. And its close to the airport!

Room Tip: get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here on our first day in Sri Lanka as it was close to the airport & they had arranged for a pick up from the airport which in hindsight was a lot steeper than if we had just figured out a cab for ourselves (We paid Rs 1800 while on checking in Negombo we found cabs for about Rs 1200-1300). You could also just pick up a cab from the arrival lounge of the airport. The guest house it self was pretty basic but very clean & the room was pretty large with a wardrobe, AC, a comfortable bed, clean bathroom (really important!) & even a candle. The guesthouse is just across the road from a busy beach and has quite a few restaurants & bars within walking distance. The owners are friendly & helped us out with a tuk-tuk when we were leaving. It’s a good place & great value for money (hotels & guesthouses in Negombo can be surprisingly expensive) especially if you are just looking for pit stop on your way into or out of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S, Manager at New York Beach Club, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. The taxi service that we use for your airport pick up is not affiliated with the Airport Authority. Therefore the price for the service will always be higher. The taxi service is Rs.1,300 (for driving distance), the Airport Authority charges the driver Rs.300 to enter inside the waiting area and another Rs.200 for the your name display board. This is the reason the Taxi will charge Rs.1,800. Hope this information was helpful. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed there for just 1 night before our flight home in the non-AC room (for 2500 rupees). The room was basic but very clean,the owners very friendly (even by Sri Lankan standard)) and helpful. Didn't have a chance to try the food as we came late and left early in the morning (on a tuk-tuk organized by the owners).
There were two things which I didn't like: the matress was too soft for me (but many will find this as an advantage) and the next-door bar played loud music until late (so I had to use my ear plugs), but again for some people it could be a plus again))
Overall, I liked it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed for one night in the most basic non AC room possible (with one single bed). The room was very basic and the mosquito net was a bit smelly but otherwise it was fine. It was good value for Negombo.

The owners are very friendly and will try to help with any queries.

I think wifi was turned off after 11pm?

I would suggest that they have better signage as it took my tuk tuk driver ages to find it (although it is located on a main road).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent a night here before our flight out of colombo. The owners/staff were so friendly and welcoming, provided us with cool water on arrival and complimentary coffee in the morning, let us check out late and organised a tuk tuk to the airport! Nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and although we had a cheaper more basic room it was a very comfortable nights stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I highly recommend this place to stay.the rooms were spotlessly clean .Very friendly staff who do their best to make you feel at home.you can enjoy lovely sea food and other yummmie stuff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Having checked out a number of guesthouses in the area, my friend and I opted to stay here. The rooms were spacious and immaculate but by far the most impressive thing about this place was the quality of the staff. The owner and his wife were charming and extremely helpful and we were even able to use the kitchen facilities to cook some fish we had bought from the local market!
Despite being fairly new, this place is already giving the more established (and guidebook backed) guesthouses a run for their money!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Beach Club

Address: 28 Porothota Road | aka Beach Side Road, Negombo 01100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NYBC is a small family owned guest house and restaurant conveniently located in Negombo within close distance to the Katunayake International Airport. Our guest house offer both a/c and non a/c room which are equipped with it's own bathroom. We are delightful to offer you our warm and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your New York Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.