We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as just a stopping off point” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rani Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rani Beach Resort to your Saves list
Rani Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Negombo
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good as just a stopping off point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is showing signs of wear and tear. The Restaurant is also very close to the rooms so the noise from the dinner functions intrude into the rooms. There is a Mosquito problem so come prepared. This hotel is fine if you are just stopping off on your way to a better place. Would not recommend spending more than a day here. Only plus point is that it is close to the airport.

Room Tip: As far from the restaurant as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
27
40
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

not clean and the food was also quite bad. the reception area was very smelly and i would not want to go again. very basic and too pricy considering the service and quality of the premises. got the feeling that much better places were available in the vicinity for about the same price.

Room Tip: no tips except avoid if can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent one night in Negombo, purely as a means of getting to the airport for our early flight. We booked ahead on agoda, paying around £46 for B&B. We arrived from Galle at about 11.30am. Check in was quick and easy but the hotel and in fact the whole street was deserted, giving a very weird feeling to the place.

The public areas of the hotel were very well designed, and there is a decent sized pool with great views over the beach and sea. The rooms were all massive and nicely decorated. However, it seemed they had tried to save money by choosing the cheapst furnishings possible. The fan was slow and squeaky, the tv was dodgy, the a/c was crap and the bed was possibly the worst I have ever slept on in a hotel, not remotely large enough for 2 people and felt like a giant springboard. The bathroom was good, but smelt damp and the floor was crawling with ants. The staff were very helpful and friendly (as nearly all in Sri Lanka are), but this was ruined by our morning taxi, which although ordered for 7am and prepaid didnt arrive until 7.20, with the driver claiming he had only just been contacted. Not a very relaxing way to end our otherwise brilliant trip in the country.

If you arent fussy about these things then it will probably be okay for you, but personally I wouldnt stay there again. It wasnt helped by the fact Negombo 'beach resort' is not a particularly pleasant place, especially compared to the Resorts further south such as Unawatuna. Its fine for the first/last night but I wouldnt choose to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was our starting point for our Sri Lanka trip. We arrived here from the airport by 4. By the outside looks of it we liked the place. The room was good n big. The verandah had a good view of the pool and the ocean. In the evening we went for a swim and then strolled by the ocean. What was an amazing experience was the closeness of the resort to the beach n sea. You could just sit in those beach chairs and take in the ocean breeze n eaves sound...wow..!! All went fine till the night came over...!! We went for dinner and since this was our 1st experience with Sri Lankan cuisine, well it went decently enough. However there was also a part going on side by side and we didnt realize the horror that was coming on the way. By the time we went to our rooms, the band(for the birthday party) had started singing..from melody it went to dance numbers..bearable in the onset..but after it crossed the 10pm mark, it started getting on the nerves. The rooms were not sound proof and inspite of us calling the reception and complaining there was no resolve. This torture went on till 1pm...!!! Bad start to our trip all thanks to Rani Beach...!!!

Pros:
1.Neat n tidy
2. Good Restaurant Service
3. Close to the beach
4. Clean n inviting pool

Cons:
1. Food (compared to our other hotels in the trip, this falls flat on its face)
2. Management...Music till 1pm..WAT ABOUT WEARY TRAVELERS NEEDING REST..!!!

Tour Operator: Kanota tours

Room Tip: Will not recommend this to anyone..its a risk...cause ultimately if you don't get your required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umm Al Quwain, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Well this is just a very average hotel just basic the reception people are friendly the room are very average found no towels for a shower and Mosquitos to make your stay more comfortable.The food was also poor over,one good thing is we can access the beach which is a open beach.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived in Colombo airport at early morning flight from India. From Airport it took about 20 min. to reach to Rani. The hotel looked to be newly constructed and attached to Negombo beach. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. We wanted a see view side room, which was not available in the morning, however it was provided to us after 12 noon, once people checked out of that room. Food is good-have very elaborate breafast arrangement, rooms are clean, very good view from the balcony (a photo attached). The location is also good, situated in prime location in Negombo; one can roam around the main street of Negombo in the evening. Though its a bit expensive, but it worhs looking at the location and the facilities available.

Room Tip: See side rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Excellent hotel, food very good, staff very friendly and very professional management. Rani was our first hotel after arrival, everything was arranged perfectly. Their driver picked us at the airport on time and they provided nice and perfectly clean room.

Actually, we have scheduled a week tour around the island and finally we took it from the hotel as they offered almost the same price but the quality was prorably not comparable. Our driver could speak good English and he adpated the tour completely to our wishes. Also he was very good tourist guide and as he knows the island perfectly, he recommended many places which we didn't find in goude books at all. We felt really safe with him.

I can only recommed, the best value for money hotel we have seen on Sri Lanka!

Best regards!
Ludmila

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rani Beach Resort

Address: Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rani Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Rani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rani Beach Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rani Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.